We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable fun”
Review of Dunan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aldeburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunan House
Ranked #5 of 17 Aldeburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable fun”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We spent a weekend in Aldeburgh last month. The weather was a shade bracing, the night sky breathtaking. And we couldn't have found a more congenial, delightful, amusing place to stay than Dunan House. Simon and Ann, whose striking pictures and beautiful pottery add much to the experience, have created an atmosphere of gentle, colourful calm. Great breakfast, courtesy of the Dunan House hens (with local back up in the event of production problems) and a very comfortable room with a view. We look forward to one day renewing our acquaintance! Martin and Julia.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    10
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
17
44
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was our first experience of a proper B &B and we were very happy. Friendly welcome from Simon and shown to our room. Afresh bottle of water and milk were supplied with more available if needed. We had two large comfortable beds at the back of the house and a large ensuite. Breakfast was at a communal table whih was great. One other couple so lots to talk about. Breakfast was cokkedf to order with the freshest of eggs. Would stay again. Easy walk into town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simba6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunan1, Owner at Dunan House, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you so much. Particularly happy that you liked the cokkedf breakfast !! Best regards to Oz.
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just come back from a couple of nights in the delightful Dunan House, and I'd, recommend it to anyone. Just a short walk from the centre of Aldeburgh, this property is clean, quiet and really comfortable, and I was delighted to see Ann's pottery and Simon's paintings throughout the house. The stained glass windows were superb, too! Thanks to this couple for the delicious freshly cooked breakfasts - a great way to start the day. Make this your first choice for B&B accommodation in Aldeborough.

Also, we had delicious dinners both at the Lighthouse, and also at the Regatta. Was rather disappointed by the fish and chips at the famous chippie, though, despite its rave reviews. We dropped in for a small lunch, the chips weren't nearly as good as those at Regatta, and the cod had rather a lot of bones :(

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunan1, Owner at Dunan House, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you Tessa. Hope you are persevering with those new boots. S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnstaple
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Silvia & I spent three nights at Dunan House, great breakfast, good bed, very quiet and pleasant surrounding with Simon and Anne as friendly hosts. The house is less that half a mile from the town so it makes for a pleasant walk.
The weather was super but we have to thank somebody else for that.
Michael Harrison

Room Tip: First floor double was fine, new shower etc very clean, with nice view of the garden. the only noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We only stayed one night here for a family wedding on 1st June. My mum and I came to check in and had a warm and friendly welcome and were shown to our room which was in the attic. It was lovely, spacious and clean and had a brilliant view. Later that night we returned with my brother and dad where we had a comfortable nights sleep. The next morning we had a freshly cooked breakfast which was absolutely delicious. The only problem was that we breifly had a problem with hot water in the bathroom but we notified Simon & Annie and they fixed it straight away. Overall it was a very pleasant visit and we are thinking of coming back for a proper break here sometime soon. I would reccommend to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunan1, Owner at Dunan House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Kind words. Many thanks Maddie. Thanks too for your understanding of the hot water blip. Annie is such a good emergency plumber !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Dunan House must be unique. At what other B&B do you eat your breakfast fruit salad out of a bowl fashioned by one of the proprietors? Or watch from the dining room window as the eggs are collected from the hen house, brought into the kitchen and the next minute arrive before you lightly fried, framed by mushrooms, tomatoes and bacon, all cooked and arranged to perfection? There is art and colour everywhere in the house to feast the eye on, and a deep green garden echoing with bird song. At night sleep with windows flung wide so you can catch the call of an owl, or the far off sound of the North Sea breaking on Aldeburgh Beach, a mere ten minute walk away. I woke one morning to the bubbling cry of a curlew. Pubs, shops, restaurants and cafes are likewise 'just down the hill' so enjoy drinks and dinner, with everyone able to tipple as its only a short walk back to bed. Our bedroom was big and airy, with every comfort provided for us, and a lovely ensuite bathroom. We cannot fault Dunan House, and Simon and Annie are relaxed, generous and welcoming hosts . And with all that peace, colour, fabulous food and easy ambience we thought it was VERY good value.

Room Tip: There are just three. We had the twin bedded room, our friends the one with the double, which they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunan1, Owner at Dunan House, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Ooh Angela. We are deeply humbled, deeply. That is just the best TA review anyone could wish for. You have top rating from us too. You, D and the Frenchbidges were entertaining, very very funny, relaxed and just well...lovely. Come back soon - please. We miss you.

Simon and Annie x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in the Dunan House last weekend to celebrate me turning Sixty. We have visted Aldeburgh many times over the years staying in different hotels, and cottages. This was our first time at the Dunan House. Both Simon and Ann are friendly hosts and take time to talk to their guests. We stayed in the top room, bags of space. fantastic bed, large bathroom. All very clean Breakfast is fantastic with new laid eggs fresh from their own chickens. The house it self is very interesting and full or original.art many painted by the owners. To summarise. Forget the high price hotels and stay at the Dunan. We will return as soon as possible. Thanks again to Simon and Ann for a great stay.

Room Tip: Atic room or family room has fantastic views across to the river Alde .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunan1, Owner at Dunan House, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you, Nick and Sue. We hardly deserve such praise. It was really nice to have you here.
Best wishes. Simon and Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.3 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
8.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunan House

Property: Dunan House
Address: 41 Park Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Aldeburgh
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunan House is in the quiet part of the beautiful seaside town of Aldeburgh; looking out over the marshes to the river and beyond. The house is slightly grand, set back from the road in the centre of a large garden with many mature trees. You hardly feel you are in the town and yet the high street, shops, pubs, restaurants, cinema and the beach are all within a 10 minute walk. Inside, the rooms are spacious and comfortable. There is interesting art and craft throughout the house. Breakfast is pretty good too and includes fresh eggs from the Dunan House hens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunan House Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing