We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly better than 2*”
Review of Claireville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Claireville Hotel
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stay in lots of hotels around the country on business and am lucky enough to generally enjoy 4*, but booked the Claireville to bring my son to university at Middlesbrough. I chose it as almost every other hotel in the region was fully booked. I was a bit worried that it only had 2* (thought we might be greeted by cockroaches!!) but was pleasantly surprised by how clean and nice our room - and in fact the whole hotel was.

The gentlemen who greeted us on reception was really helpful and friendly and as other people mentioned, recommended a fabulous restaurant to eat at in nearby Yarm.

The decor is a bit 80s - but everything is really clean and tidy. Our twin bedded room was spacious (with a double and single bed) and the bathroom was a bit 'pink' but spotless.

Breakfast was very good too for this size of hotel - a choice of fruit and cereal and a cooked breakfast and a fast, efficient and friendly service.

I have to say - I have stayed in hotels claiming to be 4* which haven't been as clean and comfortable as the Claireville. My only bad comment is the lack of staff on duty. When we checked in, we rang the bell for ages and finally had to call 'is anyone there!!' before someone appeared. Also, there was no-one serving in the bar. We sat in there for 30 minutes hoping to get a drink (at about 9.30pm) - the TV was on - it was fully lit - but no-one appeared behind the bar - so we ended up having a very early night!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turnoppics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Claireville Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

We recently stayed for two nights and were immediately struck by the warm welcome we received from the very helpful person who greeted us and checked us in. This was our first visit to the area and we were given some very good advice about where to eat, visit etc. Our room was well equipped and very clean with all the facilities we needed. Breakfast was very relaxed with plenty of choice and service was efficient and attentive despite there being many other guests arriving to eat at the same time as ourselves. We will stay here again when we visit the area and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Our room at the rear of the hotel was very quiet and overlooked a lovely garden.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterFindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed just one night, when attending a friend's wedding reception at the golf club next-door. The booking was easy, the room was clean, the breakfast was nice. the service was very good; everyone I met was very friendly and keen to make sure we were attended to efficiently and promptly. The bed was comfortable, the temperature good and the bathroom was very clean and had hot water. Overall pretty reasonable value for money, and the excellent service makes it worth choosing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MR2VFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at the Claireville for a night whilst visiting family nearby. Rooms fairly basic - but clean - apart from a flash flat screen TV. Breakfast was average... our fried eggs drenched in oil and not a huge selection. Found it interesting that the manager had all the bookings in a ledger - he told us he didn't like computers! Overall a good place to crash for the night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I stayed at the Claireville for one night which was the result of an issue at a hotel elsewhere in the area. Managed to get a room at the Claireville at late notice. The room itself was nice with flat screen tv and was clean and functional. The hotel has an interesting mix of contemporary furniture (flat screen TVs) mixed with a large dose of 1980s period pieces. If someone was looking for a location for a set for a 1980s venue then this would probably suit! This adds to it's unique character though. The staff were all very good, Hannah in particular looked after our party well. The food here was also good, we had evening dinner at the hotel and it was good. All in all the hotel does what it says on the tin helped by some good staff. If you are a fan of the 80's and something a bit more individual it's even more of a bonus!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arnage_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

It's an effective and efficient hotel. Nothing outrageously good or bad and a good place to stay for a few days.

Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
1  Thank Traveller3333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcpoperinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockton-on-Tees
0.2 mi away
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
#6 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
476 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees West Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees Wes...
#4 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
377 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees/Middlesbrough Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees/Mid...
#2 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Metro Inns Teesside
Metro Inns Teesside
#8 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
99 reviews
6.7 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,095 reviews
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claireville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claireville Hotel

Address: 519 Yarm Road | Eaglescliffe, Stockton-on-Tees TS16 9BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Stockton-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Stockton-on-Tees
Price Range: $83 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Claireville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claireville Hotel is a friendly, family-run hotel situated on a pleasant tree lined road in Eaglescliffe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Claireville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing