We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun - even for those that dont like water!”

Tees Barrage International White Water Centre
Ranked #2 of 5 Tours in Stockton-on-Tees
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tees Barrage International White Water Centre - Come along and enjoy watersports from sailing to white water rafting!
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fun - even for those that dont like water!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

So when i was told i would be coming here to do white water rafting i was horrified - i hate water and i hated the idea of crashing through it in a rubber boat! but once you get to the centre the staff and very friendly - they are happy to give you help and advice, and talk you through it all. You are kitted out with full safety gear and bouyancy aids. Would deffo go again - great fun had by all and those that fell in actually said it made their experience! Once you are out on the water its great fun and not as scary as you might think!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rach89L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    31
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allendale Town, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great whitewater centre in a great location”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

As a fond canoeist I can tell you the nitty gritty stuff! Tees barrage Is amazing especially where it is for people like me that live int he middle of nowhere and you start to progress and you need to get onto bigger water!it is an Olympic training ground and boasts two courses one long one short. The longer one being about a grade 2/3 and the short 3/4 with a 3 metre drop at the end! It can be used for anything! I do my slalom training there and there's also freestyle kayakers blasting some moves out as well and if you just fancy polishing up on some skills such as ferry gliding, breaking in/ out etc. on bigger water this is perfect it also has a converyor belt so disabled paddlers can get in on the action as well! Although check before you go because the conveyor belt is very temperamental you can do this by checking on the website! And you can also check release times! After and before there is changing rooms that are heated and really useful because there are showers and lockers! There Is a cafe that serves hot food and other niceties ! There is also north shore water sports shop which has all the latest paddling gear available to buy or demo! There is also a flat water lake at the to
For the beginners! If you fancy trying canoeing cope.and canoe club are based here and are a food step into the world of paddling! For the people who are not paddlers there are stil. Plenty to do the surroundings are amazing! Walks by the river and then stroll around the barrage And you can watch the swimmers float down the course! A great day out! Accommodation is really good a premier inn has a course view! With a beefeater next to it! And if that isn't enough there is a caravan club!! The tees barrage is perfect for anyone! A few pointers though for paddlers! The water here tends to give people bad stomachs the best way to do this is avoid swallowing lots of water and drinking coke and washing your hands at lunch I have done this and it has worked great! Happy paddling and watching!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Easy walking/cycling”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Tees Barrage has so much going for it on so many levels .The white water is course is just amazing, short or long course, high water low water ,My son-in -law has had a blast of a day there ( to cold for me ) vantage points are easy high or low you cant fail to get a view.There are cycle paths all along the river both north and south steady away flat ( I like flat ) so even if the grand kids are with you it's not hard work.So down the north shore over the bridge 21/2 miles then back up the south side past the lock past the Uni and over the new Infinity bridge back down the north side to the White water cafe about 5 miles of dead easy riding , park the bike climb up to the top floor for a great cup of coffee and fantastic views over the river to the hills .Who said having fun was hard work ?

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Enjoyable viewing”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I'm too old to ride on the "White water" but the surroundings are very pleasant and it's good to watch participants shooting round in the rafts.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kingell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“tour round”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just walking around. Is a pub to visit.. which is very clean. Brilliant scenery. Could see salmon jumping. Can use the cycle path to go and look at the scenery. Bit further down is where big shops. Plentyof places to eat.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tees Barrage International White Water Centre also viewed

Stockton-on-Tees, England
Stockton-on-Tees, England
 
Stockton-on-Tees, England
 

Been to Tees Barrage International White Water Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing