We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local hotel/restaurant/bar/spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good local hotel/restaurant/bar/spa”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

One of those places you will not realize till you try.
Comfortable, quiet, reasonable food, available in the bar or restaurant and pool/spa !
Good for family and easy parking.
One of the best in the area ...........

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sticks61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at Best Western Parkmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, and kind words.

We're glad you like the Hotel & its facilities & we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    103
    116
    55
    35
See reviews for
69
115
20
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

So, I'm a regular visitor to Yarm and have stayed at just about every hotel. And there's not a bad one in or around the town. The Parkmore is an OK hotel, very quiet on the Easter weekend we stayed but OK.

I booked through booking.com and was given the "Best Price" according to the website. However, on arrival, it was clear that the hotel was offering a much cheaper Easter rate - a rate that over our short stay would have saved £48. Not best pleased about that, or not pleased that we were charged more than the headline rate for breakfast - that is, until I dug deeply into the terms and conditions, the very last line, in face, that stated that breakfast needs to be pre-booked to get the more favourable rate. So, as a result, we ate breakfast elsewhere after the first morning.

Would I return? Well, as a Best Western card holder, I might, but there are much better deals available on hotels in the area, so I feel it's less than likely. A pity, as it's one of the closest hotels to lovely Yarm High Street.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petervenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at Best Western Parkmore Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We're sorry you were not happy with your rate, but that would have been the going rate on the websites at the time of your booking. The Easter offer was not available on the websites that deduct commission from the rates offered, and was only available to those guests booking directly with us.

I would suggest that if you are after the very best rate possible in future, you should book direct with the Hotel, and ask about any special offers we may have. Booking breakfast at the time of the reservation does give the guest a small discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Hotel staff kind and all pleasant. But hotel tired and dated and falling to bits. Breakfast were hit and miss when chef turned up to cook them and the restaurant wasn't getting flooded from the room above or burst pipe. I wouldn't choose to stay here again and certainly wouldn't take my family to stay there. Most of the pictures on the website show a different standard of room to my room but will post pics so you can make up your mind. As I say great staff but dated falling to pieces hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gjcowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at Best Western Parkmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments.

I can only assume you were in one of the few rooms we have yet to refurbish.... the pictures on the website are pictures of our new rooms.

I can only apologise for the Chef who was late for breakfast, and disrupted the breakfast service! I can assure you this is NOT our normal standard of service!

I would hope that you would try us again, staying in a new room, and see the level that we are taking the Hotel to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I booked a night in the hotel with my girlfriend. And 2 other couples. As I liked the fact it had a spa so we could have a relaxing night away.

On arrival to the hotel we were given our room, when we inspected the room it absolutely stunk of cigarette smoke.
So we complained as we don't smoke and don't expect to pay £93 for a smelly room.

As the room we got next, still was not very clean, we asked if they had any better rooms, the answer was yes they have, for £20 extra, we could upgrade.
So we did upgrade to another room which was a little better. But not worth £113.

Then we went down to the spa and pool, which was ok but afterwards, we came out in a rash and our body's were irritable, either because there was far too much chlorine in the pool. Or off the jacuzzi.

But when we came to check out, the girl at the desk said there is a £50 smoking charge on the room.
I told the girl we do not smoke and we complained about the first room smelling of smoke.

The receptionist was no help at all. All she done was ask the cleaner down.
When she came down she directly accused me in front of a lobby full of people, without any proof whatsoever of, in HER WORDS, smoking weed in the room. She said she does not know what "WEED" smelt like but somebody on the same floor told her. Could it of been them?
What a total shown up in front of people. I could not believe what I was hearing. I told her and all her staff that I wanted to go to the room this second for a full inspection. But no, she would not do that.
There was other people on the same floor as me, and how can anybody accuse somebody with no proof. I think she made a guess of where the smell was coming from.
There was a 15 strong stag due in the hotel
And why didn't she ring the police??? Because that's what she should of done.

She was rude and very unprofessional.

We spend a lot of money staying in a lot of hotels all over the UK and Europe and I have never came across anything like this.

I will not be staying at the hotel again, or any of the best western hotels.

For £113 you can stay in a good hotel with friendly staff.

Total joke.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven7889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at Best Western Parkmore Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We are very sorry that you were caught out, having been caught smoking in your room, however, taking it out on the staff who impose the strict £50 charge for ANYONE who smokes in a room is unacceptable.

The reported incident was investigated thoroughly by our Head Housekeeper - not just a "cleaner", with 2 witnesses. And the issue was with one particular room - namely the one you had been staying in. You say you didn't smoke, but your girlfriend did - and was in & out the front of the Hotel smoking during your stay - as she pointed out on check out - we could check the CCTV to see her going in & out!!!!

It is unfortunate that some people do not understand that the no smoking policy applies to everyone.... and breaching it WILL incur a charge!

With regards to your comments about the Leisure Club, the pools were used by a large number of people over the weekend, and nobody else has reported suffering in any way. Our chlorine levels are monitored and maintained at a constant level.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stockton-on-Tees hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Short stay while up here with work. Good price at short notice booking, main hotel looks great with some nice original features, rooms are In need of a refit looking a little tired, only down fall was I was close to spa and could hear full conversations out side my door early morning

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cmpugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at Best Western Parkmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us - & I promise - we are working on the refurbishment programme - updating all the rooms! We apologise for other guests who disturbed you early in the morning.

We hope we'll see you back at the Hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Hotel staff friendly when we checked in, room was average a little tired and needs upgrading,had the basics.
Went down to use leisure facility's, staff were ok I thought,wife thought they could have been a little friendlier.
Facility's were average,changing rooms in need of modernisation and some lockers. Hydro pool was very good and relaxing.
So was a little unsure about the start of our day.
Up graded to the restaurant 3 course valentines dinner. Compliments to the chef for a varied menu and outstanding food and presentation, made it a lovely evening.restaurant staff helpful and good.
Unfortunate the room was noisy all night we had a vent outside working all night,very poor sleep in room 123.
Breakfast was good.
Don't think overall it was value for money.

Room Tip: Don't choose 123
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at Best Western Parkmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all comments.

We are working on refurbishing the property, and it is a continual process. The Leisure Club had a large amount of new CYBEX equipment in September last year, and a make over, and this year we are hoping to re-do the changing rooms, and are assessing the situation at the moment.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal, as did everyone that evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

this is an average hotel.. for short business trip it's okay. room is okay but restaurant is just an average very few food are available. but swimming pool is good. location and area is good. our breakfast was not a good experience...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghoshp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at Best Western Parkmore Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. All feedback is greatly appreciated.

We are sorry that you did not find enough food to your liking in the Restaurant. We do have an extensive menu, and bar menu along with daily specials.

We are pleased you enjoyed the leisure facilities during your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockton-on-Tees
0.2 mi away
Claireville Hotel
Claireville Hotel
#6 of 8 in Stockton-on-Tees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees/Middlesbrough Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees/Mid...
#2 of 8 in Stockton-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees West Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees Wes...
#3 of 8 in Stockton-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
6.9 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
2.3 mi away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Parkmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Parkmore Hotel

Property: Best Western Parkmore Hotel
Address: 636 Yarm Road, Stockton-on-Tees TS16 ODH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Stockton-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Stockton-on-Tees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Parkmore Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally the home of a shipping magnet in the 1800's, this beautiful old house has been tastefully extended to create the current hotel. With 55 bedrooms, a large leisure club, incorporating swimming pool, gym, dance studio to name but a few facilities, as well as 3 function rooms holding up to 120 people, this is a perfect venue for you to stay in when visiting the Teesside / Cleveland area. The Hotel has been refurbished in recent years to give it a more contemporary, modern feel, whilst still keeping & enhancing the original features of the building. Our Restaurant, J's at 636 offers a wide selection of dishes produced using only the best of local produce. Close to major local roads & rail links, and with ample free parking, we are easy to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Parkmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stockton On Tees

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing