We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Mill Luxury Serviced Accomodation
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Metro Inns Teesside(Stockton-on-Tees)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wynyard Hall(Billingham)
$347
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Sedgefield(Stockton-on-Tees)(Great Value!)
$43
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Best Western Parkmore Hotel(Stockton-on-Tees)
$94
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claireville Hotel(Stockton-on-Tees)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveler rating
11
4
2
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
4
2
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreception areafull englishold millthe pubnight staystayed herefoxlanezoefacilitiestvyarm
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 26 of 26 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

l was very pleased with my experienced in Old Mill, l stayed there for 3 weeks as l was relocating from Isle of Man, hosts were brilliant as they helped me through a stressful relocation. They have gone an extra mile, helped with house hunting, guided through car registration,invited for Sunday lunch, etc. For three weeks they were good friends and given excellent support. It run by family who are very friendly. Facilities are good, clean and tidy, l had to do project work as part of job, l was offered to use their office facilities to accommodate me. Overall - excellent hosts, facilities are good l would recommend to stay there. Suggestion - go for full English breakfast - well worth it. :)
Edgars

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edgars V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I was genuinly pleased with my experience at the old mill and would recommend it especailly if you can get a deal on the price.

As a business traveller i try to keep my overnight hotel costs to a minimum as it is generally just a place to fall asleep before leaving early next morning. I booked the room as i noticed a price drop on laterooms.com. Having paid £50 i was more than satisfied the room (the tool shed) had recently been converted was clean, included everything i needed and was tastefully decorated. The pub up the road served good food.

The building also boasted a hottub in the garden although i didnt use it some people were taking advantage.

The complementary beer on arrival was much appreciated and only begs the question why dont other guest houses offer this cheap but very welcome bonus?

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed at this hotel Sun 19th June 2011. The hotel is family run and are great host's. Very relaxed and friendly. The room was very clean and tidy. Nice shower facilities with plenty of clean soft towels. There is a kettle with plenty of coffee and tea provided. The room has a small TV with a good reception free view channels. The hotel is set back along a country path off the main road. The hotel was awkward to find without having to phone the hotel, it was just passed a pub with a large car park and the path was just to the left after the pub but there was no sign on the main road to indicate the location of the hotel. Good parking facilities in the grounds of the hotel. We paid for a cooked breakfast the was cooked once we arrived for breakfast and was very nice. Overall this was our first time travelling up that far north from London and we certainly plan to stay at the old mill hotel again in the future A*.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cozrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

You can only use superlatives with this place, from the incredible drive up to the Old Mill, a laneway that makes you feel like youre on a farm, to the really well done landscaping of the grounds around the old mill, (it incorporates an outdoor hot-tub which I didnt find out about till the morning), to the old mill itself, youre gonna be almost breathtaken. Grim up north it aint.
Bedrooms make you feel like youre on holiday, and the common area, where you eat your breakfast is utterly stunning. Whoever designed it has a PhD in light.

Being just a B&B, there are no evening meals served, but that's probably a good thing, because you have to head back down the lane to one of the most picturesque pubs in Britain, the Covert Fox, which looks and feels like an 18th Century Coach Inn, serving top quality food and a top quality view.
The proprietors of the Old Mill are more like extended family than your average Hotel Staff, Andy and Zoe being the principals. Andy and his son Scott spent a hour chatting to us over the breakfast, a great laugh, Amy sounds like a child prodigy on piano to me (bear in mind I come from a long line of tone deaf musical vandals), and Zoe, Andy's wife, keeps the whole shebang running smoothly.
Im thinking of relocating...

Room Tip: The rooms off the front lawn look really cool
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoubleOFaolain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews