We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
106
84
43
26
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
84
43
26
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews partridge the pub oak beams big car park beautiful village large bathroom original features steeped in history stayed two nights sunday lunch beautiful room a lovely place to stay fresh milk evening meal excellent breakfast pudding bed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 281 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2018

Arranged to meet friends here as I can not drive for a month and the friends had to travel about 45 mins away.Have used this pub several times since moving here 8 years ago and I am sorry to say it does not get any better the food is spot on drinks a little bit expensive but the service lets it down every time.You normally have table service but I found my own table which was my suggestion but then I was forgot about or that what it felt like I went to the bar ordered food fine I finished meal then the plates and empty glasses several as we had more than one drink was left on table more than 30 mins I then went to bar to order puddings as I did not see anyone coming to ask me so they decided to move the plates so the puddings could be served glasses still left thou.Trust me the pub was not that busy and I wonder why could be and should be a prime pub in a prime location better places to go within a short distance away.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Andrew281014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DandPGM, General Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018

Hi Andrew281014. Thank you for your review. Usually we do offer table service, however after talking to the team it appears that you and your party were sat down in the bar area which is bar service, I have passed your comments onto the team, I will make sure that the team improves from this and takes a more proactive roll in clearing the bar area effectively. Regards, Donna and Paul, General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

Visited as a large group for a birthday get-together with friends and family. Food and drink were excellent, as was the service, with particular thanks to Emma and Jack. Our first visit too, we would recommend to anyone visiting Tutbury and the local area.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Brew95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DandPGM, General Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018

Hi Brew25. Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear that you had such a good time. All of your comments shall be passed onto Emma and Jack, we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Donna and Paul, General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

Stayed at the Dog and Partridge on the road south. Lovely spot, steeped in history. Staff friendly and catered well for lodgers despite being busy (Sunday evening). Good car park behind the hotel, easy access from car to room with a bit of stair climbing. Cost a little on the high side but would stay again and would recommend.

Internet access, was supposed to be secure, but my Kaspersky said "no".

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GeoffA305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DandPGM, General Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Hi Geoff A. Thank you for your review of the Dog and Partridge, we are pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us. We hope to see you again very soon! Kind regards, Donna and Paul, General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

Visited to meet up with old friends. Good parking around back. A very modernised Tudor building with a lot of history. Staff are friendly and attentive. Good menu selection. Good food at a good price. Keep up the good work. Would recommend if you are popping through or local.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank RobBywaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DandPGM, General Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2018

Hi RobBywaters. Thank you for your review, we are glad you had a good experience! We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Donna and Paul, General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I had lunch at Ye Olde Dog and Partridge yesterday and thoroughly enjoyed it. We have dined there before and have never been disappointed. The interior of this beautiful building is a perfect balance of old and contemporary, giving a comfortable and relaxing dining experience. The food is excellent and the staff friendly and helpful, particularly Joe and Emma, who served us. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DandPGM, General Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

Hi Gary E. Thank you for leaving your review of the Dog and Partridge, we are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience. Your comments will be passed onto to Emma, Joe and the Kitchen team. We hope to see you again very soon! Kind regards, Donna and Paul, General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews