We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Dog & Partridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ye Olde Dog & Partridge to your Saves list
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High St, Tutbury DE13 9LS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tutbury
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The hotel is dated from the 1400's & is on the main street.We had room 8,which is right at the very top of the hotel.The stairs in places are very very steep and I know it is an old property,but we felt some mention should have been made. We had a lovely welcome and were shown to our room.It was a good size,with a comfy bed.We had to ask for a second set of towels and the tv to be re-tuned,but we could not find the phone,which had been removed.All saying that,they could not have been more helpful. There were adequate tea & coffee facilites.The bathroom was lovely,with a good shower and those jets that squirt out all over your body.The towels were a good size and there was dove toiletries too.
The restaurant is part of the Chef Brewer group and represents good value,quality food.The staff were all very nice and we enjoyed our relaxing time there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShrewsburyChefette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear ShrewsburyChefette,

Thank you for your recent review, we are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your visit to Ye Olde Dog & Partridge.

Your comments have passed to the managment team to ensure our high levels of service are maintained.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    60
    29
    19
    18
See reviews for
49
85
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Excellent hotel for which I only have the highest praise. There are so many positive aspects to the venue itself as have been been reviewed elsewhere on this site.

In my opinion though the best thing about staying here is the welcome and care from the friendly staff. The managers, Michael and Julie Butler, could not have done more to make us feel at home and welcome. From the moment of check-in to checking out the following day they were both very friendly and welcoming, but also exceedingly professional. The waiting staff at breakfast were efficient and thorough. It was a busy event, as 30 of us from a wedding at the castle the previous day, had all booked for breakfast at the same time. Toast, butter and milk jugs were replenished without having to be asked, orders were taken and delivered with accuracy and speed. Coffee was hot and plentiful and all was served with a smile and cheerful attitude.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dragoon54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenstone, Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my wife and was very happy with every aspect of the room and restaurant. Our room was large and airy with a huge very comfortable bed and was equipped with tea and coffee facilities, a fridge, an iron and ironing board. There was also air conditioning and a large wall mounted TV. The bathroom had a large free standing bath and a very powerful shower. The room is in the older part of the building and there are a few winding stairs to contend with. Only a problem for those unsteady on their feet.

The restaurant had a great menu and the waitress was very attentive and knowledgeable about the hotel and local area. Despite sleeping above the main street in Tutbury their was very little noise and we slept very well. Breakfast was great with a wide variety of cooked and buffet style food and it was served until 10am if you fancy a lie in.

We strongly recommend this hotel for a weekend stay or even longer but there isn't too much to see and do in Tutbury. Overall a beautiful building filled with character, fantastic accommodation, great food and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Room 6 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here after a wedding at the castle. The room was big and well decorated. The lighting was a bit dark and the bathroom a bit shabby but fine apart from that. Not going to grumble at £50 a night. The breakfast wasn't bad either. A bit pricey but reasonable.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

stayed one night, had a warm welcome by all the staff, rooms were immaculate and full of character, it's a beautifull building. The food was excellent, we had a great time

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherylmCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed for 1 night for a change of scenery, only live 30 mins away and had
never visited before. The pub and rooms are immaculate and the staff are helpful
polite and attentive. The old part where the rooms are,have so much character with
uneven stairs and doorframes. Had hoped to encounter one of the alleged 3 ghosts in the
night but unfortunatly i was only woken by the sound of my wife snoring!

Fancy a stay in a beautiful location in a fab hotel then Book it!!

Room Tip: Rooms 8 and 9 are the smaller atic rooms but still very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALlouDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Went here for dinner the other day and it was all top notch. Food was lovely and the staff couldn't be more helpfull. Will go again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tutbury
4.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.9 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
3.3 mi away
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draycott in the Clay
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
7.9 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
6.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Dog & Partridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Dog & Partridge

Property: Ye Olde Dog & Partridge
Address: High St, Tutbury DE13 9LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tutbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tutbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Dog & Partridge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ye Olde Dog & Partridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge Hotel Tutbury
Ye Olde Dog And Partridge
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge Tutbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing