We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The Best Carvery.”

Dog and Partridge Tean
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
derby
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Simply The Best Carvery.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This place came recommended to us, so decided to give it a try, and we were not disappointed. We had the beef,Which was a quality joint, and cooked to perfection. The veg consisted of a choice of roasted parsnips, green cabbage, red cabbage, carrots, creamy leaks, Broccoli, cauliflower cheese, Perfect mash, & roast potatoes. Yorkshire puddings were home made, and the beef gravy, was a delicious finishing touch, to probably the best carvery That I have ever had. I travelled from Derby, which took me about 25 minutes on the A50, Well worth the run out, and we will definitely be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fitzy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    71
    29
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED THIS VISIT”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Have been many times for meals and have always been excellent. Today -5th feb 2013-however, a major disappointment. We both had the 8oz gammon which we have had before. Usually the gammon, salad and peas cover the plate and the chips are served in a seperate bowl, however today they were all on the plate -and still ample room left. The gammon was nowhere near as big, very few chips and overall disappointed. Another party of eight sat nearby, they were also disappointed and said that their meals were ok-but had had better in the past-so we knew it was not just us. Heard that they have been advertising for staff and I am afraid if the new staff have started then you will be losing custom as the portions were a lot smaller. We regretted not having the 6oz gammon which would have been £7.00 for the two rather than the £12.00 as we are convinced that we were served the smallermeal. Usually we are asked if the meal is ok -but not today, nobody came and yet there were two girls waiting on. Visited 5th feb around 12.15pm, we certainly wont be calling for a while, likewise the table of eight were also planning where they were going on their next outing -we may just join them!!.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taster504159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, Stoke on Trent
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Definite Nosedive !”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Arrived without a booking, found a table ourselves (no-one around) , & whilst waiting noticed the table was sticky & smeary, despite supposedly having been cleared and cleaned. We had been there previously, probably 12 months having elapsed, but felt the place had taken a turn for the worse, and with no staff still appearing to serve us, we upped & left without ordering.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JKW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good Food and Good Prices”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We called in on the off chance that we could get a meal.A couple of coaches were on the parking area so we didnt think we had a chance.What a place,we were fed within an half hour with a tasty steak and a good coice of ales.The staff were courteous and friendly,and the service second to none.A nice atmosphere made us feel comfortable and even if the meals were reheated,they were tasty.
We l call again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 186377Adequate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food for the Money”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Have been here several times lately simply because we havent got back into cooking again after Christmas etc. Food very good for the money - dont expect gormet as you wont get it but as the saying goes you get what you pay for. Its a nice atmosphere as well and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodforthought1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dog and Partridge Tean also viewed

Teanford, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Dog and Partridge Tean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing