We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family day out.”

Trentham Monkey Forest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Monkey Forest is completely unique to the UK. It is the only place that you can walk amongst 140 Barbary macaques roaming free in 60 acres of beautiful English Forest. Walking in the park transports you into a different world through close contact with the monkeys.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Family day out.”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We came for the 1st time in 2012 (mum, dad and son) and had to come back in 2013 with the grandparents. A really great place for all. Its lovely to be so close to the monkeys and see the babies play. We went round 3 times on this visit and enjoyed each trip. Not quite sure wheather its humans observing monkeys or monkeys observing the funny looking 2 legged monkeys (humans). But well worth a look. Theres some great play areas for the little 2 legged monkeys and a lovely picnic area. All staff friendly and the talks are great.
My only real grip is the cafe. At lunch time its a long wait to get food and when you do it isnt that nice and well over priced for what you get. Not worth a 45 mins wait (found this out on our 1st visit). There just isnt enough staff to deal with the volume of people. So simple solution take a picnic (which we did on second visit). So to 1st time visitors take a picnic. And avoid hot drinks at lunch time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gillian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you came back to see the monkeys again and that your little ones had a chance to put in to practice the skills they'd learnt from the monkeys on our play areas.
Thank you for the feedback from your experiences in the Banana Cafe. We always try to ensure that we serve customers as quickly as possible whilst still delivering great customer service. Most of the food on offer is homemade and we pride ourselves on ensuring that the quality of the food being served is of a high standard.
We hope that we will welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,208
    772
    273
    83
    34
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun for the kids.”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great for kids. Needs to be the right weather for obvious reasons. The monkey talks are great and they have a play area and cafe too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lauren c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thanks for the review. Great to hear you had lovely weather during your visit although the monkeys are in the forest and carrying on with their 'monkey-business' in all weathers! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“its all about the monkeys”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We visited first week of the 6 week holidays and it was very busy , we struggled to park at first. Once inside there is a cafe which was chaotic the service left alot to be desired , there was only one till being used and for those with hot food it soon became cold food ! I wouldn't eat there again I would take a picnic as plenty of tables outside.
After being let in to the forest it was a short walk before we saw the first monkeys. It was lovely to see them roaming free and not at all bothered about hundreds of people watching them.The rangers do talks on them and you can see them being fed. Its not a long walk but if your not good on your legs it is a little bit steep in places.
Personally I don't think you could spend the day there but our 2 children did enjoy it and it did help that we went on a dry day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thanks for writing your review for your visit to Monkey Forest. We're delighted to read that you enjoyed seeing the monkeys living in such freedom in the forest. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't experience the excellent level of customer service that we expect from our staff whilst in the cafe. The cafe can become busy and we strive to ensure that we always offer a great choice of homemade food and that customers are served quickly and with an excellent level of customer service.
Most customers spend around 2 to 3 hours at Monkey Forest on average and we feel that our price reflects that we are a half day attraction.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AVOID this "attraction"”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We went with four children aged from 6-4. We entered the park and waited by the gates to walk around the forest. My little boy (4) was running around (on the grass) listening to the staff member talk 25 miles an hour and who then stopped and stated at my boy. For a couple of minutes she was staring and we thought she was waiting for the previous entrants to move further in before allowing us access. In actual fact she was waiting for my boy. She then abruptly stated she would not be allowing any child who appeared unaccompanied into the forest and who was out of control as the monkeys became distressed to which my husband replied that "OUR son will be holding our hand when entering the forest, he's just excited that we're here" to which my boy became extremely subdued and the woman hastily opened the gate. We stayed for a talk and walked around the forest and found it wasn't pram friendly (there's a step slippy hill in damp weather) and there wasn't as many trails/adventures as we originally thought. Maximum 1hour 20 minutes and we'd exceeded our monkey viewing time. I think this was bad research on our part. There really was nothing to see except some very cute baby monkeys. We left the forest to have dinner and if you don't pack a picnic then the cafe prices are ridiculous!! And we eventually asked if we could pull an outdoor table inside as people were sitting on the floor with plates of chips due to the lack of tables in the cafe area. Not all was lost on that day though!! Douglas Macmillan had a fundraising day with lucky dips and dressed up animals playing with the kids making balloon animals and reading stories (play acting) and making mugs etc and the kids loved it. Didn't want to leave the fundraiser at all but didn't think twice about the monkeys!!! It's such a shame as this is the only attraction of its kind but with all that space you'd expect it to be a little more family entertainment and pure excitement!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Hayley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Trentham Monkey Forest. I was disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your visit to us although i'm glad that you were able to see some of this year's babies exploring their new forest home. As well as explaining the monkey's fascinating behaviour, the guides are responsible for the safety of the monkeys and visitors within the forest. I'm sorry if you thought the guide was being abrupt as we take customer service very seriously encouraging all visitors to engage with our staff to get the most out of their visit.
We attempt to seat as many of our customers as possible in the banana cafe with an undercover area available outside and a large patio area with more tables and chairs.
I'm delighted to read that you engaged in our activities with The Donna Louise Children's Hospice' who hosted events at Monkey Forest to raise vital funds for their important work.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SERVICE IMPECCABLE”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Service impeccable, safety perfect, good place to visit. Good place to visit, watch out for little kids trying to touch them, not allowed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time that you received fantastic customer service during your visit. We pride ourselves on delivering a great experience for all ages at Trentham Monkey Forest and hope that we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trentham Monkey Forest also viewed

Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
Biddulph, Stoke-on-Trent
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Trentham Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing