We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a good time here”

Trentham Monkey Forest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Monkey Forest is completely unique to the UK. It is the only place that you can walk amongst 140 Barbary macaques roaming free in 60 acres of beautiful English Forest. Walking in the park transports you into a different world through close contact with the monkeys.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Had a good time here”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife, two sons (4 yrs and one 4 wks at the time) and I went here on 4th August of this year. We had been promising ourselves we would go for some time and finally decided to go as part of our first wedding anniversary celebrations (funny how priorities change when you have kids eh?!)

We arrived reasonably early and found a parking space easily. Entrance to the park itself was quick and easy. It's no surprise what the visit entails. We walked around and saw a load of monkeys basically. Our four year old loved it, Mrs M and I enjoyed watching the monkeys interact and our four week old slept throughout the duration.

We managed to finish the walk within an hour or so and could have done another lap of the route had we not had the buggy with us (if you have a buggy, prepare for a calf work-out!) There is a park/play area on site and a café too.

Overall, it did what it says on the tin. It offered decent value for a morning out. Not really a full day, so do plan something else if you are out all day.

We enjoyed it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review. We’re pleased you visited with your wife and two sons for your first wedding anniversary and had a great time. We’re glad your 4 year old son loved seeing the monkeys’ antics and you enjoyed watching the monkeys interact, we hope you spotted our 6 baby monkeys too! Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,167
    749
    264
    80
    34
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Monkeys good cafe poor”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Visited the monkey forest 13th Aug with my son. Found Monkeys interesting and plenty to see, some with entertaining baby monkeys. It didn't take long to walk around but there was interesting info points. We then decided to have tea and cakes in the cafe, this was a mistake. The tables were dirty the service painfully slow with inflated prices, you then had to take a cup over to a machine which wasn't working and splattered coffee at you. My advise is enjoy the monkeys and take a picnic.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thanks for your review. We’re pleased you and your son enjoyed seeing the monkeys on your visit to Trentham Monkey Forest. It’s great that you saw our baby monkeys and it certainly is entertaining to see them hopping around the forest, climbing the trees and playing with the one year olds - they are growing up fast! Thank you for your comments on the café, customer service and cleanliness if very important to us and we will ensure these matters are looked into.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Took our 3 year old grandson to meet the monkeys here at Monkey Forest. We saw lots of monkeys on the ground and in the trees. They had small babies too and provided you stay a reasonable distance away (1 m according to the signs) and leave them room to get past you its possible to take fab photos with them all. The monkeys don't come up to people but sit looking superior to everyone as if you're the attraction rather than them. The admission price was reasonable compared to other attractions in the area. If you really wanted to you could spend all day here as it is possible to go in and out of the enclosure as you wish during the visit. The staff, who are around the areas where the monkey families mainly congregate, are very knowledgeable and make the visit interesting. They are happy to answer all questions even little boys ones about what are their names? There is a good café and clean toilets. A great place to go for young and old alike. Not too good for wheelchairs though as some steep hills.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CWilliams236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks for your fantastic review. We’re pleased you visited with your 3 year old grandson and had a great time seeing the monkeys. We’re happy you saw our baby monkeys too - we hope you got some lovely photos of them! It’s great that you found our guides knowledgeable and your grandson asked them some of his questions, they enjoy answering everyone’s questions and are very passionate about the monkeys. We do have an alternative route as some of the paths within the forest are not entirely suitable for wheelchair access, however although this route is in place, many of our visitors still choose to go all the way around the forest. Thanks for all your lovely comments and for taking the time to write a review for us, we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Day Out, Valuable Conservation Project”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Excellent!
We visited more to break up a journey that a specific stop, but we will retain as it is an excellent family day. Very informative both the staff and also movie giving information on the Monkeys. All buggy friendly, though some is a steep up hill if you have walking issues.

2 good play areas and large picnic areas so no problem to give the children some free time.

We did use the cafe and the food was fine, nothing special, but quite happy. Children would prefer a picnic next time as it gives us more freedom .

Projects like this are very valuable and this one is done well and with obvious passion by all the staff we met.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TheClan1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks for your fantastic review. We’re pleased you had a great family day out at Trentham Monkey Forest. We’re glad you found out lots of information about the Barbary macaques from our guides and from our movie in the video room. It’s great that you were happy with the food from the café, and of course bring a picnic next time to enjoy in our picnic area. Thank you for your lovely comments about our staff and our conservation project. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic family day out”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Wow fantastic day out staff were really helpful and very informative brilliant day out with my wife and child.

Pros
Easy to find
Plenty of parking
Knowledgable
Very helpful
Very informative
Fantastic day out for all ages
Fantastic kids playground close to the outside food court so easy to keep eye on little ones whilst eating dinner.
Large clean rest rooms

Cons
Car park is not easy to negotiate with pram or wheelchair.
Food is very expensive and poor quantity & quality! (sandwiches have very little filling, sausages tasteless just bread!) staff can't count, myself and my friend bought the exact same things for our families and were charged totally different prices! Dinning area is dirty was never cleaned nor tables emptied nor wiped whilst we were there (well over 2hrs) had to clear and wipe our own tables

I just felt the food court and its staff were what let this place down.
( I bought two soft drinks, two sandwiches, chips and two sausages and two chocolate bars for £20) I had to clear two tables bin the rubbish and wipe them and three chairs down as they were covered in something sticky.

Overall I would recommend visiting this fantastic place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Grizzly069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thanks for your fantastic review. We’re pleased you had a great time on your visit to Trentham Monkey Forest. We’re glad you found our staff helpful and informative - we hope you found out everything you wanted to know about the monkeys! I’m disappointed that you found the food poor quality; we make all our own fresh food including baguettes, panini’s and dinner specials. If you had let us know at the time we would have been happy to rectify everything for you. Overall it’s great you had such a good time and thanks for saying you would recommend us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trentham Monkey Forest also viewed

Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
Biddulph, Stoke-on-Trent
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Trentham Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing