We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day out at the Monkey Forest”

Trentham Monkey Forest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Monkey Forest is completely unique to the UK. It is the only place that you can walk amongst 140 Barbary macaques roaming free in 60 acres of beautiful English Forest. Walking in the park transports you into a different world through close contact with the monkeys.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Day out at the Monkey Forest”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I took out 3 year old daughter as we had a voucher for a free Child via an offer in the Daily Telegraph.

We paid £15 for my Wife and I, but were only in the Forest for a couple of hours (including a a visit to the Shop), so felt that the price was high for the actual time that the attraction realistically takes - bearing in mind it takes linger when with a small child, adults could easily 'do' the attraction within an hour. I accept that I don't know the cost of running such an attraction, but wonder if halving prices may double crowds, which in turn leads to an increase in revenue in the shop, however, as I said i don't know the costs involved.

To their credit, the Staff are helpful and very knowledgeable. I learned a lot about the Monkey's, and there are plenty of Question Boards on the Path.

With exception of the slightly high entry cost, a good attraction to visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bairn2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience of Trentham Monkey Forest. We love to read customer reviews and find the feedback invaluable. I'm glad that you left with a positive image of our staff as we continually strive to give exceptional customer service. We feel the cost of the attraction represents good value for the unique chance to be surrounded by this unique and endangered species. We are committed to the conservation of the Barbary macaque and by visiting our customers are helping to raise the profile of the plight of these fascinating monkeys. We hope that you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,122
    725
    256
    75
    32
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alsagers Bank
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A day out with childen.”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very good day out. Do not take any food with you. The children and adults alike will realy enjoy this monkey forest. Its a way to the car park so take umbrellas we got very wet.

Helpful?
2 Thank Elsie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm delighted to hear that you had a great time with us even if it did mean getting wet! The Trentham Estate Southern car park is located just next to the Monkey Forest with the walk around the forest being 3/4 mile long. If you parked at the Northern car park it is a bit of a walk. It's true that we don't allow customers to take food into the enclosure with the monkeys but customers are always welcome to leave picnics with our kiosk staff or on busy days at the gate entrance to the enclosure. We hope that you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Monkey Forest”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great family day out, the staff are very helpful and informative.At present there are a few young young monkeys in each group who are very playful to watch. Ideal for children and adults!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BuryJez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for your review. We love to get customer feedback and it was nice to hear that you enjoyed watching the youngsters play. Babies are born in the late Spring/early Summer but throughout the year the 1 and 2 year old's are playfully discovering their woodland home. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This cost 28.00 for a family of four. The park may be 60 acres but the walk around this park is very limited and does not cover more than 3acres st most. We were in and out in less than an hour. The monkey s are fascinating, however, a family of 4 can have a day at the zoo for similar money. This would be enhanced by a good play aea. The two play zones are small and uninspiring. Poor value for money.

Helpful?
1 Thank louise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for writing your review. I'm disappointed to hear that you thought that Monkey Forest didn't offer good value for money. Adults are currently priced £7.50 and children are £5.50 (aged 3-14). We feel that this offers good value for money for the unique opportunity to walk amongst the 140 Barbary macaques living in the forest. I was surprised that your visit lasted less than an hour, most of our customers spend an average of 2/3 hours at Monkey Forest. We have hourly feeding talks, a video room, info centre, Banana Cafe, Jungle Shop as well as the two playgrounds to enjoy. Most of our customer find the two playgrounds are a good size to keep their little monkeys entertained whilst parents can relax on the patio with a coffee. We hope that you will consider visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“plenty of monkeys,”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

its ok, for seeing the monkeys, but not much else to do, its a bit of a trek through the forest, and its all up and down, not on a flat level

Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you saw plenty of monkeys - we have 140 Barbary macaques living in the forest. I hope you managed to watch a feeding talk, visit the video room or if visiting with children let them loose on one of our two playgrounds. Thanks again for the review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trentham Monkey Forest also viewed

Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
Biddulph, Stoke-on-Trent
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Trentham Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing