We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It that all ?”

Trentham Monkey Forest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The perfect day out for all the family! Trentham Monkey Forest is completely unique to the UK. It is the only place that you can walk amongst 140 Barbary macaques roaming free in 60 acres of beautiful Staffordshire woodland.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Within 1 hour we all were bored. the monkeys all looked as bored as we were. One of them was wondering were else it could go next !

Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thanks for writing your review of Trentham Monkey Forest. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your visit. Most of our customers spend 2 to 3 hours at Monkey Forest and we feel that the entrance cost is good value for a half day attraction. The monkeys are kept in an environment similar to that as in their native Morocco and Algeria. The monkeys are completely free to range anywhere within the 60 acre woodland and as such you are able to see the monkeys exhibit their natural behaviour, going about their lives just as they would in the Atlas mountains of North Africa. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,179 - 2,183 of 2,472 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

can be walked round in 20 mins, so walk slowly, the are activities for the children to learn either in the center or by talking to the staff feeding the monkeys

Thank simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thanks for your review of Trentham Monkey Forest. The stroll around the monkeys forest is 3/4 mile long with benches and rails to sit on around the paths to sit and watch the monkeys. It sounds like your children had a good chance to talk to the guides on the paths and find out more about this fascinating and endangered species. We also have the playgrounds, video room, cafe and shops before returning for another walk around the forest. We hope to welcome you back in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This truly is the best animal place I have ever been, the Monkeys are clearly well cared for the staff are very knowledgeable and friendly. I took my 3 year boy and he found very exciting for the Monkeys to be so close he had a great day out. This was my first visit and I will certainly be visiting again.

Thank catsRace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thanks for your glowing review. Sounds like you and your little boy will be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A nice place to visit, lovely wooded area (nice for just walking around) with the added benefit of free roaming up close monkeys. Very cute and relaxed about having visitors. Staff very helpful and informative. Loads of monkeys. Enter via the monkey forest entrance, not trentham gardens, it's cheaper that way (unless of course you want to go around the gardens). £7.50 is a bit expensive for a couple of hours, but the monkeys look well cared for and that's what really matters. Avoid the cafe, a bit of a mess and poor quality - unless you want to try a Staffordshire oatcake and bacon!

Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thanks for the great review. It's always nice for us to hear that customers have enjoyed there trip and want to share with others. I'm disappointed that you felt the cafe was not up to standard. We pride ourselves in delivering excellent service not just in the enclosure but also the shop and cafe. We are constantly checking the quality of our produce from suppliers and offer a good range of homemade specials, baguettes and soup. I hope you will consider visiting us next season and will visit the Banana cafe. Thanks for taking time to review Monkey Forest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

when i last visited the monkey forest it was amazing because it is very clean and well kept and i really love animals and the monkey forest really adds to trentham gardens.

Thank louisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trentham Monkey Forest also viewed

Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Biddulph, Stoke-on-Trent
 

Been to Trentham Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing