We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tollgate Hotel & Leisure
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent(Stoke-on-Trent)(Great Value!)
$83
$62
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Stoke East(Stoke-on-Trent)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plough Motel(Stoke-on-Trent)
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House(Stoke-on-Trent)(Great Value!)
$70
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George Hotel(Burslem)
$47
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
North Stafford Hotel(Stoke-on-Trent)
$48
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham(Stoke-on-Trent)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Hanley)
$64
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel(Stoke-on-Trent)(Great Value!)
$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel(Stoke-on-Trent)(Great Value!)
$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveler rating
109
69
28
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
69
28
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa family run hotelalton towerscooked to orderfamily roomwatch tvon arrivalfull englishthe main hotelshower pressurequiet locationrecommend this hotelleisure centrespecial thanksroom was largenothing too much troublebooked this hotelstayed one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 222 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked this hotel for one night as we needed to be close by early the next morning. On arrival we were a bit supprised as the name says hotel but in fact it's more of a motel we were checked in by a young chap and girl they provide us witn a downstairs room which we could park outside. The room was nice, a bit dated but everything you need tv, tea & coffee making facilites, hairdryer and a trouser press not that we used that. The best is there is free wifi throughout including the rooms which is good and not always free and when it is its often not a good signal. The full english breakfast is cooked to order and was included in the price if you rang the hotel direct at the time we booked it. The staff were all pleasant and friendly and if we need to stay in the area again we will stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed one night and was surprised by the quality of our stay for the price. The young man who checked us in was friendly and informative. The room was better than expected. A bit dated but perfectly acceptable. Good bathroom with lots of hot water and good shower. Plenty of space in room and bathroom. Rooms are motel style so possible to park right at the door. Very quiet location so a good nights sleep.
Had dinner at restuarant and although not 5 stars the food was tasty and service good.
Continental breakfast included in which as well as cereal, yoghurt and rolls included a bacon or egg sandwich.
Hotel has a leisure centre attached so guests have free use of gym, aerobics, steams rooms plus chargeable squash and snooker.
Wifi is free and fast.
The only complaint I have is I found the beds a bit hard but this is personal preference and the outside light was on most of the night and intruded through the curtains.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valandroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was near the location of the wedding we were to attend. I read the reviews and I must say was slightly apprehensive as what to expect. On arrival it looks very ordinary which isn't surprising as originally it used to be a squash club. It is based right next to a cricket ground so the surroundings are very pleasant and the building is only two stories high, alongside the ground of the pitch. It is surprisingly quiet and we had a very good nights sleep. On arrival we were greeted very cordially by the receptionist and shown to our room, which was alongside the main building.
The room was large and clean with free wifi and tea making facilities. We nevertheless had to ask what time checkout was as they wasn't an information pack available. We had a meal in restaurant which was average but the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was included which was continental choice with toast or you could pay extra and go for a full English. We found the continental adequate and good value as the whole week-end was very reasonably priced for the facilities which included a sports bar with a large screen (a boys bar!!) and an opportunity for a game of squash or snooker if you fancied it. I was disappointed that the sauna was in the ladies changing room and looked as though it wasn't used much. There was a facility for ladies in the way of a gym with specialised machines, which when you stay as a guest you can use and you are given a free trial by a very informative trainer, very impressed, especially being that I was only visiting so wouldn't be returning to join, very generous of the hotel. This is a family run hotel that encompasses the local community with its fundraising activities, which is admirable.
Very good value for money, but not for a romantic week-end, but for a family or a squash fanatic! or boys week-end that is centrally located.

Room Tip: We were on the second tier it was very quiet
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a stopover on the way back to the southwest from Scotland. Family room for 5 was fine - all a bit dated etc but clean & comfortable. Ordered food which was brought to our room. Staff absolutely lovely - the service was really excellent, so highly recommended. We nearly turned away when we arrived in the car park as it looks a bit grim from the outside, but we were glad we didn't. It's not posh, but does the job very well.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlemitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel I came across as it was my daughters birthday!!! It was also recommended but I was very disappointed in the room decor, as it is bit outdated. The room could be a bit more modern especially the appliances. We also found the Wii Fi was VERY slow, and when reported to the receptionist, they say that when a lot of people are using it, it becomes slower,!!! Not good. The hotel is about 30 minutes drive by car but hour an a half by public transport to Alton Towers, which runs very often from Monday to Saturday. The staff are friendly and breakfast was served with very polite staff. Wanted to use the gym facilities on the Saturday but was told that the gym was closed due to a function going on!!!

Room Tip: The family lodge I believe is very nice
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews