We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable and in a perfect location and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tollgate Hotel & Leisure
Ranked #2 of 19 Stoke-on-Trent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Very comfortable and in a perfect location and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff here were very helpful and it is in a fantastic location for alton towers, breakfast was quick and easy, and was close to a pub for tea, and was perfect for a family of 5, and the room didnt even seem crowded . altogether a great place for a weekend break.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah_adams13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    57
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
64
39
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Although the staff were friendly and efficient this hotel is a little tired. Bar/dining room area was somewhat basic with old-fashioned decor. The food was OK but not outstanding - full English breakfast was adequate. The room was large but again somewhat outdated. Clearly the leisure part of the hotel was popular with lots of activities being used by "locals". This hotel is really for one night business stays where basic facilities are OK. We would not return even though the location was pretty good for visits to local potteries. Free wi-fi was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here as on overnight pitstop before visiting Aton towers the next day, the room was large with ensure bathroom, had enough room for us 1 double and 3 singles for the kids plus a sofa to watch tv on, free wifi a bonus, breakfast was more than adequate, would prob stay here again when visiting alton towers as was approx 20 mins from park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angie210177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in April and had a good time. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and the full english breakfast was perfect. The aera is very quiet and a few kilometers outside the citycentre, so we used the nice little hotelbar for a drink before bedtime. The rooms are a few years old, but as long as they are nice and clean, I don´t care. Nice hotel, not so nice city.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LarsNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughty Ferry, Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stay at this hotel even although my business visits are 40miles away. It is very friendly, free internet access, nicely stocked bar and a great full english breakfast. The rooms are reasonable size and have extra towels, pillows and blankets. Room temperature is always fine too. I go the extra mile to stay here and so does the management and staff. Always easy to book and a nice warm welcome. I stay in many budget and premium hotels through my business travel but to be honest Tollgate is my favourite.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor so there is no-one directly above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I booked the hotel as it had a gym and included breakfast. The hotel was very tired in parts and the staff were very pleasant but the whole thing was very disorganised.
Check in was not a great experience and the room was in real need of a makeover and update throughout. The bed was very hard and the bed had sheets which is old fashioned. The bathroom was old and in need of updating.
The room rate included breakfast but I was only informed at breakfast that the inclusive offer was for continental. I spoke with a waitress who then changed her mind and allowed me to have a Cooked breakfast, however when the breakfast came, I wish I hadn't bothered as it was awful. On checking out I had to wait for a staff member which again was disorganised again.
I wouldn't stay here again as it was a poor experience and not value for money.
When I walked into the room it was very warm and uncomfortable but was unable to turn the temperature down - not good !

Room Tip: Don't book a room here - use one of the larger chains where the price is similar but you know wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveS_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aoldfield, Owner at Tollgate Hotel & Leisure, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Steve,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
We must admit that we are currently undergoing a major refurbishment programme and for you to be moved to another room, all you had to do was ask. Indeed it is most strange that, if the aspects of your stay were as bad as you state, you did not bring ANY of the points you mention to the attention of a duty manager during your stay who could have remedied them there and then.
We are proud of our freshly cooked breakfasts and, as can be seen, your review goes against the vast majority of other guests' reviews on here and other websites.
I am also sure you would wish to have a warm room during the freezing temperatures the UK has recently had, and our room temperatures are FULLY controllable. Again, all you had to do was ask if you were unsure.
We endeavour to exceed our guest's expectations but we realise that this is not possible with everybody, Steve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Rooms were very dated and bed was lumpy and sagging. Didn't appreciate the contractors smoking weed outside my room...it was somewhat intimidating for a female on my own. The room was also extremely hot and there was no way of controlling the temperature or a window to open to cool it down.
On the plus side it was very clean, the gym facilities and breakfast were decent and the staff were all nice and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmac1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aoldfield, Owner at Tollgate Hotel & Leisure, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Many thanks for your review. To address a few of the points you make:-
To be moved to another room, if you preferred one nearer to reception, all you had to do was ask. No specific preference for this was made on your booking.
If a hotel guest was "smoking weed" outside your room then you could have made us aware, in confidence, at the time so we could have dealt with this.
Also, there are fully openable windows at the front and back of our rooms and the heating is FULLY controllable. We'd rather our rooms be nice and warm in December. Again, if you needed any assistance with these during your stay then all you had to do was ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
4.1 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House
4.0 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tollgate Hotel & Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tollgate Hotel & Leisure

Property: Tollgate Hotel & Leisure
Address: Ripon Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST3 3BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tollgate Hotel & Leisure 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tollgate Hotel & Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tollgate Hotel And Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing