We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highest quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Birches Head

The Birches Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Jen & Pete welcome you to The Birches Head. We believe we are an 'oasis' pub that offers virtually everything under one roof from eating and drinking to live music and keep fit. The Birches Head formerly The Birches Head Hotel is at the heart of the Birches Head community 1/2 mile outside the town centre of Hanley. We pride ourselves on our tag line, 'Love Being Local'. We use, where possible, locally sourced products, our staff have been employed from the local technical college and nearby area and all our crockery is from our world famous ceramic industry. The pub was refurbished in April 2013 and it too is all about our wonderful city. The lounge and restaurant is decorated with Warrilow prints and scenes of the local area whilst the traditional bar shares its love of our two great football clubs, Stoke City and Port Vale. With a Food Hygiene Rating of 5 we pride ourselves on cooking all our food from fresh; therefore expect a short wait for your food. Our beer is also exceptional. We have a range of draught beers, 4 permanent cask ales plus additional guest beers, great tasting wines and of course a full range of spirits and mixers. We have disabled access to the front (detachable ramp) and rear of the pub and a stair lift to our upstairs function room which is available to use for all family events. Outside is a terrace and smoking area plus the top class bowling which adjoins the pub. We open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week to eat in or take away. We have various keep fit classes Mon - Thur, Quiz night and Play Your Cards Right Thursday, live music every Friday & Saturday and open mike on Sundays. We also have Sky 3D & HD plus BT Sports for all the major live sporting events. So please come to our house for a great night out. Please note - we do not have a car park. There is parking on the streets in and around the pub. Also there is a community car park in Acton Street (the street directly behind the pub) and entrance can be gained into the pub from the alley way opposite.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highest quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

I was taken to lunch by my son to The Bircheshead. My son has eaten there on several occasions and told me about the first class food. I had the Ham Chips Eggs and Peas. The staff member asked if I wanted this off the Light Bites or the Main menu. In the past at many other establishments I have found that the light bite meals were very small so I chose the main option. The meal arrived on a huge plate and it was full. Chips delicious. eggs perfectly cooked, ham thick and plenty of it. mushy peas a good portion not just a blob on the plate like I have had at other places. I was really dismayed that i could not finish every morsel but I was stuffed. Excellent food and service. Polite staff, reasonable prices . One of the best if not the best in Stoke on Trent. :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Balock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBH_Landlord, Owner at The Birches Head, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review and for your eye catching title. We are so glad you and your son have enjoyed your meals here, especially your ham, egg and chips. Customers do pass comment on the size of our 'lite bite' menu but all becomes clear when they see our Main Menu sizes! Also, that you consider us as the one of the best pubs in Stoke-on-Trent makes all our hard work absolutely worth while. Please accept a 20% food discount for the next time you visit as a thank you for your writing such kind words about us. Kind regards, Jen & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    94
    23
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't fault it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

been here to eat many times and never been disappointed. Couples, groups and families catered for equally well. The food is always fresh and its reassuring when as chef declines politely to microwave a jacket potato (although he did say he would if absolutely necessary). Home cooked, tasty, fresh food. Drinks are as reasonably priced as the food. Brilliant bands on at weekends and some really innovative ideas for event nights. Highly recommend

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stokierach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBH_Landlord, Owner at The Birches Head, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hello there. Thank you so so much for your fantastic 'all round' review of our Pub. We are so glad that you seem to enjoy all aspects from our food to our live music nights. Your jacket potato comment is great and it epitomises what we are aiming to achieve with our freshly home cooked food! We do try and think outside the box to attract different types customers so thank you for your appreciation. As a thank you please accept a 20% food discount the next time you visit us. Kind regards, Peter and Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It was worth a visit. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

After spotting that The Birches Head had become the number 1 restaurant in Stoke on Trent, rated by Tripadvisor reviewers, I couldn't wait to book a table and check it out for myself. I am fairly positive I spoke to Pete on the phone, who seemed clearly very busy but remained polite and courteous and had no problems getting us in.
We arrived half an hour before my reservation, and gratefully it wasn't too busy so we were able to be seated straight away. As I've noticed that Pete is a fan of checking his CCTV footage to respond to reviews, I thought I'd keep a track of the times myself.
Our order was taken by a lovely, friendly and polite lady, who I can only assume is Jen, at around 18.20. We ordered two starters and two mains at this time. The starters took 40 minutes to arrive, which I was not happy about, but luckily they tasted brilliant, (Garlic Mushrooms and Soup of the Day). A little apology for the delay in bringing out the food wouldn't have gone amiss, but we got none.
The dishes were cleared quickly after finishing the starters and I half expected the main courses to be along very quickly.. But it was around 19.30 before the main courses arrived, even though I had still not received fresh cutlery. I have no complaints about my meal, (Jen's Build a Burger), as it tasted delicious. However my girlfriend was not impressed with her Mussels in White Wine Sauce. The amount of empty Mussels in the dish was extraordinary, especially as many of them were at the very top of the pile. Why would the chef leave these ones there? It was especially disappointing as as soon as she opened the menu she was excited to see this dish and couldn't wait to try it, seeing as this is apparently the best restaurant in the city.
To conclude, there are some positives: Beautifully decorated pub, very fairly priced food for excellent portion sizes, and a delightful host in Jen.
The negatives: Service took far longer than I've ever experienced anywhere else, a seeming lack of pride from the chef, no parking facilities.
I would have loved to say something to either one of the owners but I was discouraged from doing so by my partner, who didn't want to kick up a fuss. But when you check your CCTV, you may notice my discontent between 19.40 and 19.50.
All in all, I'm glad I visited the restaurant to see for myself what all the fuss is about. I would have rated my experience as poor, but as the quality of the food was, for the most part, very good, I've settled for a rating of Average.
Should the owners decide to offer me any sort of discount for writing a review, I urge you to save your time as I don't intend to visit here again.
Good luck for the future.

Helpful?
4 Thank DannyStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBH_Landlord, Manager at The Birches Head, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello Danny. Thank you for writing such a detailed, honest and comprehensive review. Peter and I are extremely sorry that you and your girlfriend did not enjoy your evening with us. Monday nights at our pub are generally quiet with only a couple of tables booked. Yours and another table opposite were the only tables booked in last night. The sudden influx of customers around the time that you came in completely caught us off guard to the point I had to call a waitress in. However having said that, your wait for your starters was far too long. This is unacceptable and indefensible. I can do nothing but apologise profusely. I was not made aware that there had been a problem with your main course until after you had left. I had received your check back response from our waitress but because there was an incident which I was dealing with, took me away from 'front of house', your issues were not communicated to me until after you had left. Your whole experience worried me to the point that I spoke to Peter when he virtually walked through the door when he returned late last night!! I am sure Peter would explain further if you are able to call him on his mobile 07837 602 822. I have read your comment about not wishing to visit the pub again but I sincerely hope that this response will possibly change your mind so that we can give you a food discount which we hope will go some way to make amends for your visit last night. We have worked extremely hard to get to #1 and as such we should have exceeded your expectations and we clearly failed to do this last night for which we are truly sorry. Kind regards. Jenny & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Thank you for a lovely birthday family meal although it was back in March, their was six adults and 3 children and all of us had fabulous tasty food the children were given colouring books and crayons to keep them amused by our lovely waitress, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, the puddings were just so yummy to finish off my lovely birthday evening.
Although Pete and Jen weren't there on this evening the staff looked after us so well so a big thank you for making my birthday meal special and we will be visiting again soon.Val and Dave Booth

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boothv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBH_Landlord, Manager at The Birches Head, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you Val and Dave for your lovely review from your visit in March. It is so kind of you to remember to write it. We endeavour to make everyone's visit special and it always makes us very proud when we are the restaurant of choice for special occasions. We are sorry we were not around for your visit but we know our pub is left in very safe hands because our staff are wonderful and do a great of looking after our customers too. Please let us know when you next visit so that we can give you a 20% food discount as a thank you. Kindest regards. Jen & Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campingman83
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Best food in Stoke by far, this is more than pub grub, it's great food at reasonable prices, get booked in now!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank campingman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBH_Landlord, Manager at The Birches Head, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hi there. Many thanks for your review. We are so glad and very proud you think our food is the 'best in Stoke by far'. That is a tremendous accolade and very kind of you to say so! We look forward to seeing you again soon and as a thank you for taking the time to write about your visit please accept a 20% discount off your food bill. Kind regards Pete and Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Birches Head also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Birches Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing