We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good”
Review of Hem Heath

Hem Heath
Ranked #66 of 537 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stoke-On-Trent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We've visited here on a number of occasions. Although we've only ever had the burger and a pint deal, the burgers are always hot and tasty. es it's a little "pub grub" like, and often busy, but it can be relied upon. We've had an incorrect order on one occasion, and the manager was extremely helpful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    77
    44
    34
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for....”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

If you like cheap food cooked in the microwave then it's a good place to eat. It's cheap, convenient and is what it is...
The service isn't great, (the staff were polite) but you have to order at the bar, which takes ages... Then you have to pay at the bar, which also takes ages... People go in just for a drink so the bar gets busy.
Little play area outside keeps the younger kids entertained. TVs everywhere, not for me, I prefer to sit, eat and chat. The kids liked it though!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vangate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great service, very good food and loads of it!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our second trip to this fine pub. Great atmosphere, great staff and fantastic value for money! Particularly impressed by little Paris who went out of her way to provide excellent service. No point going anywhere else when this place is open.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Five2wns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go here if your hungry”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Combined a stop here with a trip to Alton Towers. The location is very good with ample parking next to an Aldi Store. Upon entering the restaurant it was clear this place was going to be good due it being quite busy. We got seated and began to look through the vast menu on offer.
There are loads of options and its almost like an American restaurant with the variety of food. We went on a Thursday were the offer was a free starter or dessert if you order one of the main courses advertised. We ordered the battered prawns, and New York chicken for the entree with the habanero sauce. I like spicy food and the sauce was pleasant but not hot enough to ruin the taste. The food was delivered very quickly and was nice and hot. Staff here are very friendly and service with a smile.
The only part of the dining experience I didn't enjoy was the fact you have to order your food and drinks at the bar. If they changed this to normal waited tables then it would be a lot better.

This is a great place for a cheap bite to eat to fill up after an exhausting day on the roller coasters.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iliketurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good customer service”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a restaurant that clearly teaches their staff the importance of good customer service. First of all you are greeted at the door by someone who takes your name and calls you to a table at busy times. There are a couple who are always there on a Sunday and their customer service is excellent - a lot of restaurants could learn a lot from these 2 people - especially the lady whose customer service skills are so very good. Having said that most of the staff there are very friendly and efficient. I would say I use the restaurant about twice a month and I have always found all the staff very helpful and friendly.

The food is good value for money and the menu is good with lots of choice. Even on busy times you don't have to wait too long for your meal.

All in all a very good restaurant and one of the best customer service I've found in a long time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hem Heath also viewed

 
Cheadle, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 

Been to Hem Heath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing