We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Venue, let down by bar”
Review of Victoria Hall

Victoria Hall
Ranked #27 of 119 things to do in Stoke-on-Trent
Attraction details
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great Venue, let down by bar”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Each time we visit the Victoria Hall we absolutely marvel at the venue, great sound, great views and great atmosphere.Each year Jools Holland turns up with his immensely talented band, probably the highlight of the year?Ruby Turner, Mel C guest this year.
The only negative is the bar, staff harassed, ridiculously long waits and no gin!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GaryStorer1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    32
    10
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A splendid Victorian concert hall”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

An evening with Mozart and the Royal Liverpool philharmonic Orchestra and a splendid Victorian concert hall with its magnificent pipe organ supporting the orchestra - almost heaven! I particularly liked the personal touch provided in a pre-concert talk by conductor Alexander Shelley. I wish he could transmit some of his enjoyment of being with the public to the whole orchestral team, many of whom have yet to learn to smile when the audience is applauding them so warmly. The concert hall is conveniently located near the new bus terminal and a short walk from car parks and a number of restaurants for a pre or post concert meal.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“beautiful venue, great acoustics”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

One of the best venues for orchestral and choral concerts in the UK - great acoustics and fab organ.
Comfy seats, beautifully decorated. Good bars, cafe etc.
Been many times over the years.
Not enough music on. Good comedy nights.
Needs a wider more varied programme.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank atypicalpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Splendid symphony concert!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was my first visit [so far!] to The Victoria Hall, to an orchestral concert. We had terrific seats [once we were able to find them, being misdirected twice!!] at the back of the balcony, next to the organ. As the concert included a Saint Saens organ concerto, I was rather excited to be so close to the console and pipes! The Halle Orchestra played with their usual superb standard and the organist was so talented for one so young. The reverb from the organ was quite something and I was able to speak to the chap before he quit the balcony at the end of the concert.
From a facillities point of view, the venue had adequate toilets. Ice cream was available and the seats were comfortable. The decor looked lovely and the acoustics for the orchestra were terrific.
I'm looking forward to future visits to the auditorium.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DizDiz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Need more music”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The Victoria hall is a fantastic venue to hold more music gigs. Over the year many famous people have performed there including the smiths and morrissey but it is becoming such a waste at the moment. We need more young artists performing and I think you will find you revenue will be coming in more!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anniemong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Hall also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Victoria Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing