We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Regent Theatre

The Regent Theatre
Ranked #10 of 119 things to do in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fulford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Having visited various London theatres I was shocked with The Regent. Its well organised with plenty to read as to what is going on. It's very clean and the show was excellent bravo

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen190959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    112
    24
    6
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
591 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Good location and good facilities”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Went here for a show recently and it's a good theatre. It's a short walk from a number of inexpensive car parks, has a number of restaurants within a few minutes walk from the front door and is easy to spot.
Inside the theatre is a large airy space with decent seats and plenty of leg room (in the stalls anyway). Even from the back of the stalls we had a great view. Acoustics are good so you can even hear people on stage when they're speaking quietly.
During intervals they have a mobile drinks trolley come into the main theatre as well as someone selling ice-creams. The do the usual service of enabling to pre-order interval drinks or a well staffed bar if you haven't.
Really good theatre in a good location - will be going again

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndrewJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tead Off”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

About a month ago my mother and I booked in for vegetarian afternoon tea at The Regent Theatre, at a cost of £8 each. So the day came and we were ushered into The Britannia Suite. No choice just a two tier cake stand of items put in front of you and watched like you were at school. The best they could do for presentation was a cup of crisps and some posh napkins. The four triangles of sandwiches with crusts on, goodness sake you can by crustless now, were egg or cheese and pickle. Other choices were chicken and stuffing or ham and salad. Yet no choice and some were soggy since they were premade. And as for the scant collection of cakes on the top tier, we were told they were not vegi. So my mother and I could have gone somewhere else we would have felt welcome, actually had a decent dinner, and not been ripped off. It would have had the Victorians turning in their graves out of shame.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StokeonTrentTheatre, Manager at The Regent Theatre, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thanks for your comments. I understand from talking with my colleagues that you spoke to the team on the day and that they did everything they possibly could to accommodate you at the time. If you wish to make a formal complaint, you can do so by writing to The General Manager at The Victoria Hall, Bagnall St, Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 3AD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Recommended theatre”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Went to the Regent for the 1st time to see Lee Evans. It felt very personel as the stage is close from where ever you sit. It certainly wont be my last visit. As reported by others drinks were expensive but thats something we have all come to exoect at live venues. Overall a great place to see top acts.

Helpful?
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
256 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Beautiful Theatre”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The theatre was refurbished a few years ago. It is still a spectacular building. If you can tear your eyes away from the stage and look up to the balconies and ceiling it really is beautiful.

The theatre always makes great efforts to provide good touring shows and the panto is always brilliant fun.
I have only been twice so far in 2014 and always eagerly await the programme coming through the post so we can choose want we want to book in the coming months.

As with most such facilities the drinks and refreshments are expensive, but you can order interval refreshments in advance and they are ready, no queuing three deep and worrying about missing part of the show.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Regent Theatre also viewed

Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Regent Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing