We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening Dinner”

The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #25 of 546 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Evening Dinner”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Called in after an unexpectedly long day, as it was a bit late to start cooking at home. We were not expecting much but we were very pleasantly surprised. Staff greeted us nicely and a pleasant atmosphere, beer well kept and good selection.
We ordered roast beef and a roast pork dinner. The meat was tender, well cooked and tasty, the veg fresh. Nice roast potatoes and Yorkshire pudding. Plenty of meat and veg, in fact too much we could not manage dessert, though they looked very appetising. Highly recommended and also well priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    48
    21
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Called here for 3 days for meals kids choice excellent also steak they offer is excellent, more than enough food and if you get the mix grill which myself and partner has just had there's enough to feed half dozen if not more, excellent pub,we will recommend to friends in Yorkshire

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dooler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our first visit to this pub was a very positive experience. All the staff were friendly and a wide choice of food was available. The fact that one of the vegetable dishes on offer was not one that I like, the chef was more than happy to replace it with one of my own choosing. The food was freshly cooked and tasty and all at a reasonable price. We will certainly return to this establishment in the near future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“delightful and excellent”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Every time I go to the black horse I am never disappointed it is always welcoming and friendly. food is second to none. Never had a bad experience there at all. All the staff are excellent at making you feel at home. The chef as always cooked to a excellent standard. I always love going there and will continue to eat there. It is very good value for your money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smurf1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ssssssshhhhhhh ( keep this to yourself ) !!!!!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Top quality home made food at great prices, we go most months for a treat!!! Food is homemade and great sizes. Drinks are pub prices and service is friendly. Please give this place ago its well worth the value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dkeenan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Horse Inn also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing