We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good meal, not so good atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nirvana

Nirvana
Ranked #139 of 531 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We welcome you to Nirvana. We pride ourselves on creating a wonderful, friendly ambience and our setting is an elegant, subtle blend of the traditional with the contemporary. A perfect place, we hope, for you to enjoy first class cuisine. All our food is prepared using only the finest, freshest ingredients and the best quality produce while our years of experience ensure food of only the finest quality. Should you need any further information please contact us.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good meal, not so good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I booked a table for 2 for a Valentines day surprise, the service was very good considering how busy the place was. The starters were excellent, and so was the main. The portions were of a decent size too. My only issue is that we seemed to be the only table for 2 in a room full of tables for 6! Therefore it was too noisy with people shouting to be heard, and not the quiet, romantic meal I had in mind :/

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ImogenCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    49
    23
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous restaurant, fantastic food and lovely staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have visited nirvana around 8 times over the past 12 months. It is a gorgeous place inside, creating a fantastic atmosphere. The food has been perfect each time ( i have chicken and mushroom tikka massalla). we went last night for our valentines meal and it was a perfect evening!
Make sure you book a week in advance for a table at the weekend else it is always prebooked if you ring closer to the time.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lau321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, atmosphere and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

A last minute decision to go out for a meal, managed to book at table for 6 pm on a Saturday night. The food was amazing, as a vegetarian it was great to see such choice. One of the best curries I have tasted. Well worth a visit!

Helpful?
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An sparkling surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went here on the off chance. What a pleasant surprise! We both had fish curries and both thoroughly loved them. The service and surroundings were excellent. We will definitely go there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Sacatepequez, Guatemala
Level Contributor
130 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Really nice atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I'd always been curious about this restaurant after driving past it many times and hearing the recommendations of many people at work. Last night I finally got round to going and I found the atmosphere, service and food to be first class all round. They have the best onion bhaji I've ever tasted.

The one thing that got me was the parking facilities- to look at the location, it looks like it has a car park next to it but I quickly found that this was actually a rental car forecourt and not the restaurant's car park! I ended up driving around for a while looking for a space and ended up parking down some side street nearby. Just bear this in mind when you visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PotterNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nirvana also viewed

Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Nirvana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing