We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Stoke East
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

After going to Alton towers for the day, a clean warm room was much needed.
Although we were late for our check in, they allowed us to still stay and we're very welcoming.
All the staff were friendly and made our stay wonderful.
The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable, and the hot shower was definitely appreciated.
Over all a brilliant stay and a total bargain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    134
    93
    27
    30
See reviews for
100
129
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We called in to the Weathervane hotel to din for breakfast on our way to Hanley. We chose from a very good Breakfast , We had a 1 all day breakfast along with 1 regular breakfast and was very surprised at the value for the amount of food serviced. All local food Freshly cooked and did not have to wait very long. The staff were very friendly and most helpful. We will be back and can recommend the Weathervane for a good home cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: Only used the restaurant for breakfast..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredandJune46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Weather Vane for one night in order to have two days at Alton Towers, and avoid the ridiculously extortionate prices charged at the Alton Towers hotel (which was where the rest of our family had saved up to stay - and which turned out to be a disappointing let-down). The hotel is about a 20-minute drive from Alton Towers, and the cheapest option in the area by far. Because it was so much cheaper than everywhere else I had lowered my expectations accordingly, but I was very pleasantly surprised. It was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed for an overnight stay - couldn't really have asked for more! We had a fantastic breakfast next door at The Hungry Horse too before we left the following morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaz022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here with my 12 year old for 2 nights for our 3 day trip to Alton Towers; couldn't find anything closer.
I booked a double room with an extra bed; on arrival, the pleasant receptionist advised that they don't do pull out beds and we would have to share the double. Not the end of the world but it wasn't what we'd planned. We didn't check in until 9.45pm (as we didn't leave the park until 9.20) and were advised that reception closed at 10 and we wouldn't have been able to check in! Apparently it's in the small print.

The room was generally clean (sticky dressing table area, mouldy bathroom tiles, grimy bathroom floor); the armchair was threadbare, the bed was fresh and comfortable though. There was after all a couch bed in the room, so I asked for linen to make it up for my son; unfortunately there were no extra quilts or pillows available that night?

Neither of us slept very much anyway as there were people running up and down the corridor shouting, doors banging, singing and partying going on for the most of the night.

Breakfast is provided in the adjoined hungry horse pub; the reception leads directly onto the separate bar area, not the restaurant. Not a problem at breakfast but not pleasant in the evening. Staff were far from attentive, and I disturbed their conversations trying to order. After being ignored a second time we decided to eat in MacDonalds across the road.

We returned for night 2 (ear plugs at the ready); and had to scramble through a number of '20 odd years olds' and staff smoking and drinking at the front door; it appears the smoking shelter is the hotel reception porch area, not very welcoming. Quite intimidating after dark for a single woman and child.

We were hungry and decided to go for dinner in the adjoining pub for ease. You have to walk through the pub in order to get to the restaurant, again a scramble through a rowdy pub, not pleasant with a child. We could have gone outside and walked around but that meant walking through the smokers and drinkers outside.

When someone finally served me, he got my order wrong and missed off a drink. Typical of the breakfast service, unhelpful and disinterested! The table was sticky and crockery and cutlery smeared and unclean. The food was served quickly as it was the typical micro meal (curry and rice). Unfortunately it was only warm and the naan bread soggy, ok what do you expect for £15.

There was an extra quilt and pillows in our room, but no sheets and the couch bed hadn't been made. We had another night of selfish idiots having fun at everyone else's expense. We left our room to find empty beer bottles in the corridor, some filled with liquid and put outside doors; left there to be knocked over here assume. Reception and the lobby/porch area were packed with drinkers and smokers, none polite enough to let us through.

Thankfully we weren't staying another night, although I'd have cancelled if we were. We are far from snobs and enjoy a good time; however, this hotel appears to be frequented and filled by young 'chavs' with no regard for anyone other than themselve. The hotel staff for not appear to discourage it.
We will not be returning or staying in another lodge of this type, lesson learnt.








  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runforlifee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stoke-on-Trent hotels

Wales
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Wanted a cheap overnight stop. The best thing I can say is that the bedlinen was clean.
Otherwise, not very clean, marks on the walls, badly cracked washbasin, horrible electric air freshener stinking out the room, stains on the furniture and carpets, knob missing from bedside cabinet - sharp screw poking out!!! Glad no young children with us.
Put off from eating if this is the standard of cleanliness.
There must be better options out there.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIBModels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Myself and 7 friends stayed here for 2 nights on weekend to Alton Towers. We paid £49 for our twin rooms so per person this was fantastic for 2 nights. Everyone I was with was very impressed with the hotel and its facilities. The hotel had a Hungry Horse attached so it was great as we didn't need to waste our evenings looking for places to eat, which is great when you don't know the area at all. In the same car park as the hotel was a 24 hour McDonalds - if that's what you like - and a Tesco Extra across the road which was great for us for getting fuel and cash for the weekend. The rooms themselves were everything you would expect from twin rooms, clean, tidy and relatively spacious. The only downside to our visit was the showers, took me what felt like ages to get it working and have hot water coming through(remember to switch it on outside the bathroom) and all the rooms our group had were together so when we were all having showers at the same time the pressure was rubbish, but we just got on with it and it didn't really spoil our opinion of the place. The staff in the hotel/restaurant/bar were fantastic and were willing to cater to our needs, very friendly! The hotel is about a 20/25 minute drive from Alton Towers and saved us a lot of money compared to staying in the theme parks hotel. On the whole we really enjoyed our stay and found it fantastic value for money

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night as my daughter and her family wanted to go to Alton Towers, we found the rooms very spacious and the beds so comfy. The price for the rooms was excellent and has shops and mcdonalds very close so very convenient. We forgot to pack any shampoo but the staff were very helpful and managed to get some for us. Tea, coffee and biscuits in the room. We had stayed at a much more expensive hotel earlier that week, but found this hotel to be much nicer, bigger rooms and convenient. We will be staying here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 111claire666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
5.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
7.0 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
14.3 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Stoke East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Stoke East

Property: Best Western Stoke East
Address: Lysander Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST3 7WA, England (Formerly Weathervane Value Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Stoke East 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Stoke East Hotel lies just 4 miles from Stoke city center itself, perched conveniently by the A50 to make access to all major routes as easy as falling asleep in one of our wonderful rooms! Our lodge style hotel has been recently refurbished, and offers a contemporary-yet-comfy setting for any stay whether you're here on a romantic getaway, a business stopover or a family break. In fact, we're so family friendly that even 'Mr Tumble' once paid us a visit on his way home from Alton Towers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Stoke East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weather Vane Value Hotel Stoke-On-Trent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing