We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unpredictable”
Review of Plough Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plough Motel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“unpredictable”
Reviewed February 26, 2010

stayed here for two nights on two seperate occasions in feb. both times were a saturday and sunday night stay.
on the first occasion the room we was given was fairly spacious clean (apart from a few grubby marks on the carpet) and ok for what we paid (£45 per night) although have managed to get decent deals at other nicer hotels in the area but on this occaision it was a last minute idea so was unable to find anything cheaper. wasnt great but wasnt awfull, had an issue with the lights blew the fuse when swithching the main lights on this happend at about 9.30 am on the sunday morning, was about to pop into the town to get some breakfast so went to reception, was told that they often have problems with the fuses in that block!! came back at 11.30 am and fuse had been changed. Found bed was a lumpy and quite hard felt like the mattress was maybe on its last legs.
as i said didnt find the place awfull but was nothing to right home about so when a couple of weekends later we needed a place to crash again i called the motel at 7pm on the saturday night they had a room available originally planned to stay just the one night this time and was charged £50 for the night we checked in at 9pm so was great that it was so last minute. but the quality of the room was awfull compared to the previous room we had stayed in, it was extremly dated (i have inclded pictures) and paint was peeling of the walls in various places, the room felt grubby although the bed sheets were still clean and the bed was much more comfortable than the previous room. the radiator didnt seem to pump out that much heat either, woke the next morning to find two foot of snow so decided to stay a further night as didnt like the idea of driving home in the snow, reception was very helpfull and arranged for us to stay a further night this time charging £45 for the room.

Decided to have lunch at the attatched sizzlers restaurant, was £5.99 for soup, carvery and ice cream. didnt try the soup (it was leek and potatoe) meat from the carvery was nice but potatos and veg was a undercooked and icecream was ok but presentation left a lot to be desired. it filled a whole but wouldnt eat there again went for a few drinks in the ajoining pub afterwards decently priced drinks pool table and darts board, nice atmosphere tho not many people in there.

as i said rooms were unpredictable, im not sure if i would risk staying here again, was good because could fit us in last minute , was close to where my boyfriend was working and wasnt overly expensive. and the bad points were the lumpy bed on the first stay and the grubby and dated room on the second stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura_lou83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    35
    35
    27
    78
See reviews for
48
45
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Paid £45 for one night. No breakfast provided, could have toast for £2.50p each extra. Toilet had bolt as handle, scraped hands, small bar of soap provided, nothing else. 1 tea bag per person provided and one carton of milk. Attitude of receptionist, was 'so what' why do I care! Only use this motel as your last resort, rooms very basic. If you don't expect much and your standards are low, then here is ok for you. very out dated rooms and staff come to that. Not recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_MI5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stoke-on-Trent hotels

UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Booked this hotel through Hotels.com - changed our plans and needed to cancel. Cancelled within their policy period, but still got charged on the credit card statement - were supposed to get a refund - which never got processed when the hotel was informed of the cancellation.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank traveller1001_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilmarnock
2 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Me and my partner stayed with friends for two nights while visiting alton towers. We thought the place was brilliant. We checked the reviews before booking and most of them were really good. Now that i have stayed at the motel i can comment on the bad reviews. Come on people, for the price you were paying what were you expecting the hilton? If like myself you don't need luxuries and are happy with a basic room as long as it's clean and comfortable then this is for you. What really topped our stay off was how friendly and welcoming the staff were, especially chris and shug (you'll know who im speaking about when you stay). Overall we thought this place was excellent and are planning on coming back next year. And for those who are expecting 5* luxury then i suggest you get yourself a credit card and book a room else where.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole-Kilmarnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2009

I booked 2 nights in this Motel. The room carpets were absolutely filthy. I have never seen so many stains and photographed it. Unfortunately I arrived at 22.00 hours and had to stay the one night and could not abort that night. I left the following day to find another Hotel. I was put in a disabled unit room, (number 41) with a sink to low to reach without bending right down. There was no plug to hold water to wash and shave. There was no mirror over the sink, and I needed to walk over to the only mirror on another wall set too low (for disabled people), so again you had to bend right down to see your head? The room made my skin crawl. The Motel refunded only the second day that I refused to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G7AKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

I was slightly concerned about this motel due to the price being so low. I was pretty more than happy with it when i arrived. The staff were happy for me to check in an hour early. The rooms were a pretty decent size, which was one of the things i was worried about. It was clean. however, it is pretty old and it would be easy for that to put some people off. Pretty good location. Walking distance to the Brittania stadium, and a 10 minute walk to stoke. Then a short bus ride to the city centre. The only down side was on night it was quite noisy. I would not recommend taking young kids there on a weekend, but if it just yourself and a few mates, you couldn´t find a better deal anywhere i think.
Also, the restaurant which is attached to the hotel is pretty good value.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_peterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arrochar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2009

Booked in for two nights to visit family in Stoke. still in the room now after our first night last night only one to go thank God, mattress on bed is at least 200 yrs old, the room in general is very dirty had to keep shoes on all the time as the floor was disgusting , not even a glass in bathroom to brush your teeth. we often stay in a hotel in this area thats around the same price but fancied a change so as far as value for money goes I know there is hotels out there for this price that is at least clean.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harry13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
2.2 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
2.0 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough Motel

Property: Plough Motel
Address: Campbell Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 4EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plough Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms and Orbitz so you can book your Plough Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough Hotel Stoke-On-Trent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing