We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderfull resterant” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plough Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plough Motel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wonderfull resterant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2008

Stayed for two nights in a family room with our fourteen yr old son,Found the accomodation clean, bathroom fresh, but decor a little tired. Nevertheless, the resturant and staff couldnt be better, with a lovely evening meal with visiting family, and two splendid breakfasts the next two mornings. Only downside for us was the other guests who were shouting and carrying on untill 3am, which was coming from various rooms, still cant really choose your neighbours can you.

  • Liked — the food and resturant staff
  • Disliked — other guests behaviour when we were trying to sleep
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kentfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    31
    27
    75
See reviews for
45
43
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2008

We had a family trip booked to Alton Towers and since we wanted a full day at the park we decided to stay overnight locally.
The Plough Motel seemed to offer the best value deal at an internet booked price of £55 for the room (2 x Adults & 2 x Kids) including breakfast. Turned up at the Plough only to find that our computer generated booking was nowhere to be found at reception and despite showing the confirmation the Plough would not give us the £55 internet price !!!! We ended up paying the standard rate for the family room. The first room offered to us had a temporary lock in the door (worrying?) and we had to move when the toilet would not flush. The second room whilst the door lock was better and the toilet flushed, there were some rather ropey looking stains on the carpet. The breakfast was hearty and the staff are decent enough so as the heading says...You get what you pay for. It was a bed and breakfast at a budget price for a family of 4.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Adey&P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stoke-on-Trent hotels

wirral, england
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2008

We stayed at the plough as a family of 4 while taking a trip to alton towers.
The staff and management were very wecoming and friendly. the management only took over 4 weeks ago and were extremly helpful and friendly.
The rooms are basic but very clean.
The breakfast was very good, so good we decided to stay and sample the sunday cavery which was fantastic, it was just like granma use to make. The chef even came to the tables to ensure everything was ok.
Would recommend to everyone will be going back ourselves.

  • Liked — very homely
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birchy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2006

Things have clearly gone downhill since the last reviews were posted about The Pough. Rooms are very tired and offer no 'luxuries' whatsoever. The towel actually fell apart after a shower !

We looked forward to the inclusive breakfast but found it very basic - Cheap sausages and little beyond some baked beans and bacon.

A travelodge is cleaner, more modern, more secure and more comfortable than this. Unless you are desperate, give it a wide berth !

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Towels
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank StokeMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2005

We stayed over at this hotel for one night on Sat 18th Dec 05 as we were going to a christmas party in Stoke. The motel was clean, comfy, well situated (only a mile from Stoke railway station and £3 in a taxi), the staff were very friendly and helpful, good buffet breakfast and best of all the main room block is seperate from the motel so it is perfect for those having a night out in town and who will be arriving back early in the morning.
Would definitely come again and would recommend it to anybody needing a place to stay in Stoke.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2005

we stayed in the motel this month,the staff are very friendly and VERY
helpful.they could,nt do enough to make our stay any better...food was excellent...and accommodation was very clean...i would recommend it to anyone...we stayed there last year for 1 night and went back for 3 nights this time....

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2004

Stayed at The Plough Motel on Oct 9th 2004 and was pleasantly surprised at the large very clean and tastefully decorated room I was allocated. Staff were very friendly and helpful and I would definitley stay again. Just one thing though check out time was a bit too early for a Sunday. (Especially after dancing all night at a soul night) Apart from that I would wholeheartedly recommend this establishment to anyone visiting Stoke-On-Trent.

Helpful?
3 Thank Tosker70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stoke-on-Trent hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
2.2 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plough Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough Motel

Property: Plough Motel
Address: Campbell Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 4EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Plough Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Plough Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough Hotel Stoke-On-Trent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing