We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our Potteries Tour 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moorcroft

Moorcroft
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Potteries Tour 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Moorcroft Pottery is our passion! We were most impressed with the staff, their knowledge of their product and it's history, and their interest is us as their guests. The celebration of their Centenary was top notch, and even though the weather outside was blustery, the event was classy and fun for all!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    32
    8
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Moorcroft being made”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

After enjoying looking at Moorcroft pottery for a great number of years it was great to go and see the heritage centre. The skill of the workers who make and decorate these items is brilliant, you could not work there if you did not have a steady hand. The staff at both the centre and in the factory were welcoming and showed off their skills to us. The factory is the original and you can see pottery in the museum that date back to the beginning of the firm. Just around the corner and down the road is the factory shop where end of lines and slight rejects can be bought and I am now the owner of a nice little vase.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank traveleasy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falirk
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have become aware of Moorcroft through television programmes and were delighted to find this museum and shop on its original site. The pots on sale and in the museum are stunning and there is a tour of the factory which we didn't manage to join as it was full and the next one was too late for us. However, there was a very interesting video to watch instead. It was most enjoyable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DomandPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
159 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pottery For Collectors Only ?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We are relatively local and never been and thought we'd pay a visit after all these years.
As well as being able to walk in to the Bottle Kiln there's a shop and museum.
All items are hand made and painted and probably some of the nicest pottery you will see but the prices make them collectors items as well out of the range of normal folk.

Pottery is so expensive that as soon as you open the entrance door you are confronted by a security guard who will then watch your every move on security cameras.

Worth a visit for sure if in the area but dont come looking for cheap souvenirs.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An 'Antiques Roadshow' experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Try to include a (free with voucher from flyer) guided tour, to see the whole process of making these amazing works of art, from clay to finished dazzling articles. We were able to watch the pipe-liners and painters at work and our questions were welcomed by the staff. Even without the tour, the items in the little museum and shop are breathtaking. 'Seconds' and 'graded' wares are on sale up the road at the factory site.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moorcroft also viewed

 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Moorcroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing