We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good food and service.”
Review of Duke William

Duke William
Ranked #37 of 546 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and service.”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Agree with Sandra, when I eat out with a large group the efficiency of service makes or breaks the night. There were plenty of staff to handle our large group and other diners were not neglected. Get the impression Carl the chef and his team take great pride in their high standards.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    46
    6
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ecellent Food,, Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I went to the Duke with Family on 11th January 2013 for a Birthday celebration. The restaurant was very clean, lovely decor and a relaxing atmosphere. Had garlic mushrooms for starters which was lovely and I had a steak for my main course which was served hot and cooked to my taste. Home made Chips were delicious, salad very well presented. The Staff were very friendly and the service was excellent. Everyone enjoyed their meals and we wil be returning.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food in pleasant surroundings”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I went to the Duke with a group of 21 friends on Thursday 10th January in the evening. Everyone enjoyed their meals. The menu is very varied with a good choice of specials. Even though we had pre ordered, the meals were served promptly and the food was hot. From past experience of group bookings when service is slow and the food when served is cold this certainly was NOT the case at the Duke. Will definitely recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely sunday lunch”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

we visited the duke on sunday for lunch last minute booking even though they had 60th party in they still accomadated us food was lovely beef melted in your mouth very pleasant staff and chef will definetely be going again soon good value for money

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sueb675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“foodylicious”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

food excelent staff polite and friendly will visit again.this restaurant was recomended first class.warm and comfortable

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke William also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Burslem, Stoke-on-Trent
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Duke William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing