We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An undiscovered jewel”

The Potteries Museum and Art Gallery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel back in time and discover the history of the Potteries, including the world’s greatest collection of Staffordshire ceramics. See Reginald Mitchell’s WorldWar 2 Spitfire and all sorts of art and craft. Enjoy a light lunch or afternoon snack in our relaxing Café Museum with regular musical accompaniment by Frank Leigh. Browse in The Foyer Shop for unique quality gifts, cards, books and souvenirs of the Potteries.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“An undiscovered jewel”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Of all the Pottery museums near Stoke on Trent, this place is free and the best. Housing a hotpotch of exhibits including the shell of a Spitfire aircraft, natural history exhibits and works of art by Picasso and Degas. Plus an exquisite and priceless collection of pottery from Roman times through to contemporary art and everything in between. What a great way to spend a couple of hours! The museum cafe serves cheap good quality food and the place is so quiet. It's amazing that such a great place goes largely unnoticed, so please spread the word and check this place out. You'll be amazed!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JSFULHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    148
    27
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
175 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“lots of pottery but little o grab your interest”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

unfortunately the museum is let down by its boring displays.
I went for the potteries information but found it very dry and dull.
pity as there are some great pots but badly let down by a lacklustre display.
even the circus show was a let down.
on a bright note the staff were very helpful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MastG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

all the family got together and we ventured to hanley the kids got bored so we went to the museum, what a great place the kids loved it (7 of different ages ) the cafe served great snacks so we spent over 3 hours there great

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
600 reviews
294 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Brilliant and Free!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were dropped off here as part of a coach trip and were not disappointed! The fact that it was free but a suggested donation of £3 was fantastic value for money especially as where I come from most museums you have to pay for and much more than £3 so I expect like us many visitors give more on the way out! I was very impressed with the layout of the amazing exhibits especially the spitfire! I loved all the hands on items for children and was very pleased to see young mums and grandparents with children inside too. There is a very useful free floor guide to ensure you don't miss anything. The cafe is very good as are the toilets and the staff are very friendly and helpful too! We could have spent longer here. Perhaps a few maps of Stoke could be on hand so visitors like us who may want to see more of the area would know where to go.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank R P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Well worth a visit. This is a beautiful museum. Would highly recommend a visit. The fine pottery on display is amazing and so interesting. The staff are very welcoming.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Potteries Museum and Art Gallery also viewed

Barlaston, Stoke-on-Trent
 
Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
Biddulph, Stoke-on-Trent
 

Been to The Potteries Museum and Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing