We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love It” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sangam 1

Sangam 1
Ranked #110 of 531 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The original Sangam. Large car park opposite
Stoke on trent
Level Contributor
203 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Love It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We have 3 girls and on their 21st's we've gathered the family on gone to the Sangam. The staff are helpful and efficient and the food is superb, they will swap and change the menu for you with no problems. Last night we went as it's the last 21st to cater for and the service, food and atmosphere was just as we like it. You can take your own drinks here which massively keeps the cost down in a big group like ours however the food is reasonably priced. Beware the 6 star nan bread, this is a meal on it's own but absolutely fantastic! Definitely will go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    36
    12
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never go anywhere else :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Same place for over 20 years - the best ever. Love everything about it whether just popping in at 5.30pm for tea, later on or ordering a takeaway. Food is always to same - perfection !!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank shell117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on trent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the best in stoke”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I've been a lot of curry houses in stoke, and this one is definatly one of the best. The service is first class and the prices are very good.
The food is great and they always give you good portions, and for a pound less you can have a smaller portion. All in all we enjoy it here and have not had a bad experience at all!

Helpful?
1 Thank Karl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“The best Indian restaurant in Stoke”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We hadn't booked, but wanted an early evening meal. The Sangam 1 is deservedly popular, and was well booked up when we arrived on a Saturday evening. The staff were helpful, and fitted us in.
The food is largely Balti style, and reasonably priced. We both had fish baltis, both of which were completely different, and excellent. The restaurant allows you to bring your own wine, and a branch of Sainsbury's is close by where there's a good choice of wine to be had.
We come here fairly often, and have always found the place welcoming and the food good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MPeterson67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

great value for money ... portion sizes are huge so one meal will do for two people. staff are friendly but if seated up stairs then they are steep

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sangam 1 also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Sangam 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing