We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE”
Review of La Bella Napoli

La Bella Napoli
Ranked #92 of 565 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $27
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Waitress/Owner was vile-paid a deposit for the table (large party of 16) When 2 people didnt turn up she made us pay for their meals any way. I sent my main back as it wasnt cooked properly (duck, still raw in the middle) She came out and told me I was being funny because of the issue with the meals/deposits etc. Horrible woman, dont know how she is still in business.

5  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcela O, Manager at La Bella Napoli, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Sarah thank you for taking your time to tell us your opinion. I am sorry to tell you that in busy times we require deposits from people so that they do not let us down at last minute since we have done all the food preparations and we might of refused other people to come since you have taken the seats and that way we loose out! This is why every restaurant takes deposits and pre-orders especially for parties. These are the most common rules for most of the restaurants i am afraid! You will have to claim that money back from the people that left you down at last minute! As regards to the duck we cook it pink since that is the perfect way of how you cook duck! No one would be horrible to a customer and this is why we have lasted for 25 years in business! If you wanted it more cooked i am sure we nicely could of done so! I feel sorry for you and i can assure you that our success will continue to grow and you are very welcome to treat yourself again in our restaurant together with the rest of our long term and new customers. Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 166 of 214 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Had a meal after listening to the radio adds. Great authentic looking restaurant but the food was pretty average and dated. We waited 25 minutes for the bill. Friendly lively atmosphere but just not good enough for a city centre restaurant. Not for the price tag anyway.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank albhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very disappointed with the food in this charming Italian restaurant which is very well established.
Service was very good with friendly staff and a good welcome, drinks were served and orders taken by a lovely waitress. Thought we were in for a very enjoyable evening and then the food arrived. We thought the pork dish was the worst with cheap fatty pork in a greasy sauce until one of our party was ill the following day which he blames entirely on the seafood tagliatelle. One of the mussels was still closed on serving which i pointed out to him at the time. Will definitely never be eating there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcela O, Manager at La Bella Napoli, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

We are very sorry to hear about your experience. I would like to assure you that we use some of the top butchers in the area for our meat and best Italian suppliers in the country for the other things and very very rarely can happen that the meat is not in your preference! We do not offer tagiatelle pasta with seafood so it must of been a little confusion there. Our seafood comes every morning fresh for 28 years that we have been here and our main speciality specials are seafood dishes and i have to say that they are very popular here in our restaurant. We value your customer and we invite you to come back again and for sure you will not be disappointed since we been doing this for a very long time as you can see it from the other customer's reviews. Many Thanks and look forward see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Recently went as a couple to celebrate my birthday. The food was very bland and there seemed to be a distinct lacking of garlic and chilli from the menu. It wasn't bad food, it's just wasn't special. Recently had a much nicer meal at Portofino.

The staff were pleasant and provided excellent service until our waiter disappeared mid bringing us the bill which meant we were left sitting around waiting to pay with the taxi waiting for us outside.

We won't be in a rush to return...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pwilliams83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcela O, Manager at La Bella Napoli, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion. I would like to say that as an Italian restaurant we do not go heavily on spices or chilli unless customer asks for more or less! Our chefs have a big experience in our family run business and i can assure you that they do put theirs very best on each dish that we offer! Quality is our priority in our establishment and this is why we have a large number of returning happy customers. We are pleased to see you again soon and we assure you that you will feel special. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have been eating here since it opened in 1988. I have never had a bad meal in 24 years !!!!
The food is freshly cooked, using the best ingredients. service is exceptional. I have celebrated
many occasions over the years with friends and family, there is no where else I would go to celebrate something special !!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rosa515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcela O, Manager at La Bella Napoli, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Many thanks for sharing your experience. We are proud to provide you with the best quality and service for such a long time and we assure you that we will continue to do so in the future. Many thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bella Napoli also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 

Been to La Bella Napoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing