We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for Alton Towers but don't stay if there is a wedding on!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
North Stafford Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for Alton Towers but don't stay if there is a wedding on!”
Reviewed July 14, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed recently for a trip to Alton Towers based on the reviews here. This is a brilliantly situated hotel for anyone going to the theme park. Literally walk out of Stoke train station (we flew into Manchester airport and got the train down) and 20 meters infront of you is the hotel - you simply can't miss it. Staff are friendly and helpful with any touristy type questions we had. The receptionist could even tell us the bus number to get for the Monkey Forest. The hotel is an old Victorian building so floor boards creek, things are a bit dated but overall it is clean and tidy. Word of warning - we stayed from Saturday-Tuesday and on the Saturday night there was a wedding reception. As the hotel is an old building every sound can be heard. We stayed on the 2nd floor and could hear the reception disco crystal clear! It was very annoying and we did feel as if we were treated like 2nd class guests. The restaurant is very well priced - buffet dinner for £10 each night. If going to Alton Towers the bus leaves outside the hotel on the opposite side of the road - get the offical Alton Towers bus and it's only £5 each return! (Although you do have to share it with the theme park staff aswell, just make sure to get off at the main entrance and not the staff entrance like us!) Stoke itself is a depressing place and we ventured into the city (Hanley) on the Saturday night for a nice restaurant and a few drinks after. The place was deserted, not a person in the streets and we could only find 1 restaurant that was open apart from McDonalds. There is no night life in Stoke, so don’t be counting on it for something to do at night. Despite this, if going back to Alton Towers we would definitely stay in this hotel again, but would call in advance to check for weddings!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pault1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    220
    215
    174
    325
See reviews for
187
345
56
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Please dont think about staying here.i have been waiting for a refund for a lifetime now.the staff lie to you to make their job easy.it is really run down,i mean REALLY RUN DOWN!AND IF IT RAINS WATCH OUT FOR THE LEAKEY CEILING!
im a builder so i know when a building is on its last legs and if it was a dog,you would take it to a field and shoot it in the head.
and honestly,they must be writing reviews to bring their rating up.
i spoke to eight people in the hotel who were unhappy and it seems the staff expect you to just put up with it because your on holiday and you will just forget about it when you get home.im from yorkshire so i dont let a debt go unpaid.I swear i will get my own back.the french manager lives up to the stereotype,arrogant!he had the nerve to say why did you stay here.
PLEASE STAY AT THE JURYS INN IN DERBY,ITS A WONDERFUL NEW WELL BUILT HOTEL AND IS REALLY NICE AND CLEAN AND CAN BE CHOSEN AS A HOTEL IN THE ALTON TOWERS PACKAGE.
PLEASE TAKE NOTICE AND YOU WONT BE DISSAPOINTED.
RYAN

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeedsBoi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stoke-on-Trent hotels

west yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Great staff. Great service. Great room. Great location. We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovernats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Stayed here as part of a package with tickets for Alton Towers. First thing to be said is that the hotel is actually over half an hour's drive from the theme park. Check in was a nightmare and took nearly an hour. We had asked for two rooms close together as there were no family rooms available and were told on booking this would be arranged. When we got there the best they could manage was two rooms on the same floor at opposite ends of the building. Rooms were tiny, dingy and past their best. We were up early next morning for an early start on the road, only to be held up for forty minutes at reception as they could not find our booking. The best thing about this hotel was that it looked good from the outside. For a 'family friendly' hotel this was a very poor offer.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We stayed at the North Stafford Hotel in April 2010. The room was correct but cold. They gave us a heater and it was comfortable. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a very good choice of food. The staff was helpfull. The wi-fi works just in certain area of the hotel, but that was not a problem.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Despite previous bad reviews we had a most enjoyable stay, staff were most helpful, rooms comfortable and food good.
We have stopped at Britannia Hotels many times and always find them very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maisie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2010

We booked this hotel because it was close to Alton Towers. Check in I found a bit bland, I work at a hotel myself and I felt like the check in was missing ( a smile was also missing ). We were pleasantly surprised by the room, which was old but spacious. The bathroom looked very clean and newly refurbished. The biggest issue for us was the noise at night. There was a party every night we were there making it extremely difficult to sleep. On the first night, the party was literally under us, we were on the first floor and the whole room was shaking. We asked when the music would stop and they told us athat it would finish at 22: 45. It carried on until 23:10 and we complained again. Which by the way, we had to go down to reception because they wouldnt answer the phone. After the second complain the music stop after 5 minutes. I do not understand why they put us right on top of the party and not the guests attending the party. The other problem were drunk people from the party going back to their rooms making a lot of noise.
Breakfast was quite pleasant, although cold items were lacking. The room service menu I did not find appropiate for a three star hotel. It was extremely small and not appealing at all. I would've been happy to order from it after returning from Alton towers but I didn't find nothing apetising on it. I would've loved to try the restaurants food but every night it was occupied by a party and we weren't allowed to go in.
Check out was inexistent because we had pre paid for the room, it would've been nice if the receptionist had asked if we had enjoyed our stay but she didn't bother asking. I did not find the service of this hotel 3 stars, not even close.

I would go back to this hotel if there were less parties, because I did not get a good night's sleep on most nights.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IceiceBaByLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
2.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
1.7 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Stafford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Stafford Hotel

Property: North Stafford Hotel
Address: Station Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 2AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — North Stafford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Stafford Hotel is a spacious and elegant hotel, conveniently situated in the heart of Stoke. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Stafford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel North Stafford
North Stafford Stoke On Trent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing