We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BOOKED A SUPERIOR ROOM AND ENDED UP WITH A STANDARD ROOM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
North Stafford Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“BOOKED A SUPERIOR ROOM AND ENDED UP WITH A STANDARD ROOM”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night and the worse sleep of our lives we booked a superior room and got a standard double room 124 very small room view from the window was the roof with pipes and skips there was a extracor fan outside which was very noisey all night the bed was hard the pillows where very thin The whole building is very very tired however our room was very clean well done the cleaning staff. Breakfast is buffet style and ok.
I would add the first room we were given was on the 3rd floor with a window in the ceiling and the bath leaked very badly we complained to the receiption who changed our room but no apology just a blank look to top it off they now charge for parking thats if you can find somewhere to park in the first place would never go back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue49740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    219
    212
    172
    317
See reviews for
183
342
55
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed her for one night in Feb 2013. We booked on the wine dine and bed breakfast deal. It was a party of three me the wife and our 5yr old son. I can honestly say it is great value. We were given a very large room with a double bed and two single beds. Yes the furniture is a bit dated but very adequate. The bathroom had a large spa bath and seperate shower. the accommodation was very clean. On our arrival a section of the carpet was wet, we thought maybe they had just cleaned the carpet but next morning when the above room was having a bath or shower we had water coming in from the ceiling thus the wet carpet. It did not bother us too much as none of our clothes got wet. We informed reception right away and they sent housekeeping up straight away to deal with it. The food in the restuarant was very good and our child even ate fish and chips. Could have been a childrens menu but ours only seemed to be the only child. Breakfast again in the morning was excellent. My only critisism was the bar was rather cold so not comfortable to sit in and enjoy a beer. All the staff were very helpful and polite and i would reccommend this hotel and will return in the future.

Room Tip: room 208 has a spa bath and 3 beds 1 double and two singles and the largest bathroom ive seen in a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEVIN2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night, very - VERY - handy for Stoke-on-Trent station. Though you would have to get a cab or walk 20 minutes up a hill to reach the main town (Hanley)

Hotel itself is OK, it's clearly got faded glories and does need a general refurb, but if they did that it would end up costing £200 per night.

Usual ameneites, bed and bath etc decent enough, though single rooms are quite small

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank blaugelb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe from S.Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We've just returned from a very nice (and very cheap) weekend in the North Stafford Hotel in Stoke on Trent.
The hotel is part of the Britannia Group and featured recently in a Travel Zoo special. Because we have taken advantage of these specials before, we decided to give it a go; this in spite of a few adverse comments on TripAdvisor. Honestly I do wonder sometimes if these people actually go on these trips.
Anyway to dispel any reservations you might have, (excuse the pun) we had a lovely weekend. The room was clean and comfortable, very quiet too considering the complaints people have made about front facing rooms, (which ours was). The staff were friendly, chatty and ready to suggest places to visit, with directions.
The food was quite acceptable, with three choices of starter, main and sweet every day for dinner. Breakfast was superb, everything you could ask for; from fruit, cereals, to full English.

It's easy to complain and make comparisons with four and five star hotels but you have to temper your remarks with the price you've paid. Personally we have paid for one night what we paid here for three; and that was for room only, where here we had half board and four complimentary drinks each night. Of course it's an old hotel so you don't get swish modern rooms, but I reiterate it's clean, comfortable, and extremely good value.

We visited many of the pottery outlets and had a fabulous bargain at the Moorcroft factory outlet, We also took our first visit to Liverpool, the museums and galleries are well worth a visit.

I do hope that helps anyone concerned about the outrageous remarks made by some travelers, go and see for yourself.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caspajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for business with a group of colleagues. The hotel is right opposite the railway station so ideal if travelling by rail but that is all that is good about it. Right from when you pull up outside you can see that it is run down and needs a lot of money spending on it.
Staff were pleasant and I was lucky in that I got a room that had obviously been decorated but my colleagues were less impressed.
We did not eat in as the restaurant was lunch and seemed to offer buffet only with a limited choice. Breakfast was however okay so assume dinner may have been.
Certainly not on the list for a return visit.

Room Tip: The one I had but can't remember the room number; however don't look up just before you ente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim11052011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stoke-on-Trent hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my wife lovely hotel great atmosphere also very clean really enjoyed our stay and would go back! slightly pricey though! Apart from that nice location staff were very friendly and great with letting us know local attractions and where to visit!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phildoust86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We needed a room near to my football coaching course in Stone and we wanted to get a bargain...we got both and a room the size of three rooms, it was actually the disabled room 108 where the water in the shower is regulated to be cooler than the sink. The bed was superkingsize the room was super super kingsize, tv large, remote controlled free sat, wifi accessible, the staff at the North Stafford were both helpful and friendly. Well worth the booking!

Room Tip: Ask for the back of the hotel, as it faces the station and the traffic may cause a problem first thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david ian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
2.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
269 reviews
1.7 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Stafford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Stafford Hotel

Property: North Stafford Hotel
Address: Station Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 2AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — North Stafford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Stafford Hotel is a spacious and elegant hotel, conveniently situated in the heart of Stoke. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Stafford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel North Stafford
North Stafford Stoke On Trent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing