We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, excellent food, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, excellent food, great service”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a family room whilst visiting Alton Towers (30 mins drive away). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and nicely decorated, the shower hot, beds comfortable, and there was plenty of room (family room had a double bed and bunk beds).
All the staff we met were incredibly friendly and helpful - really great service in all areas.
We ate an evening meal in the restaurant with friends also staying at the hotel. Both the food and the service were excellent. Breakfast was also really good with plenty of choice.
I'd thoroughly recommend the hotel and would definitely stay again if we were visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisasud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    458
    221
    73
    62
See reviews for
460
321
30
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A work seminar! Our check in was excellent, easy and informative. Room was spacious but the mattress was a bit soft! Question - if hotels have big rooms why have small beds?
Thought about a swim but decided food and drink was calling! Ate in the bar - I had gammon and chips, the husband had a burger. Which was HUGE!
Sleep was ok but we both kept rolling in to the middle of the bed!
Breakfast was plentiful.
Had a day working and then a night out so repeated much of the above!
A good place to stay for business so would go back if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newkneebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

we are a local couple and just went out for a meal.Could not get a table at the other venues around the area so desided to treat ourselves and go to the Moathouse. First time me and my wife had been in the hotel and we are in our 70s. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Excellent night out

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear William P

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review after your visit to our Resturant. It's great to see locals coming in and making use of the hotel and enjoying the services we have on offer.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here before and are pleased to see that the overall high standards are being maintained.
Each time we have visited the overall impression has been excellent, the staff, accommodation and food, have all been really great.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rich98761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Moat House, the first and last days of a two week vacation in England. The Hotel was not cheap but the rooms very comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly. The last night's stay was after two weeks on a Narrowboat canal cruise and the clean comfortable room was a welcome change from the cramped boat. We were able to get an early check-in about 10 AM since we had to return the rented boat by 9:30. I didn't eat in the hotel since there were several other restaurant options within walking distance. Particularly the breakfast options were very cheap compared to the hotels B & B option so I opted for the Room Only. Other than that my stay was very comfortable and pleasant, I highly recommend the hotel. Its location in the Festival Park area of Stoke may be a problem for some but for me it was very convenient since the boat rental location was only a 5 minute walk away at the marina on the Trent and Mersey Canal. The hotel has all the usual amenities such as pool, spa, etc. and let us use the business center to print out airline boarding passes the night before out flight. I can recommend the hotel very highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

As I write this review we are staying our last night here!! The hotel is lovely,clean and modern. The kids love the bunk beds and they must be super comfy because they haven't woke up before 9am. Ideally located to go travelling around to all the great places about. And last but not least the breakfast is very varied, plentiful and tasty too boot !! Best hotel in stoke and we have stayed in a few .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Firstly on arrival the staff were uber helpful, welcoming and knowledgeable. On entering my room it smelt fresh, was very clean and beyond comfortable. When there was a glitch with my booking (through no fault of the hotel) the staff couldn't have been more helpful, understanding and patient.

After several disastrous hotel stays in recent months this hotel was just what I needed to restore my faith in customer service.

Not a single negative with this hotel. Dawn and Samantha on reception and the lady bar tender with the blonde hair are fabulous and deserve a treat for their exceptional customer service. From the very happy customer in 212

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f198fna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Joanne

Many thanks for such a great review after your stay with us.

I am so pleased to hear that Dawn & Samantha gave you the great welcome that we strive to deliver hear at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke On Trent Moat House.
I have passed on your praise to them to which they were very grreatful for.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House

Property: Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Address: Etruria Hall | Festival Way, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 5BQ, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Stoke-on-Trent Moat House Hotel offers comfort and convenience, just 5 miles off the M6 Motorway and within 10 minutes of Stoke's town centre. Ideally placed for a family break, the hotel is close to Alton towers, while Waterworld is within walking distance. Bowling and the cinema can be enjoyed nearby too! As for more relaxing, grown up places of interest, Trentham gardens and a scenic canal can be reached in a matter of minutes! Our onsite leisure club means you can relax without leaving the hotel. And did we mention that this hotel is proud holder of BEST WESTERN's 2010 'Hotel with personality' award? So you'll be sure to receive a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stoke-On-Trent Moat House Hotel Stoke-On-Trent
Stoke-On-Trent Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing