We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, restaurant service was disapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, restaurant service was disapointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel is pretty much what you would expect for it's price range. The Checkin was smooth, the room clean, everything worked (even the swisscom wifi [remember to pickup 24hour voucher codes from reception) was good.

The downside was the resteraunt. While the choices and prices were what I'd expect, they were just not geared up to feed as many people who wanted dinner. I couln't get a table till 8:30 , and my starter arrived at 9:30. There were only two waiting staff all evening

Room Tip: The building is a maze! There are no really noisey areas from my 2 day experievce
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear John_corne,

Many thanks for your review on your stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke On Trent Moat House. We do appreicate you taking the time to do so.

I was delighted to read your kind comments made about the overall hotel and that we lived upto your expectations. I was disappointed to read your comments about the Restaurant service and I have passed your comments onto Marc our Food & Beverage Manager to investigate and to make sure we have the correct staffing levels on shift at the right time.

I do hope that should you be in Stoke On Trent again, you would give us another visit so that we can give you the service we are proud of.

Kind Regards

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    452
    215
    73
    62
See reviews for
454
315
30
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I was on a business trip in Stoke on Trent and someone put me up at the Moat House. That hotel is a very good example of the friendliness that one can expect in Northern England (whether Stoke should be called the North at all is a totally separate issue). A very efficient and pleasant check in. Clean comfy bed and very decent bathroom. I had a great night's sleep. Breakfast was excellent. The only imperfection (and I am a rather picky person, sorry) is that the hotel is about 2.5 miles away from the train station. But a cab ride from the station will only cost about £4, and I know I can't have everything in life...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gamfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Gamfruit,

Thank you for taking time to write such a great review on tripadvisor.co.uk.

We love to hear when our guests enjoy their stay and recieve the great customer service we are proud of.

We look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke On Trent Moat House in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Looking forward to staying here for the second time, we were not disappointed. Welcomed by the lovely Jane, then getting exactly the same room as last time, fantastic. Really appreciated this and obviously the staff had done their homework. Impressive. We had such a relaxing fun time. This time, we used the restaurant as it came with the deal. Fantastic. Our two meals we had there were superb. If you like fish, I would highly recommend the king prawn starter then the seabass. Oh just amazing. Then the cheese board. Wow! My husband Dave enjoyed his mushroom starter with blue cheese and walnuts, then the fish and chips, followed by fruit. Second night had more prawns as they were just so yummy then the king prawn linguine. Loads of lovely king prawns, yum. Then the cherry bakewell cheesecake and homemade cherry icecream, different and very nice. Still preferred my cheeseboard! Dave finished with eton mess. Our waiter Robert on the second night was a treat!
The breakfasts are amazing. Lots of lovely fruit, nice cooked breakfast, very nice. We were actually down to see Port Vale FC, however because of the snow it was cancelled. How did we find out, Linda who was in charge of brekkie on Saturday morning, came and told us as the opposing team Aldershot were staying in the hotel and they had been down to the pitch to check it. How nice of her to do that. Much appreciated. Another little star is Jessica. We were talking about the area and she told us where we could go and where wasn't worth going. Excellent. Saved a trip that we didn't need.

Our room was lovely, the staff are great, all in all, we love coming here and look forward to going back next year. Thanks everyone

Louise and Dave, Aberdeen xx PS One thing which nothing to do with the hotel, but damned annoying are people on mobile phones in the diningroom through mealtimes. Not only is it totally bad mannered, but irritating. If people want to speak, take their phone outside. I would like my meals in peace. Maybe their could be a notice to keep phones on silent and take calls outside, there are ways of putting this politely!

Room Tip: Front of the building, nearest to fourth floor as possible. Very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loobylou299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Loobylou299,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to post your feedback onto tripadvisor.com, I was delighted to read your kind cmments made about the overall hotel, guest experiance in particular ther service you recived by Jane, Rob, Linda and Jess. I will make sure all your comments are passed onto them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and hopefully this time you will see the match!

PS the team were greatful for the chocolates fingers & Roses.

Kind Regards

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed there in March 2013 for a conference. The hotel is comfortable and clean, and the desk clerk friendly, although oddly he insisted on seeing my passport, although I'm British.
At the check-out time next morning (11:00 am) they rung dead on the hour to ask when we were vacating the room.

Nice hotel, good location, good bed, food reasonable, but I suggest the management learn to trusty their guests a little more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morris_minor_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Morris_minor_travel

Many thanks for your review on your rescent stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke On Trent Moat House.

I am delighted that you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable. However, I am disappointed in your comments about our team. As you will see from most of our other responses it's our team that makes the hotel with there professional and friendly approach. I will be sharing your comments with them and I am sure they will be as equally disappointed.

Once again, thank you for your review and should your travel plans bring you to ther area again I hope you would consider staying with us again. so we can give you the customer service we are usually known for.

Kind Regards

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Wales
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I had to attend a H & S course at this venue which is about 125 miles from my home address. The H & S company were offering a deal at £109 but I booked through Booking.com and got it for £89. I only spent one night there but with what I saw I was very impressed. Very clean and spacious room for one person. Bathroom was spotless. Plenty of team and coffee making stuff (no biscuits).

Staff couldn't have been more friendly.

Pleasant and reasonably priced restaurant and spacious bar area.

I usually take advantage of the spa and leisure facilities but because my time was very limited I didn't bother. From what I could see it looked like I missed out by not giving it a go.

Would definately go back if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shiner54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Shiner54,

Many thanks for your great review on your rescent stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke On Trent Moat House.

I am delighted to hear you found all of our team to be friendly as we always try to deliver exceptional customer service to all of our guests.

Our housekeepers take alot of time and effort in preparing our guestrooms to meet the utmost possible standards. so its lovely to hear your comments on the cleanliness of your bedroom and I will communicate this to the team.

On your next visit, you must make time to vist Club Moativation and I am sure you will enjoy the facilities we have on offer.

Kind Regards

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great place to go for a relaxing stay. Staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The price is very reasonable considering the pool/sauna/jacuzzi that are available.

Out room was immaculate and having wifi available in it is always an appreciated bonus.

I shall definitely be returning

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carltoffeeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Carltoffeeman

Many thanks for the wonderful compliments regarding our hotel and staff. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff polite and professional.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed out FREE wifi and made use of Club Moativation whilst with us.

Why not like our Facebook or Twitter page and keep upto date with all of our calendar of events and exclusive offers.

Kind Regards

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Needing a hotel at short notice for a friend's celebration I rang Best Western and was offered a room at the Moat House. An hour later at the hotel we were offered a different, larger room as the one we had booked wasn't quite ready. The staff were very friendly, extremely helpful and very professional. The room was clean and very comfortable.

The Best Western experience made an enjoyable weekend even more so and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy8ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Andy8ch,

Many thanks for reviewing your rescent stay at our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be polite and professinoal. We take pride in our customer service and aim to please each guest individually.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again should your travels bring you to the area again.

Why not like our Facebook or Twitter page and keep upto date with our calendar of events and promotions.

Kind Regards

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House

Property: Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House
Address: Etruria Hall | Festival Way, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 5BQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Stoke-on-Trent Moat House Hotel offers comfort and convenience, just 5 miles off the M6 Motorway and within 10 minutes of Stoke's town centre. Ideally placed for a family break, the hotel is close to Alton towers, while Waterworld is within walking distance. Bowling and the cinema can be enjoyed nearby too! As for more relaxing, grown up places of interest, Trentham gardens and a scenic canal can be reached in a matter of minutes! Our onsite leisure club means you can relax without leaving the hotel. And did we mention that this hotel is proud holder of BEST WESTERN's 2010 'Hotel with personality' award? So you'll be sure to receive a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stoke-On-Trent Moat House Hotel Stoke-On-Trent
Stoke-On-Trent Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing