We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel but hard to call the staff that”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed there in March 2013 for a conference. The hotel is comfortable and clean, and the desk clerk friendly, although oddly he insisted on seeing my passport, although I'm British.
At the check-out time next morning (11:00 am) they rung dead on the hour to ask when we were vacating the room.

Nice hotel, good location, good bed, food reasonable, but I suggest the management learn to trusty their guests a little more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morris_minor_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Morris_minor_travel

Many thanks for your review on your rescent stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke On Trent Moat House.

I am delighted that you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable. However, I am disappointed in your comments about our team. As you will see from most of our other responses it's our team that makes the hotel with there professional and friendly approach. I will be sharing your comments with them and I am sure they will be as equally disappointed.

Once again, thank you for your review and should your travel plans bring you to ther area again I hope you would consider staying with us again. so we can give you the customer service we are usually known for.

Kind Regards

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,146 - 1,152 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

I had to attend a H & S course at this venue which is about 125 miles from my home address. The H & S company were offering a deal at £109 but I booked through Booking.com and got it for £89. I only spent one night there but with what I saw I was very impressed. Very clean and spacious room for one person. Bathroom was spotless. Plenty of team and coffee making stuff (no biscuits).

Staff couldn't have been more friendly.

Pleasant and reasonably priced restaurant and spacious bar area.

I usually take advantage of the spa and leisure facilities but because my time was very limited I didn't bother. From what I could see it looked like I missed out by not giving it a go.

Would definately go back if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shiner54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Shiner54,

Many thanks for your great review on your rescent stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke On Trent Moat House.

I am delighted to hear you found all of our team to be friendly as we always try to deliver exceptional customer service to all of our guests.

Our housekeepers take alot of time and effort in preparing our guestrooms to meet the utmost possible standards. so its lovely to hear your comments on the cleanliness of your bedroom and I will communicate this to the team.

On your next visit, you must make time to vist Club Moativation and I am sure you will enjoy the facilities we have on offer.

Kind Regards

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great place to go for a relaxing stay. Staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The price is very reasonable considering the pool/sauna/jacuzzi that are available.

Out room was immaculate and having wifi available in it is always an appreciated bonus.

I shall definitely be returning

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carltoffeeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Carltoffeeman

Many thanks for the wonderful compliments regarding our hotel and staff. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff polite and professional.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed out FREE wifi and made use of Club Moativation whilst with us.

Why not like our Facebook or Twitter page and keep upto date with all of our calendar of events and exclusive offers.

Kind Regards

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Needing a hotel at short notice for a friend's celebration I rang Best Western and was offered a room at the Moat House. An hour later at the hotel we were offered a different, larger room as the one we had booked wasn't quite ready. The staff were very friendly, extremely helpful and very professional. The room was clean and very comfortable.

The Best Western experience made an enjoyable weekend even more so and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy8ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Andy8ch,

Many thanks for reviewing your rescent stay at our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be polite and professinoal. We take pride in our customer service and aim to please each guest individually.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again should your travels bring you to the area again.

Why not like our Facebook or Twitter page and keep upto date with our calendar of events and promotions.

Kind Regards

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed for a two night break, with evening meal on the first night. The hotel was busy but the staff were fantastic. We had one of the best receptionists ever on Friday, she really couldn’t do enough for us. Ate in the restaurant and the food was tasty and well cooked. Jess deserves a mention as she worked hard all evening and was attentive even when the restaurant was very busy. The room was clean and comfortable and the bed soft enough for a good nights sleep. Location wise you couldn’t ask for better, with good access to local attractions as well as places like Alton Towers, and Derbyshire peak districts. We have stayed in a few hotels around this area and this is the best, definitely will book again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJones60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here Friday and Saturday night as we was visiting the water park at Alton towers on the Friday and the theme park on the Saturday. The hotel was in an ideal place as it was about a 30-40 minute drive from Alton towers and also right next to the odeon, morrisons, bowling, places to eat (McDonald's, frankie n bennies etc), and shops such as toys r us, new look, boots etc. Our room was very clean and spacious and had all the things we needed for our stay (tv, hair dryer, bath, shower, tea and coffee, comfy bed etc) . The decor was a little old fashioned and there was a few cracked tiles on the walls of the bathroom but things like that don't bother me at all as it was very good for the price. Breakfast was included in our price for both days and was really nice with loads of choice and eat as much as u like. We also had 3 course dinner included in our price for one night and the food was nice. Only problem we had was we booked our table for 7.45 and when we went down for dinner they said they wouldn't be able to take our order for half an hour as they had a big party of 50 arrive. We weren't happy about this and lots of people got told the same however we did get a free drink whilst we waiting which made up for the wait. There is also a pool etc at the hotel however we didn't use this as we went to the water park so can't comment on it. I would recommend this hotel especially if u are visiting Alton towers.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I had 3 days at the Moat House, great start with a warm welcome and lovely large room, we had Dinner B & B then B & B the food was delicious and service was excellent. If this standard is throughout all Best Western Hotels where else would you want to stay?
Thank you all for your friendly and excellent service. J Maylor

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamaMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stoke-on-Trent hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
281 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
391 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House

Address: Etruria Hall | Festival Way, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 5BQ, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range: $66 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Stoke-on-Trent Moat House Hotel offers comfort and convenience, just 5 miles off the M6 Motorway and within 10 minutes of Stoke's town centre. Ideally placed for a family break, the hotel is close to Alton towers, while Waterworld is within walking distance. Bowling and the cinema can be enjoyed nearby too! As for more relaxing, grown up places of interest, Trentham gardens and a scenic canal can be reached in a matter of minutes! Our onsite leisure club means you can relax without leaving the hotel. And did we mention that this hotel is proud holder of BEST WESTERN's 2010 'Hotel with personality' award? So you'll be sure to receive a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stoke-On-Trent Moat House Hotel Stoke-On-Trent
Stoke-On-Trent Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing