We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor administration”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Poor administration”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

For several years we have booked boxing day lunch for the family at the Moat House. It has always been an enjoyable experience with good food at a reasonable price with a children's entertainer to keep the children amused. This year we made a booking in September for Boxing day. On the 1st of December we were informed by the hotel that the event had been cancelled and we would be going to get a refund. At such short notice this gave us little or no chance to purchase an alternative for somewhere that was decent. Most decent alternatives had been fully booked months ago. Whilst I accept events can be cancelled due to a shortage of numbers, late notice of such a cancellation to customers, regular or not, is totaly unacceptable.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMstoke, General Manager at Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Roger

Many thanks for the review.

I totally understand your comments and really hope that you have found an alternative venue. In the past Boxing Day lunch has been very popular but unfortunately this year that is not the case and we had to take the decision based on the number of bookings to cancel the event.
We will review this for 2013.

Wishing you and your family a great Christmas and Happy and Healthy 2013.

Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    457
    221
    73
    62
See reviews for
459
321
30
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on Bussiness. Great service throughout. Restaurant food was really excellent and on dbb it was also suet value. Room good on crown floor. Gym little tired but was ok. Will go back and happy to recommend to all.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evertonderek
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Going to see a show in Stoke , the family decided to stay over and treat ourselves. We could not have been more pleased. The staff were great, the food and service were excellent.
a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evertonderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed for two nights at the end of November and was pleasantly surprised with appearance, cleanliness and helpfulness of staff. Usually stay at the Holiday Inn Express, but fancied a change, which proved a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAVY123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed in November for one night B & B the staff the room and the breakfast were really good but a glass of wine and a pint of lager for £10.20 is a little overpriced for the area and the hotel.
The room was very clean for its age and the bed allowed a good nights sleep, I stayed in an executive room so not sure of the quality of a standard room.
The reception staff were great as was the breakfast waiter and the buffer breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve7898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed one night, Good location. Great value for money. Room a reasonable size for 2 adults. Room was warm and comfortable, shower and bathroom to a good standard. Hotel walking distance to Ten Pin Bowling and Cinema. A Toby Cavery just round corner offering good quality food at great prices. Surrounded by supermarket which was great for getting a few snacks for cinema visit and a bottle of wine for the room.. A couple of decent retail parks are close by. Bar area was great for a drink later on in the evening following a night out. Breakfast good choice and well stocked. Staff helpful. Only 40 min drive to Alton Towers so great base if you are going here.The gym and pool area good with a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sturushton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2012

When we travel back to the UK, we used to stay with family and friends but this time decided to go for a hotel instead. OMG, what a difference! The rooms were a nice size, very comfortable with a "proper" sized bath which hubby really appreciated and all the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The big thing thought that really made our stay was the food! The breakfast was amazing...top quality and plenty of choice. Our rate also included one evening meal and that was also VERY nice. We ate in the bar a couple of times and I can highly recommend the steak and ale pie. All in all, I can honestly say that, thanks to the Moat House, this trip back actually felt like a vacation and will definitely be a prominent part of our travel plans in the future!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House

Property: Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Address: Etruria Hall | Festival Way, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 5BQ, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Stoke-on-Trent Moat House Hotel offers comfort and convenience, just 5 miles off the M6 Motorway and within 10 minutes of Stoke's town centre. Ideally placed for a family break, the hotel is close to Alton towers, while Waterworld is within walking distance. Bowling and the cinema can be enjoyed nearby too! As for more relaxing, grown up places of interest, Trentham gardens and a scenic canal can be reached in a matter of minutes! Our onsite leisure club means you can relax without leaving the hotel. And did we mention that this hotel is proud holder of BEST WESTERN's 2010 'Hotel with personality' award? So you'll be sure to receive a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stoke-On-Trent Moat House Hotel Stoke-On-Trent
Stoke-On-Trent Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing