We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Business Trips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nice Hotel. Decent rooms, decent breakfast. I use hotels for business over 40 times per year and this one has never been a problem.
Checking in is always a breeze and hotel staff are friendly. Rooms are clean, tidy and internet is free. Breakfast is a buffet affair but nice and they'll cook eggs however you want them.
There is a gym I havent used but had good feedback. A relaxing lounge that does food from either bar or restaurant is also nice. Always stay here when in Stoke.

Room Tip: Updgrades might always be available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    406
    191
    63
    48
See reviews for
401
274
28
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great location on edge of town. Staff made us feel really welcome and nothing was hard for them to do. Clean and relaxed room. Would stay again. Easy access from car park to hotel with a drop of point at main reception.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garynvaishali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I never like to leave poor feedback, as there is always something good about every establshment. But we stayed in this hotel Room (216) on 12th August 2012. During our stay we continually complained about the room being hot and stuffy. The Hotel Manager said they were sorry the A/C for "some reason was not working". However I have news for her (Claire Furnell King) its not worked for months, and as a Building Inspector I would really have appeciated the truth. We were given a fan to blow the hot air round the room!!! great eh! We never asked for a discount and paid full price, but no appologies. It spoiled our stay really, as it was to hot to sleep. Shame as this is a really nice Hotel and in a good location, albeit the maintenance was poor. If we ever stay again i shall require it in writing the A/C is fully functional. The reception staff were pleasant though, and the place was very clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMstoke, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Many thanks for your review Donna

Oh dear what a shame your stayed was marred by issues with our comfort cooling system I'm so sorry you found your room hot and stuffy and the cooling system noisy, I am glad though that we tried to do something about it by offering you a fan allbeit a little inadequate.

Please be assured that to the best of my knowledge our comfort cooling system has been fully operational all year so am not sure why you state its not been working for months. Nonetheless I have asked my Maintenance Manager to schedule a review of the system ready for those some hot summer days we will hopefully have next summer.

I'm really pleased you found us to be a nice hotel, clean and in a good location. I shall also pass on your commenmts to our reception team.

thanks again for the review.

Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed for two nights with friends and teenagers whilst visiting Alton Towers, drive to Alton Towers is a pleasant countryside drive taking abut half an hour from hotel. We booked two rooms and were located together which was great, hotel staff very helpful and welcoming. Arrived on first day in time to enjoy the spa facilities with our girls and then walked out to retail park for shopping and meal. Second day enjoyed breakfast and then drove girls to Alton Towers, we returned to hotel for day of pampering and use of facilities, very relaxing and massage therapist was excellent. We stayed in the summer and whilst here booked return tickets to Alton Towers at half price, if you book tickets for Alton Towers when we were there they were offering tickets to return the next day for £5. I would also recommend that you ring the hotel to see what offers they have on as when we originally booked in the summer we paid full price for one night, on return we got two nights for the same price. They have offers on in school holidays where kids under 10 eat free and also you can upgrade for an evening meal for a discounted price. There is a water park next to hotel called Waterworld which looked great, cinema, 10 pin bowling, dry ski slope, retail park (Boots, Next, Warehouse, Top Shop, Miss Selfridge etc) with places to eat Pizza Hut, McDonald's and Frankie & Benny's all within walking distance.

Room Tip: We stayed in a family room and have stayed on both sides of hotel, no difference,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dslkml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here with my family and another during half term trip to Alton Towers. Chosen from website searches and offered a great deal for family room with breakfast. We asked for rooms together and this was accomodated, with us just across the hall from each other. Nice sized room for a hotel, with bunk beds for the kids. Good choice of buffet for breakfast. We also ate there the evening we stayed as it was late. Good deal for adults was available, which we took advantage of and it proved better than expected. Kids also tried out the pool and the attendant there was very helpful. In addition, the bar staff were knowledgable about the local ales on offer and were very friendly, same goes for the restaurant staff. All in all this seems a well managed hotel, with staff clearly having the customer at the forefront of their minds. Based on our experience we would recommend and stay at a Best Western again.

Room Tip: Only reason for average sleep quality is because we are NOT used to sleeping in the same room as our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cokrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with other members of our family. All the staff were friendly and attentive. The rooms were comfortable, large, clean and very quiet. Breakfasts were busy but well organised. Our elderly mother was always looked after and felt very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulpur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My sisters and I stayed her whilst visiting the Potteries Museum. The rooms were a good size and clean. The staff were friendly and breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed using the pool area. The hotel isn't cheap but we felt that it was worth it. There is plenty of parking. The bar area is comfortable. Free WiFi was good but it would be better if one didn't have to use the vouchers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnieRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
1.4 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#1 of 6 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House
Address: Etruria Hall Festival Way, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 5BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Stoke-on-Trent Moat House Hotel offers comfort and convenience, just 5 miles off the M6 Motorway and within 10 minutes of Stoke's town centre. Ideally placed for a family break, the hotel is close to Alton towers, while Waterworld is within walking distance. Bowling and the cinema can be enjoyed nearby too! As for more relaxing, grown up places of interest, Trentham gardens and a scenic canal can be reached in a matter of minutes! Our onsite leisure club means you can relax without leaving the hotel. And did we mention that this hotel is proud holder of BEST WESTERN's 2010 'Hotel with personality' award? So you'll be sure to receive a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stoke-On-Trent Moat House Hotel Stoke-On-Trent
Stoke-On-Trent Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing