We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's not good, it's great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It's not good, it's great!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We travel from Penzance up to Stoke three or four times a season to see the Mighty Potters. I wish we'd tried this hotel years ago. Now stayed twice and couldn't wish for a more friendly group of staff...they actually take an interest in their clients! The rooms are neat and tidy. I like a bath but the shower's perfectly adequate for one night. Only five minutes stroll from the Britannia and a Harvester and Hungry Horse within easy reach. The breakfast is an added bonus which makes the stay great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Five2wns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    335
    128
    43
    13
See reviews for
307
170
35
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here during a trip to Alton Towers (which is about 30 mins drive away) friendly greating on arrival.Room was clean and tidy.Hotel was quiet and relaxing.Breakfast in morning was very good and plenty to choose from.would recommend to all staying at Alton Towers or perhaps visiting Stoke City fc for a match.The Brittannia stadium you can see out of the hotel window.2 minutes walk away.
Harvester restaurant is also a few minutes away.
would use again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMSOT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

Our hotel is a great choice when visiting Alton Towers and I hope you had a great time at the theme park.

We look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you to Stoke-on-Trent in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Very basic, but good enough for an overnight stay. Shower only. No restaurant, but Harvester next door but it was pouring with rain so didn't venture out. There is a bar area that serves chocolate, crisps etc and I think pre-packed sandwiches. Did serve a buffet breakfast, but basic. Room sufficient but I have stayed in much better. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMSOT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay and please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt on this occasion.

It is great to hear you found our hotel staff friendly as we pride ourselves in delivering the highest levels of customer service. I will ensure I communicate your feedback with the team.

If you have any further feedback or comments please contact me by e-mail deputy@expressstoke.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

we stayed here when moving our daugther back into uni. we stayed two nights, arrived very late, check in took 2 mins (which was much appricated after a day at workfollowed by a 4 hour drive) As noted elsewhere there was no bath, but the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was OK, slightly strange selection and very busy. If your in a rush either get up very early or take your own cup and a bag, fill both and eat in your car!
When we tried to pop back to hotel on the saturday Stoke FC had just finished, so traffic chaos on the roads outside. we knew that they were playing so this was our bad timing.
Will stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMSOT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for sharing your lovely comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

We all hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again should your travels bring you to Stoke on Trent.

Kind Regards
Kelly Graham
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g_scott
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great hotel, we booked it due to its location as we were going to Alton towers. It's about 25 minutes away.

Staff were great, whole hotel is very fresh/modern. Rooms were ideal. Breakfast is a 'continental deluxe' so not a full English but there were beans, egg etc.

There is a harvester next to the hotel which we planned on eating at the evening we got there but as it is right next door the whole hotel go there for tea! So if you are planning on going I would book a table, we went at 8 and were told the wait be an hour.

The staff at the hotel were great. Even posting a left behind phone charge for us.

Another tip is try booking through superbreak. They sell the hotel as a mystery 3 star, it's much cheaper than booking through the hotel direct!

Nothing to complain about at all. Would go back and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gc_scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMSOT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. Our hotel is a great choice when visiting Alton Towers and we hope you had a great time at the theme park.

We take a lot of time to prepare breakfast for our guests to ensure you have a good start the day.

I’m glad to hear that your stay with us has met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you to Stoke on Trent in the near future.

Kind Regards
Kelly Graham
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Husband and I stayed for one night. Staff were polite; check-in straight forward. The room was ok size wise. No bath though. We were on the ground floor facing car park, but noise was minimal. For me the mattress was very uncomfortable and causing back pain so I was early to rise in the morning. The mattress was fine for husband. I did report on this when checking out, and reception advised it would be looked at. I was also disappointed with the TV - the screen was very small. Breakfast acceptable considering no extra cost. Overall this HI Express felt a bit dated compared to others I have stayed in but the room cost was reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMSOT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your candid feedback following your recent stay with us.

We will be having new TV’s for all our guest bedrooms in 2013 which will be plasma screen and much larger.

I can assure you we have looked into the comfort of the mattress in your guest room and had we have taken the necessary actions.

Our bedrooms are modern and equipped with everything you need for a good night’s sleep including air conditioning, en-suite with power shower and a choice of pillows.

Thank you once again for reviewing our hotel and I hope that if you return to Stoke-on-Trent in the future you will give us the opportunity to make amends for the disappointment you felt on this occasion.

Kind Regards
Kelly Graham
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Well again another easy checkinn with friendly staff even checked me in whilst a Japanese coach party were halfway through.
They gave another customer a iPhone charger for the night.
The hotel is on a business park next to football ground with a stroll to a franchised pub reaturant.
It is fine for this type of Hôtel

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJJ1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMSOT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank for such a wonderful review. It is fantastic to hear you found our hotel staff friendly as we pride ourselves in delivering the highest levels of customer service.

Our hotel is a great choice when visiting Britannia Stadium to watch Stoke City Football Club play.

I’m glad to hear that your stay with us has met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you to Stoke-on-Trent in the near future.

Kelly Graham
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
3.8 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent

Property: Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Address: The Britannia Stadium Stanley Matthews Way | Trentham Lakes, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 4EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Receive a warm welcome at the modern Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent hotel, near junction 15 of the M6.The Holiday Inn Express hotel in Stoke-on-Trent is 4 miles outside Stoke city centre on the A50. Set in a convenient location in the Trentham Lakes Business Park, the hotel has plenty of free parking. Manchester Airport is 38 miles away, and Stoke's famous potteries are a 5-minute drive away. Treat your family to a day out at Trentham Estate, with its shopping centre, lush gardens and monkey forest. Family meals are on offer at the Harvester Restaurant opposite the Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, and kids up to 18 can sleep for free on the sofa beds in our family rooms. Alton Towers theme park is 15 miles away. You can invite up to 35 colleagues to Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent's smart meeting room. Equipment includes an LCD projector and wireless Internet, which is available throughout the hotel. Relax in the comfortable Great Room lounge with a drink from our licensed bar or simply catch up on email with our free wireless Internet access. Join us on each morning of your stay to enjoy our complimentary breakfast; a delicious buffet featuring scrambled eggs, sausages, pastries, cereals and more. We look forward to welcoming you to our Holiday Inn Express hotel in Stoke. Rooms feature air conditioning, flatscreen TV and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-On-Trent Hotel Stoke-On-Trent
Holiday Inn Stoke-On-Trent
Stoke-On-Trent Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing