We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place, poor service”
Review of The Black Lion Pub

The Black Lion Pub
Ranked #93 of 546 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Stoke On Trent
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely place, poor service”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

the place and area it is in itself is lovely and well worth a visit if you are just going for a drink and to sit outside, however after turning up for lunch we got told they stopped serving at 3 until half 5, which is fair enough but not once did they mention that we would not be able to choose off their normal menu, so we waited until half 5 after not eating all day to then be told that we could only eat off the curry menu as they had people booked in, had they of told us this earlier we would of left to eat somewhere else, so in that case the service was very poor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank tar0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    39
    22
    11
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stoke-on-trent
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fab Family day out”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Me my friends and Grandchildren went on a visit there today,had a great walk along the canal through the woods past the railway station which is so lovely like the original stations then you come to the pub the Black Lion we got there just as it opened,ordered the big tuna bap well there was enough to feed two also side of chips fantastic you won't be disappointed,freshly made friendly staff,child friendly will go again,lovely walk back to the car you would not think you were in Stoke On Trent beautiful Countryside hidden away.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank trenthamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Ignore negative reviews...”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

- Stunning location...
- Excellent service...
- Polite staff...
- Lovely, homely feel...
- A mixed grill that even I could not finish...

Please do judge this pub for yourself. I've been on 3 occasions and each surpassed the last.

Excellent!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MegaMatt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food & choice of drinks!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had a lovely walk along the canalside to The Black Lion. 'Olde worlde' style pub with lots of character. Sat outside in the sun watching the steam and diesel trains go by in the beautiful Staffordshire Moorlands. Ordered the monster baps for lunch and they were monster! Very nice and excellent value for money. Good choice of fruity ciders - very strong so beware! Especially nice to sit outside when there is a 40's weekend on at the railway!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieDyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Trains, boats, and crowing cocks!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I didn't eat here so this review is of the beer and ambience only, neither of which I could fault. There was an excellent choice of unusual cask-conditioned ales in fine condition (with 10% discount offered to members of CAMRA, the Campaign for Real Ale, on presentation of up-to-date membership card). I enjoyed sitting outside in the sun with my excellent pint(s) in this peaceful and remote spot, watching steam and heritage diesel trains go by on the adjacent Churnet Valley railway, and narrow boats chug along the Caldon Canal. The pub's collection of rare-breed poultry clucked around, including a hen with her chickens, and three cocks which seemed to be having an I-can-crow-louder-than-you contest. Definitely not your usual boozer - and all the better for it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Lion Pub also viewed

Cheddleton, Staffordshire
Cheddleton, Staffordshire
 
Froghall, Stoke-on-Trent
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Black Lion Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing