We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely stay”
Review of Kenwood Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kenwood Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 17 Stoke-on-Trent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

A friend and I came to stay here for an Alton Towers trip. The service was really excellent, the room was cosy and clean and we had a wonderful breakfast each morning we stayed.

This is a really great value option for those theme park trips

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for your positive review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Kenwood!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 216 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband & I had to have a couple of days in Stoke-On-Trent because of a family member being hospitalized there, & we were rushing around at the last minute trying to find somewhere. After reading the reviews, & the room was available, we decided to choose this one, & we certainly were not disappointed. We tried to get a basic en-suite room, but they were all spoken for, so we paid a little extra & booked the Executive double room, which had a very comfortable double bed, wardrobe & drawer space, large enough for a short break, & the décor was tastefully done as it was in the dining room as well. There was central heating, which was much appreciated. The room also had tea/coffee making facilities & they also supplied homemade biscuits which were delicious, it had a settee where we could chill out & watch the flat screen television, which was a Godsend as it was a bit of a hectic, stressful time. The bathroom had a shower over the bath, in a very clean, smart bathroom with toiletries provided, as well as a hairdryer. There were a choice of breakfasts from just cereals, yogurts, & fruit juices, with tea/coffee, to the full monty, & toast to follow. This was excellent value, & certainly set you up for the day. There are some car parking spaces, so there should be no problem for the drivers. Last but by no means least, hosts David & Julie were so friendly, & made us feel completely at home, which helps to make any break far more enjoyable. We would happily recommend this B&B/Guest House to anyone in the Stoke area. Thanks very much to them both. ENJOY!!

Room Tip: We did not see any of the other rooms, but imagine they are at the same high standard. Our room over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, it is always nice to know that what we are doing is appreciated by our guests! It was our pleasure to ensure your stay with us was an oasis of calm, given your personal circumstances, we trust all is now well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We just spent two nights in this wonderful guest house and our experience was great! In this beautiful house everything is so nice and cozy: the room we had (ground floor) was perfect, beautifully decorated and with all the amenities we may need and more (a fridge with bottled water, a kettle with tea, coffee and homemade cookies - i loved them:-)), a full bathroom with hairdrier, a big screen TV, free WIFI); the breakfast room....so lovely! And breakfast was so good and plentiful we had no lunch on both days. Most of products are homemade, such as preserves and porridge. Delicious!
David and Julie, the owners, run the house with true passion and they are more than happy to help and suggest.
Last but not least: the location is perfect, centrally located in Stoke and close to the train station. We had a car and the house has a private parking on the rear.
I can only add: thank you very much for a great stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betta-Milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

What a wonderful review, thank you so so much! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, it was lovely to meet you both and we hope all your Stoke on Trent pottery purchases will give you great pleasure for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

What a lovely couple that run this hotel. They couldn't have been more helpful and their mantra is that you're treated just like one of the family - and it really works.

The room was really nice and had everything you needed included homemade biscuits and complimentary bottles of water.

Breakfast was awesome. Lovely homemade jam and marmalade.

Great location for the Regent Theatre. It's 15 minute walk away - my advice is get a taxi back if its dark though - as part of the walk is through a fairly run down area.

Room Tip: We had the executive double en-suite which - from hear say at breakfast - is obviously the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jono2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! It was lovely to meet you both and we will look forward to your return when you next visit the Regent Theatre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Kenwood is more than a B&B- it feels like a home away from home. It's a beautiful place with its own well-maintained garden, cozy and very tidy rooms, a spectacular dining area with a wonderful decor, scrumptious breakfast on offer, and, best of all, wonderful, kind and attentive hosts in Julie and David who make you feel comfortable right from the start.
I was amazed by how the two of them alone manage the place so well, while at the same time ensuring that their customers feel like they're staying with family - the colorful hotel book placed in the room which gives a neat introduction to the hosts, to the guest house and its offerings, the city and nearby eatouts and places of interest is quite wonderful. Even the complimentary homemade biscuits were yummy!
I truly appreciate their holding my bag till check-in time as I arrived earlier than usual, and also all the help and advice Julie and David provided during my memorable stay there.
All the reviews praising this place are certainly true, but the stay and hospitality at Kenwood GH has to be experienced to be believed :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

What a lovely review, thank you so much! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure to meet you. Come back soon, you would be made most welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have stayed at many B&Bs all over the world in our travels. Kenwood is one of the best. It is friendly, very comfortable and the food and service are excellent. All food is locally sourced and genuinely home cooked. Breakfasts were as good as I have experienced in many five star hotels. In addition, the price of a double room was very competitive.

David & Julie Creasey were our hosts and they are to be congratulated on their really impressive service. They run Kenwood with passion and considerable charm.

Room Tip: The hotel is on quite a busy road. It is well soundproofed but poor sleepers might wish for a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GordonCMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you both for your wonderful review, we are truly humbled by your kind words - to be compared to, and indeed rated on a level with that of many five star hotels and amongst the best B&B's across the world, is a huge compliment for two B&B newbies!

We are sorry you felt it necessary to drop a point for both location and sleep quality (because of the location?). You are right to point out however that the double glazing throughout the property does block out the majority of the traffic noise - What more can we do? We are a city B&B, we are powerless in regards to where our business is located - in fact others have commented on our great location as we are convenient for the railway station, the Regent Theatre, university, hospital, all pottery attractions and Alton Towers - if we were located in the countryside we wouldn't have a business or any guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Delightful hosts for whom nothing was a problem, had a slight problem on the first night which was quickly dealt with and apologized for. Plenty to choose from at breakfast with lovely homemade jams which i wanted to take home with me. Room was clean and spacious, bed was lovely and comfortable. Excellent location only fifteen/twenty minutes from the train station and close to the town centre.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivivixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for your positive review, we are delighted you both enjoyed your stay with us! It was a pleasure to meet you and we will look forward to your return very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stoke-on-Trent hotels
2.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
281 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenwood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenwood Guesthouse

Address: 14, Stoke Road, Stoke-on-Trent, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range: $69 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kenwood Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenwood is a family run guesthouse and is a winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. Located on the A5006 easily accessible from the A500 which connects with both junctions 15 & 16 of the M6 motorway. Kenwood is within walking distance of Stoke Railway Station and Hanley, which is the city centre and in close proximity to Stoke-on-Trent College and Staffordshire University. Stoke-on-Trent, being home to the world's greatest and most respected pottery manufacturers, is steeped in history, having many Visitor Centre's, Ceramic Museums and Factory Shops. Potteries Visitor Centre's are nearby e.g.Emma Bridgewater, Wedgwood, Royal Doulton, and Wade.We offer six relaxing en-suite letting rooms, each with complimentary toiletries, fridge with complimentary bottled mineral water, courtesy tray to include Fairtrade tea, regular and decaf coffee and homebaked biscuits. There is a spacious dining room to enjoy our traditional English breakfast, freshly cooked to order using locally produced ingredients with a homemade vegetarian sausage option, an extensive cold buffet with a selection of fruit juices, cereals, pastries, yoghurt and fresh fruit. The guesthouse benefits from a secure, CCTV monitored car park at the rear and there is a bus stop immediately outside. There is a wide range of shops, restaurants and takeaways close by and is located close to popular attractions such as Hanley Park, the Brittannia Football Stadium, the Regent Theatre, the Cultural Quarter and Waterworld, UK's No 1 indoor tropical Aqua Park. The world famous Alton Towers theme park is only 13 miles away. A WARM WELCOME AWAITS YOU..... Check in: 4.00pm - 9.00pm Check out: 10.00am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kenwood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing