We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kenwood Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kenwood Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 19 Stoke-on-Trent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have now stayed at the Kenwood Guest House on four occasions - the latest (for two nights) with the new owners, Julie and David, who were excellent hosts. I had requested a double room which was spacious, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. There was plenty of choice for breakfast - fresh fruit, pastries, yoghurt, cooked breakfast (by David), all served by Julie who was very, very friendly and easy to talk to. Both David and Julie were perfect hosts and I would have no hesitation staying there again. Thoroughly recommend it!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalinaS297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review, we are pleased your enjoyed your stay with us! It was our pleasure to welcome you to the Kenwood and will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    21
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
89
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a lovely B&B! Julie and David were perfect hosts - nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable with all the facilities you need when staying away for a night. Breakfast was amazing - freshly cooked to order by David and served to us by his lovely wife Julie who was attentive but not intrusive. We had to go to Manchester Airport that morning which was just a short easy drive away so very convenient. Will definitely stay at the Kenwood again when we are next in the area. Thanks Julie and David for making the start of our holiday perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebAndyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! It was our absolute pleasure to ensure your pre-holiday stopover was comfortable, relaxing and, above all, completely stressfree. We hope you had a wonderful time on the beautiful Greek island of Kefalonia. We will look forward to your return to the Kenwood very soon when you are next in the area to explore the world famous Potteries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

My experience at Kenwood House was simply refreshing with the owners very keen to ensure every part of my stay was excellent. Access to the car parking at the rear was easy and the Guest House is well located away from the centre. There is a delightful Indian Restaurant a few moments walk up the road - recommended by one of the owners.

I went for the budget single room that was compact, clean and modern on all fronts. At a rate of £35 per night I had all the modern cons including a small fridge, TV and kettle. Owners provided a warm welcome on arrival and looked after me in the morning with a hearty breakfast. A refreshing change from the chain hotels.

I look forward to coming back next time we have another event in Stoke. I would certainly recommend people I know to come to you as a result of this experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ripleytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, it is always nice to know that what we are doing is appreciated by our guests! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Kenwood very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I spent just one night at the Kenwood Guest House in the care of David & Julie Creasey.
David quietly but warmly and courteously welcomes you to their guest house and shows you all the facilities in your room which include tv, tea & coffee with gorgeous home-made cookies, en-suite with toiletries & HOT towel rail, free wi-fi and beautiful furnishings.
Everywhere is spotlessly clean and well presented.
After a peaceful night's sleep, in a single room (room 3) overlooking the guest house's small, private car park (with cctv) I was welcomed to the dining room by Julie for a delicious breakfast.
I chose fresh fruit salad which included pineapple, mango & a variety of melons, coffee (lovely flavour), cranberry juice, toast & marmalade and a full English breakfast but there were also croissant, petit pain, yoghurt, bread rolls, cereals and vegetarian cooked breakfast.
I was awkward, instead of the standard menu I chose bacon with poached egg, mushrooms and vegetarian sausage. The latter was stunning! It's David's own recipe and totally unlike the bland, dull veggie sausages you normally get. I could happily order his on line if he should choose to add a new line of business!
The guest house is well situated not far from the town centre, the railway station and it is opposite Hanley Park which is large, beautiful and popular.
If I am ever to stay in Stoke again, I would rather stay here and have exceptional value for money than stay in an hotel.
Thank you David and Julie.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are apparently quieter because the road out front can be busy but if rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevG164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Wow! We are truly humbled at such a wonderful review, thank you so, so much! We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always nice to know that what we are doing is appreciated by our guests. It was our absolute pleasure to meet you, please pass on our congratulations for your son's graduation, we wish him well for the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed there Saturday (room 5). Our experience can be described with one word "perfection."

The location was great. David was courteous, attentive and friendly but never "in your face." The room was clear and very tidy. Being on the ground floor I was worried it may be noisy but it was surprisingly quiet. The breakfast was also fantastic. We particularly enjoyed the cookies and chilled water in the fridge.

We will find a reason to go back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omdumond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it is really appreciated! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and will look forward to your reurn very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Kenwood guesthouse is lovely. We stayed 2 nights, arriving late on first night around 8pm. Check-in was a breeze. David was very welcoming and friendly, and helped with our enquiries on supermarkets, places to eat, as well as the timing of the bus to Alton Towers. We had the family room, which was huge, with a queen bed and 2 singles in an adjoining room for my daughters. Clean and well kept. Nice touches include complimentary bottles of water in the fridge, heated towel racks, welcome tray with delicious home baked cookies! David provided us a map of Alton Towers so that we can plan our visit the next day. Short walk from the guesthouse to the bus stop outside train station for the bus ride to Alton Towers. Great breakfast. Great recommendation from David for Mirchi - enjoyed the food tremendously. Julie and David are great hosts! Very welcoming and warm people. Would definitely recommend staying here to those going to Alton Towers or the potteries.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! It was our absolute pleasure meeting you all, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Loved my stay at the Kenwood GuestHouse -Close to the Train Station & many Restaurants-We arrived late, for check in,but were greeted warmly, bags carried up to our room & a lovely treat of mince pies & wine in our room, tis was the festive season- beautifully decorated for Christmas too Breaky was Brilliant - A big Thank-you to the lovely owners - would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jul244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
What a lovely surprise! Thank you for your kind words (and for taking that last review off the top of the page - it is very much appreciated!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenwood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenwood Guesthouse

Property: Kenwood Guesthouse
Address: 14, Stoke Road, Stoke-on-Trent, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kenwood Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenwood is a family run guesthouse and is a winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. Located on the A5006 easily accessible from the A500 which connects with both junctions 15 & 16 of the M6 motorway. Kenwood is within walking distance of Stoke Railway Station and Hanley, which is the city centre and in close proximity to Stoke-on-Trent College and Staffordshire University. Stoke-on-Trent, being home to the world's greatest and most respected pottery manufacturers, is steeped in history, having many Visitor Centre's, Ceramic Museums and Factory Shops. Potteries Visitor Centre's are nearby e.g.Emma Bridgewater, Wedgwood, Royal Doulton, and Wade.We offer six relaxing en-suite letting rooms, each with complimentary toiletries, fridge with complimentary bottled mineral water, courtesy tray to include Fairtrade tea, regular and decaf coffee and homebaked biscuits. There is a spacious dining room to enjoy our traditional English breakfast, freshly cooked to order using locally produced ingredients with a homemade vegetarian sausage option, an extensive cold buffet with a selection of fruit juices, cereals, pastries, yoghurt and fresh fruit. The guesthouse benefits from a secure, CCTV monitored car park at the rear and there is a bus stop immediately outside. There is a wide range of shops, restaurants and takeaways close by and is located close to popular attractions such as Hanley Park, the Brittannia Football Stadium, the Regent Theatre, the Cultural Quarter and Waterworld, UK's No 1 indoor tropical Aqua Park. The world famous Alton Towers theme park is only 13 miles away. A WARM WELCOME AWAITS YOU..... Check in: 4.00pm - 9.00pm Check out: 10.00am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Kenwood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing