We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of a B&B”
Review of Kenwood Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kenwood Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 17 Stoke-on-Trent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gem of a B&B”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a lovely B&B! Julie and David were perfect hosts - nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable with all the facilities you need when staying away for a night. Breakfast was amazing - freshly cooked to order by David and served to us by his lovely wife Julie who was attentive but not intrusive. We had to go to Manchester Airport that morning which was just a short easy drive away so very convenient. Will definitely stay at the Kenwood again when we are next in the area. Thanks Julie and David for making the start of our holiday perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebAndyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! It was our absolute pleasure to ensure your pre-holiday stopover was comfortable, relaxing and, above all, completely stressfree. We hope you had a wonderful time on the beautiful Greek island of Kefalonia. We will look forward to your return to the Kenwood very soon when you are next in the area to explore the world famous Potteries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    21
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
89
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My experience at Kenwood House was simply refreshing with the owners very keen to ensure every part of my stay was excellent. Access to the car parking at the rear was easy and the Guest House is well located away from the centre. There is a delightful Indian Restaurant a few moments walk up the road - recommended by one of the owners.

I went for the budget single room that was compact, clean and modern on all fronts. At a rate of £35 per night I had all the modern cons including a small fridge, TV and kettle. Owners provided a warm welcome on arrival and looked after me in the morning with a hearty breakfast. A refreshing change from the chain hotels.

I look forward to coming back next time we have another event in Stoke. I would certainly recommend people I know to come to you as a result of this experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ripleytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, it is always nice to know that what we are doing is appreciated by our guests! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Kenwood very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I spent just one night at the Kenwood Guest House in the care of David & Julie Creasey.
David quietly but warmly and courteously welcomes you to their guest house and shows you all the facilities in your room which include tv, tea & coffee with gorgeous home-made cookies, en-suite with toiletries & HOT towel rail, free wi-fi and beautiful furnishings.
Everywhere is spotlessly clean and well presented.
After a peaceful night's sleep, in a single room (room 3) overlooking the guest house's small, private car park (with cctv) I was welcomed to the dining room by Julie for a delicious breakfast.
I chose fresh fruit salad which included pineapple, mango & a variety of melons, coffee (lovely flavour), cranberry juice, toast & marmalade and a full English breakfast but there were also croissant, petit pain, yoghurt, bread rolls, cereals and vegetarian cooked breakfast.
I was awkward, instead of the standard menu I chose bacon with poached egg, mushrooms and vegetarian sausage. The latter was stunning! It's David's own recipe and totally unlike the bland, dull veggie sausages you normally get. I could happily order his on line if he should choose to add a new line of business!
The guest house is well situated not far from the town centre, the railway station and it is opposite Hanley Park which is large, beautiful and popular.
If I am ever to stay in Stoke again, I would rather stay here and have exceptional value for money than stay in an hotel.
Thank you David and Julie.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are apparently quieter because the road out front can be busy but if rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevG164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Wow! We are truly humbled at such a wonderful review, thank you so, so much! We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always nice to know that what we are doing is appreciated by our guests. It was our absolute pleasure to meet you, please pass on our congratulations for your son's graduation, we wish him well for the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed there Saturday (room 5). Our experience can be described with one word "perfection."

The location was great. David was courteous, attentive and friendly but never "in your face." The room was clear and very tidy. Being on the ground floor I was worried it may be noisy but it was surprisingly quiet. The breakfast was also fantastic. We particularly enjoyed the cookies and chilled water in the fridge.

We will find a reason to go back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omdumond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it is really appreciated! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and will look forward to your reurn very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Kenwood guesthouse is lovely. We stayed 2 nights, arriving late on first night around 8pm. Check-in was a breeze. David was very welcoming and friendly, and helped with our enquiries on supermarkets, places to eat, as well as the timing of the bus to Alton Towers. We had the family room, which was huge, with a queen bed and 2 singles in an adjoining room for my daughters. Clean and well kept. Nice touches include complimentary bottles of water in the fridge, heated towel racks, welcome tray with delicious home baked cookies! David provided us a map of Alton Towers so that we can plan our visit the next day. Short walk from the guesthouse to the bus stop outside train station for the bus ride to Alton Towers. Great breakfast. Great recommendation from David for Mirchi - enjoyed the food tremendously. Julie and David are great hosts! Very welcoming and warm people. Would definitely recommend staying here to those going to Alton Towers or the potteries.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! It was our absolute pleasure meeting you all, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Loved my stay at the Kenwood GuestHouse -Close to the Train Station & many Restaurants-We arrived late, for check in,but were greeted warmly, bags carried up to our room & a lovely treat of mince pies & wine in our room, tis was the festive season- beautifully decorated for Christmas too Breaky was Brilliant - A big Thank-you to the lovely owners - would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jul244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
What a lovely surprise! Thank you for your kind words (and for taking that last review off the top of the page - it is very much appreciated!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Most places offer you help whenever issues arise, but this place didn't at all. I had arranged to have 3 packages delivered to this place for a future date I had booked. One package contained a passport and we had talked over the phone about this. What did the hosts do when they received the packages? They returned the items back to sender! -_- It shouldn't matter that the packages came from a different COUNTRY, but the point is these people knew I booked the place for the future date and would eventually pick up the packages when I arrive...and another issue when I was checking out, I was going somewhere for the day and asked if I can leave my a piece of luggage there and pick it up later...they came up with an excuse just to avoid my presence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monster J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Four weeks before you were due to check-in - you telephoned our Guesthouse requesting our cheapest room without breakfast, you gave your name and a mobile number. You DID NOT mention at this time, we should expect a parcel addressed to you. If you had told us of your intentions we would have informed you that we could not accept a parcel on your behalf at this address because we didn't know you and you do not live here.

Three weeks before you were do to check-in - A parcel arrived, addressed to you c/o the Kenwood Guesthouse. Upon the advice of the FedEx delivery man, because you didn't live here and we didn't know you, FedEx retrieved the parcel. We telephoned you immediately and informed you we were not happy receiving post on your behalf as we did not know you.

Two weeks before you were due to check-in - Two registered letters arrived, upon the advice of the Post Office, we decided against signing for them and refused to accept them at the door. We telephoned you immediately but you failed to answer the number you had given us, we left several messages informing you we were not happy receiving any mail on your behalf because we did not know you and you do not live at this address.

One week before you were due to check-in - We telephoned the number you had given us on several occasions requesting you call us but we heard nothing from you. Upon the advice on the Post Office we contacted Staffordshire Police, who filed an incident report and also tried the number you had given us but to no avail. They asked us to inform them immediately if you arrived to check-in.

Day of check-in - You had been informed that check-in was between 4pm-9pm, however you turned up unannounced at 9am. We refused you entry as your room was still occupied and we do not have a secure place to hold luggage.

You checked-in at 3pm - Staffordshire Police arrived and interviewed you at length in your room. They ran checks to verify your identity. You informed them you were travelling the world and was leaving the UK in two days time. After approx two hours of questioning, they were eventually satisfied you were telling the truth!

Day of check-out - You wanted us to hold your luggage for the day while you went to Alton Towers. We informed you we would be out for the day and couldn't guarantee we would be back for you to collect your luggage. At no point during your stay did you ask if you could leave your luggage, we would then have been able to inform you that we had already arranged to visit family that day and would be out. It should be noted, we are a small, family run B&B, it would be impossible to have someone on site at all times. We need to be away from the business to run errands, attend appointments, grocery shopping, etc.

Lastly, it should be noted that we acted upon the advice of several professional bodies, including the British Police Force. WE DID NOT KNOW YOU OR WHAT YOUR BUSINESS WAS IN THIS COUNTRY. All we had was a brief conversation with you when you initially booked the room, no other communication took place because you didn't answer our calls. No one should ever accept packages into their home if the recipent in unknown to them!

This is our home as well as our business and we have a responsibilty to provide our guests with a safe environment in which to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenwood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenwood Guesthouse

Property: Kenwood Guesthouse
Address: 14, Stoke Road, Stoke-on-Trent, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kenwood Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenwood is a family run guesthouse and is a winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. Located on the A5006 easily accessible from the A500 which connects with both junctions 15 & 16 of the M6 motorway. Kenwood is within walking distance of Stoke Railway Station and Hanley, which is the city centre and in close proximity to Stoke-on-Trent College and Staffordshire University. Stoke-on-Trent, being home to the world's greatest and most respected pottery manufacturers, is steeped in history, having many Visitor Centre's, Ceramic Museums and Factory Shops. Potteries Visitor Centre's are nearby e.g.Emma Bridgewater, Wedgwood, Royal Doulton, and Wade.We offer six relaxing en-suite letting rooms, each with complimentary toiletries, fridge with complimentary bottled mineral water, courtesy tray to include Fairtrade tea, regular and decaf coffee and homebaked biscuits. There is a spacious dining room to enjoy our traditional English breakfast, freshly cooked to order using locally produced ingredients with a homemade vegetarian sausage option, an extensive cold buffet with a selection of fruit juices, cereals, pastries, yoghurt and fresh fruit. The guesthouse benefits from a secure, CCTV monitored car park at the rear and there is a bus stop immediately outside. There is a wide range of shops, restaurants and takeaways close by and is located close to popular attractions such as Hanley Park, the Brittannia Football Stadium, the Regent Theatre, the Cultural Quarter and Waterworld, UK's No 1 indoor tropical Aqua Park. The world famous Alton Towers theme park is only 13 miles away. A WARM WELCOME AWAITS YOU..... Check in: 4.00pm - 9.00pm Check out: 10.00am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Kenwood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing