We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenwood Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kenwood Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 20 Stoke-on-Trent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Due to my partners work, we stay in hotels at least once a month, so have a pretty balanced view of what makes for good accommodation. The moment we walked in, we were made so welcome by David and Julie, it was like home from home. Good sized room, space to study, comfy bed, clean bathroom with lovely soft towels, and lots of little extra touches that you normally only find in 4* hotels. My partner had to start work early the next morning before breakfast time, but David got up extra early and cooked breakfast just for him, which my partner really appreciated. If we ever come over to Stoke again, we will certainly look to rebook. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! It was lovely to meet you both and we hope to welcome you back to the Kenwood in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    20
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
89
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Kenwood Guest House over the Grand National weekend and really enjoyed our stay. David and Julie are the nicest people I've met in England and the whole establishment is remarkably charming, from the kindness of the hosts, to the little things like an introduction booklet you find in your room about the place, and the hosts. The breakfast was DELICIOUS, as it was freshly cooked. I, myself am a proud carnivore, but I definitely recommend trying the vegetarian breakfast option! The rooms were very clean, there were more amenities and complimentary items in the room than the 4 star hotel we stayed at in London. There's free parking in the rear, if you're arriving late, they actually wait up for you! (Thanks David). There isn't a negative thing to be said about the place, and I really do hope people choose the Kenwood Guest House and can have a great insight into the English hospitality my girlfriend and I received. All the best David and Julie!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emil1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! We are genuinely touched by your kind words. It is always nice to know that what we are doing is appreciated by our guests! It was our absolute pleasure meeting you both and we very much hope you will come back to see us again if you visit the UK in the future. (Hope you enjoyed the match, even if you didn't actually see any goals - it's only a game!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
192 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The location of Kenwood is not the best being right on a main road and opposite to the college but the warm welcome, safe parking and quality of the food provided make up for this. The single room I used was reasonably proportioned though the en-suite would have given problems to anyone with a little more weight on them! (I am 6 feet tall and weigh in at 73 kg so reasonably slim.) Breakfast was superb, high quality, locally sourced food beautifully cooked.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for your positive review, it is really appreciated. It should be noted that your comments in regards to the location and the size of the single room/en-suite are things we simply cannot change or alter. If a guest contacts us and requests a single room, then we assume that's what they want! What is lovely to hear however, is the things we are doing well in, which is to provide our guests with a warm, welcoming, comfortable, clean, affordable and enjoyable 'home from home' stay, then we are satisfied we are doing it right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here recently and have to say they have got it sussed. They are very welcoming - very competent, know what they are doing and just have things done in a very proper way.

Nice little touches that give the place a hotel feel, biscuits, fridge, toiletries. I would say this is like staying in a 4* hotel - the breakfast is also very high quality - there is cooked breakfast which is huge and grilled, not fried or greasy. You can have cereals, fresh fruit, juice, tea, coffee, pastries - quite frankly, it is magnificent - all included in an incredible good value for money price - we paid £60 B&B - I would expect to pay £90 in a hotel of similar (4* calibre).

Great value - would definately use again.

If I am being mega picky then I would pick a different room next time as we had the one by the main front door and people coming in or talking outside (other guests) smoking were noisy - can't blame the owners for that...

...and the bed- it was a VERY soft mattress which doesn't suit me at all so sleep was an issue - others love the feel of sinkinginto a bed - so its just personal choice - again, wouldn't knock the owners for this - so its 5* for me...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andystone99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for such positive feedback, it's always nice to know that what we are doing is appreciated by our guests! We can only apologise if you found other guests alittle noisy when going outside to smoke, but as you rightly say, this is largely out of our control so it was kind of you not to hold this against us! When you are next in the area, please contact us directly and we will do our upmost to ensure a double room on the 1st floor is available for you.

We are sorry to learn of your dislike in regards to your mattress, it is a high quality 'memory foam' mattress and is designed to support the whole body whilst you sleep, but as you say, it's a personal preference so again, thank you for not holding this against us. It should be noted, we have only been in the premises for 4 months and inherited the furniture from the previous owner. We plan to refurbish throughout over the coming months, but you can appreciate this will take alittle time, so please bare with us.

It was lovely to meet you both, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Kenwood in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Considering the owners are new, the Warm welcome we received was appreciated. Lovely homely touches in room that I appreciated I.e cushions, hospitality tray and a mini boxs of chocs as it was valentines day. Shampoo conditioner and soap provided with towels. Shower head is very small and points to left so was a little tricky and either boiling hot and with slight tap extremely cold but nether the less I showered and used the built in hair dryer.... it all worked it was all clean and did the job. Breakfast was first class and again hosts attentive and Warm... They informed us of their future plans and we can't wait to come back in the future to see them! Thank you x

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carysnleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It is really nice to know all the little touches we provide are appreciated! We are sorry to learn you had abit of trouble with the shower though. Upon investigation, it seems the water flow increases when the shower head is loosened slightly! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kenwood in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Small car park, nice welcome. Room 3 , small single with a small en-suite (sit on the loo while brushing your teeth in the sink and rinse your feet in the shower all at the same time small) very clean room. Bed was shocking, the worst nights sleep I've had in ages, woke up with a stiff neck. ( new bed is a must) the breakfast room is immaculate with plenty to choose from. I didn't have a cooked breakfast, but had toast ( good quality bread, other establishments take note) all in all this place is nice, but I was let down by the bed, which is the main factor in a hotel,bed & breakfast, guest house.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Saywhatisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We can only apologise for your discomfort during your stay, your negative comments have shocked and surprised us! It should be noted however, the size of the room is reflected in the price paid. Your booking for a single room was made through a third party, this sometimes makes it difficult for us to match our guest's requirements. If you had mentioned your concerns, we would have been more than happy to move you to an alternative, larger room.

We have only been in the premises for 3 months and have indeed earmarked all bedrooms to be refurbished, but you can appreciate this will take alittle time. That particular room has been a firm favourite with repeat guests. Also, a guest who stayed in that room on a long term basis, couldn't fault it and in fact gave us excellent feedback on here!

We thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Kenwood Guest House - fantastic, magnifique, magnifico!!!!

My wife and I booked this after reading Trip Advisor's No.2 rating.....It should be upgraded to No.1 with immediate effect. We had never been to Stoke and had a long drive from London and when we arrived we were met by David, a lovely man, who showed us to an even lovelier room. Clean, tidy, comfy bed, all mod-cons the lot.

Breakfast.......well what can I say, absolutely amazing, all freshly cooked by Julie (David's lovely wife); not like these big hotels where its sitting there for hours on end.

If you are visiting Stoke, stay here ....no other B&B nor Hotel will outshine this, I promise.

We are already staying here in the summer when we bring our son up to Alton Towers, it is that good............

One last thing, I don't know if I mentioned the word FANTASTIC before ;-D

Room Tip: Rooms are all wonderful ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Wow, what a wonderful review! Thank you so much for your positive comments. It was our absolute pleasure in welcoming you both to the Kenwood and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look forward to your return this Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.5 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenwood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenwood Guesthouse

Property: Kenwood Guesthouse
Address: 14, Stoke Road, Stoke-on-Trent, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kenwood Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenwood is a family run guesthouse and is a winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. Located on the A5006 easily accessible from the A500 which connects with both junctions 15 & 16 of the M6 motorway. Kenwood is within walking distance of Stoke Railway Station and Hanley, which is the city centre and in close proximity to Stoke-on-Trent College and Staffordshire University. Stoke-on-Trent, being home to the world's greatest and most respected pottery manufacturers, is steeped in history, having many Visitor Centre's, Ceramic Museums and Factory Shops. Potteries Visitor Centre's are nearby e.g.Emma Bridgewater, Wedgwood, Royal Doulton, and Wade.We offer six relaxing en-suite letting rooms, each with complimentary toiletries, fridge with complimentary bottled mineral water, courtesy tray to include Fairtrade tea, regular and decaf coffee and homebaked biscuits. There is a spacious dining room to enjoy our traditional English breakfast, freshly cooked to order using locally produced ingredients with a homemade vegetarian sausage option, an extensive cold buffet with a selection of fruit juices, cereals, pastries, yoghurt and fresh fruit. The guesthouse benefits from a secure, CCTV monitored car park at the rear and there is a bus stop immediately outside. There is a wide range of shops, restaurants and takeaways close by and is located close to popular attractions such as Hanley Park, the Brittannia Football Stadium, the Regent Theatre, the Cultural Quarter and Waterworld, UK's No 1 indoor tropical Aqua Park. The world famous Alton Towers theme park is only 13 miles away. A WARM WELCOME AWAITS YOU..... Check in: 4.00pm - 9.00pm Check out: 10.00am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Kenwood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing