We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm comfortable and very clean.”
Review of Kenwood Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kenwood Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 17 Stoke-on-Trent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have been using this Guest House for my work accomodation over the past 3 months, my experiences here have been top class, The owners have been exceptionaly co operative to meet my needs....
The room I have used is very clean, warm and comfortable and I would thoroughly recommend the 'Kenwood Guest House' to every one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, especially as we were B&B newbies at the beginning of your stay back in November! It was our pleasure to provide a warm 'home from home' wecolme during your time here. To us, Room 3 will be forever known as your room! We both send our best wishes for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Kenwood Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 214 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Spent two nights at this guest house. New owners Julie & David were amazingly warm and welcoming, completely gracious and nothing was too much trouble. Coupled with fabulous home cooked breakfast, made staying there an absolute delight and probably my favourite accommodation in the 3 weeks in the UK. Well done David & Julie, keep it up!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bronwyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it is very much appreciated. To be told we were your favourite accommodation in the 3 weeks you were in the UK has to be the best review in the history of all reviews of all time!! It was an absolute pleasure meeting you both, we hope the rest of the tour was a great success and if you ever find yourselves back in the UK again, we can recommend a certain little B&B in Stoke-on-Trent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had to urgently find a place to stay near to Stoke hospital - although officially closed for Xmas this B&B went out of their way to look after us - really brilliant - nothing was too much trouble - the room was quiet (all with en-suite) the place family and couple friendly and the break-fast - well that was worth staying here for on its own - Dave is a trained chef and it showed in the locally sourced and brilliantly presented food! Top notch easy to find and very very good. If we have to come up to visit Stoke again this will be the first place I check - really in a league of its own!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, it is very much appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kenwood if you ever find yourselves in Stoke on Trent in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here overnight at a weekend - was in town to see the Glyndebourne Tour at the Regent Theatre. Booked on-line the day before via their website, which was hassle-free. The B&B has recently been taken over by new owners (I think they had been there for about 3 weeks when I stayed), and they really couldn't do enough to make their guests feel welcome. The mince pie and glass of mulled wine on arrival (a special Christmas offer) was a particularly nice touch, but the home-made biscuits on the tea tray in the bedrooms, fridge with complimentary bottled water and decent quality toiletries were also more than I expected from a place in this price bracket. The rooms are large, with lovely high ceilings, decently furnished and effectively heated. I stayed in number 2 (a twin) which overlooks the road, but there was little traffic noise and the blackout lined curtains did their job against the street lighting. En-suite bathroom was clean, with the shower supplying nice hot water at a decent pressure. At breakfast there was an excellent selection of fruit juice, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals etc. plus a choice of cooked stuff including a full breakfast, scrambled eggs or porridge. All the hot food is prepared from fresh when you order. Coffee (the deal-breaker for me with hotel breakfasts) came nice and strong in a caffetiere. There is free parking for 5-6 cars behind the guest house, and our taxi into Hanley in the evening cost £4.

So overall, a real gem of a B&B - I will definitely stay again next time I have cause to visit Stoke-on-Trent

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1981_Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This B&B served us an excellent breakfast. The lady owner was very welcoming but is soon retiring and our room looked like some things were being left instead of being fixed. i.e. the hairdryer, the tub plug, mattresses and pillows need replacing. Maybe the new owners will deal with the issues. Otherwise it is a good B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here for one night for a night out in Hanley.

Parking is limited but i managed to park ok round the back of the property.

Met by the lovely lady owner. It was October and cold and the heating was on, lovely and warm when i entered. It felt like i was coming into her house, a nice cosy warm welcoming feeling.

The building and guesthouse has charm and character. An oldie feeling to it.

I booked a double bed room and was in room number 1 - to my amazement the room was HUGE with a double bed *massive* inside AND another single bed!

Plenty of tea and coffee making items, toiletries and a hairdryer. LCD TV which wasnt volume limited with was great! No breakfast included in the price which was £46 for one night *Saturday* still value for money!

The bathroom was huge, spotless and 4 huge bath towels PLUS hand towels! Everything was spotless in the room and small touches like a box of tissues on the bedside table was a good touch. Very well lit plenty of plugs and mirrors for getting ready!

Very quiet didnt hear a peep from any other guests and theres also a toilet in the hallway of the top floor which i thought again was a good facility to have.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a night out in Stoke or Hanley or a comfy business nights stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sljordan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 20th October for 1 night with my friend as we were going to see a show in hanley centre.

On arrival alyson came to the door to greet us and welcomed us in, as soon as we stepped into the place we were sweating - the place was far too warm which might not make some people uncomfortable but I don't like being hot and stuffy, it was over powering. We were given our key, told the wifi password and breakfast times - you can have breakfast up 9am - we chose 8.45am. We were in room 2 on the first floor which is a twin room. The room was adequately sized and very clean. My only criticism is that the pelmet above the curtains was very dusty but everywhere else was spotlessly clean. In the bathroom there were 4 complimentary bottles of shower gel / shampoo n conditioner (2 of each), there was air freshener in the bathroom which I thought was a nice touch as I don't think I've had an air freshener before in a hotel room. There's a modern looking fridge with cold water dispenser in the room which was great as we took a couple of mini bottles of wine with us and presumed we wild be drinking them warm so that was a nice touch

Breakfast
We had cereal - there was a good selection to choose from then we were asked if we wanted a full English breakfast. We had 2 bacon, 3 sausage, egg, beans (came on your plate in a little individual dish which looked nice), tomatoes (we were given a choice of fresh or tinned) and hash brown. We had 1 slice of brown toast each (didn't get a choice of white or brown or asked if we would like more but that was ok for us as we didn't want more - had I have been staying with my husband he would've liked more I'm sure! Maybe if you ask you can have more though). The bacon was really nice. It was butcher quality bacon and it was cooked properly not like cheap watery rubbish bacon you can sometimes be served.
At 10.08am Alyson knocked on our bedroom door to remind us that check out was 10am - we hadn't been told about the check out time - if we had we would've made sure we were ready in time but we were almost ready anyway so we gathered our things and left.
I would stay here again if there was a need to go to stoke on trent/hanley

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candacowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
539 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
2.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenwood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenwood Guesthouse

Address: 14, Stoke Road, Stoke-on-Trent, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range: $66 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kenwood Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenwood is a family run guesthouse and is a winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. Located on the A5006 easily accessible from the A500 which connects with both junctions 15 & 16 of the M6 motorway. Kenwood is within walking distance of Stoke Railway Station and Hanley, which is the city centre and in close proximity to Stoke-on-Trent College and Staffordshire University. Stoke-on-Trent, being home to the world's greatest and most respected pottery manufacturers, is steeped in history, having many Visitor Centre's, Ceramic Museums and Factory Shops. Potteries Visitor Centre's are nearby e.g.Emma Bridgewater, Wedgwood, Royal Doulton, and Wade.We offer six relaxing en-suite letting rooms, each with complimentary toiletries, fridge with complimentary bottled mineral water, courtesy tray to include Fairtrade tea, regular and decaf coffee and homebaked biscuits. There is a spacious dining room to enjoy our traditional English breakfast, freshly cooked to order using locally produced ingredients with a homemade vegetarian sausage option, an extensive cold buffet with a selection of fruit juices, cereals, pastries, yoghurt and fresh fruit. The guesthouse benefits from a secure, CCTV monitored car park at the rear and there is a bus stop immediately outside. There is a wide range of shops, restaurants and takeaways close by and is located close to popular attractions such as Hanley Park, the Brittannia Football Stadium, the Regent Theatre, the Cultural Quarter and Waterworld, UK's No 1 indoor tropical Aqua Park. The world famous Alton Towers theme park is only 13 miles away. A WARM WELCOME AWAITS YOU..... Check in: 4.00pm - 9.00pm Check out: 10.00am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kenwood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing