We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub with Pretensions”
Review of Noah's Ark

Noah's Ark
Ranked #138 of 538 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
almeria
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pub with Pretensions”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Car park belongs to council so pay and display! This place is expensive enough without getting a parking ticket! The food was appalling when I last visited, the fillet steak dish tasted of vinegar! (Supposed to be cooked in brandy and cream sauce!) It was tough and the only good thing there wasn't much of it. My friend had lamb and she wasn't very impressed with that either. The waitress was excellent, helpful, friendly and pleasing. She persuaded us to have dessert - the script writer is good but the pudding went down like a lead balloon. The bill was expensive and we felt ripped off and unhappy. I have eaten there before and the food was rather better, but still pretentiously priced and not actually up to the mark. After this experience I will not eat there again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank katpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    51
    45
    31
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice late lunch”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

we visted the Noah's Ark for a late lunch, the restaurant was quiet but i can not fult the staff they were attentive and prompt, the food was great. All in all a very pleasent experance.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie45Staffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, decent service.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We were a group of 6 adults visiting on a Sunday lunch time for a meal celebrating a 60th birthday.

There is a pay and display parking machine on the car park but on our visit it was out of order so there was no charge.

One member of our party is on a gluten free diet so the waiter spoke to the chef to ensure that the preferred options were okay.

We ordered a mixture of lamb and steak dishes, all of which were enjoyed and came with dishes of vegetables. The only slight complaint is that the mash was a little cold.

Desserts were great too with plenty of choice. Particular favourites being the apple crumble and key lime pie.

Each of us said we would definitely go back again.

Staff were polite without being too overbearing.

Definitely recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KLW_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“check your bill”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and i have visited the restaurant on a number of occasions and on our last two visits. the bill has been wrong. first time they added a bottle of house wine instead of glass. second time they added extra 8 pounds for food that i did not order. i would like to say that when we told staff at the till. they just altered bill, with no apology on both occasions. which i thought a little odd?. also the meals seem a little small now, which is a shame, just increase the price per meal. and get a bigger portion. May i just say the food and atmosphere at the noahs ark great. and the pianist that comes on a friday is excellent. i am just sorry that i felt i needed to air my experiences.
regards chris collins

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First Class Service & Food!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife, my neice and myself had a fantastic evening meal at Noah's Ark on Thursday night. It wasn't our first choice but it ended up being the best!

Not only were the staff very welcoming, polite and attentive but there was a lot to choose from and the food arrived hot and quickly. There was also extensive choice of seating and it was disabled friendly.

Yes, maybe it is a bind having to pay parking, but the overall experience made that a minor point and we would have no hesitation in recommending it as a first class place to eat and drink for both business and pleasure.

Well done and THANK YOU to all the staff involved ... and we WILL be back! ;-D

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fetishfemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noah's Ark also viewed

Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 

Been to Noah's Ark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing