We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family hotel for visiting Alton Towers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family hotel for visiting Alton Towers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked this for a family stay from which to visit Alton Towers. Room was huge and really comfortable, plenty of room for the four of us. We paid for breakfast and this was great with a large choice, also had soya milk when requested and decaf coffee. We did not eat there in the evenings but there is a Harvester a 5 minute walk away which was very busy but reasonably priced when feeding a family with all the usual favourites. Overall a great hotel from which to visit Alton Towers which was only a half hour drive away.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    458
    119
    62
    17
See reviews for
597
424
46
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have just experience my first stay in a Premier Inn. What a treat.! Everything was spotlessly clean and so comfortable and friendly. I would certainly recommend Trentham Gardens to anyone looking for accommodation in the Stoke area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just stayed here for 2 nights with husband and 12yr old son. Great hotel, spotlessly clean in all areas and staff were always pleasant, friendly and helpful. Great location with shops, garden centre , Frankie & Bennys all right next to hotel. Went to Alton Towers , reception staff organised taxi to take us to train station where you can get bus straight to Alton Towers (no hassle of driving and queues to park car at theme park!). Don't be put off with reviews re: glass door on bathroom it really isn't a big deal. Will definately book this hotel for our next trip to Alton Towers.

Room Tip: Rooms facing shopping village and car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Need to provide more towels and toiletries.. Car parking limited close to hotel. Layout of bathroom with separate wash basin does not afford privacy for family use. Holiday Inn Express better value and layout

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigfella78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at this Premier Inn. We were checked in quickly and found our room easily. Plenty of free parking in the large car park. The room was clean and large and the en-suite was very big with a great shower. The breakfast was first rate with plenty of options to choose from. We chose this Premier inn because it was only a 30 minute drive to Alton Towers and in the grounds of Trentham Gardens & Monkey Forest.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyStand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I just wanted to flag to potential visitors that the bathrooms in the hotel are very strange and you should be aware of before visiting. As others have mentioned the rooms are large however the bathrooms have been designed so that the sink is in the room. The door to the bathroom is frosted glass and has no lock, so the door swings open. In the bathroom there is a shower and toilet but no place to wash your hands or clean your teeth (as the sink is outside in the bedroom).

If someone is using the sink you can't open the bathroom door as it will hit the person standing by the sink. There are no towel holders by the sink so you end having to search for a towel or put the towel on the side of the sink. I'm not sure who thought this design was a good idea but I can't believe they tested the design beforehand. It just doesn't work. Hotel bathrooms should feel pleasant but these are to be endured.

I really don't get the frosted door for the bathroom, who wants to share the toilet experience, even if you're married and I hated not having a sink in the toilet - it just unhygenic.

The rooms however are large and spacious.

I've visited lots of Premier inns and sadly the staff here were the least attentive. We tried to get a reservation for dinner, when checking in, but the staff were pretty unhelpful. Similarly at breakfast we found tables were not cleared, despite staff being available.

We had planned on staying an extra night but checked out early.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monks999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Good hotel, close to major road links.
Pretty standard premier inn quality.
Breakfast was a little expensive but children are free.
Slight disappointed with baby facilities, no bath in room which I would have liked to know at booking stage plus the travel cot had a very thin mattress on it. However we did have a family room so were able to use the duvet off the single bed to pad out the cot.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank heronhill62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stoke-on-Trent hotels
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Address: Trentham Gardens Stone Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 8JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 119 bedroom $10 million hotel is based within the 650 acre Trentham Estate. Family rooms, access rooms and double rooms are available for all business and leisure guests. All rooms are onsuite with Coffee and Tea making facilities, Hairdryers, Lcd Tv with freeview and air conditioning. Costa Coffe is available within the bar lounge and the Barest restaurant serves great value contemporary food. The Trentham Estate hosts a 60 outlet retail village, Italian Gardens, Garden centre,Monkey Forest, Church, and 650 acres of Woodland walks. Alton Towers , Wedgewood and Waterworld are great family attractions within close proximity to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Stoke (Trentham Gardens) Hotel Stoke-On-Trent
Premier Inn Trentham Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing