We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Le Coq

Bistro Le Coq
Ranked #28 of 234 Restaurants in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
staffordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Only found this place through buying a living social voucher and so glad I did. This is by far the best restaurant I have been to in a long while. Staff were very attentive, food was excellent, good choice menu and a lovely house red. What more do you need? Had a lovely evening in very pleasant surroundings with a great atmosphere and can't wait to return. This is a well above average restaurant serving excellent food. It's a little out in the sticks but well worth the drive. I would have been happy to pay full price for the meal had I not had a voucher. Costs a little more than your average pub meal but worth every penny. I fully recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shirley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    69
    35
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norton Canes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Its well woth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Has a varied and interesting menu and the food was superb, Great ambiance and service. A little expensive but you can't expect this standard on the cheap

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1949Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valbonne, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We came (from France) to celebrate our son's birthday. The food was very good. We would nevertheless wish there was bread with the meal (in France a meal without bread is not a meal!).
A few spelling mistakes to be corrected on the menu: 'Hors d'oeuvre' instead of 'Hors d'ouvre',
'Assiette d'olives' inst. of 'de olives', saucisse d'Alsace' inst. of 'de Alsace' and 'Filets de porc aux poires' inst. of 'poire'.
The athmosphere was nice. We'll come back if we have the opportunity.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath-JG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“11 out of 10 ;-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Le Coq is everything a food lover could ask for & more.have since treated my parents to a meal & will be returning very soon with a party of friends.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHNNIESStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent, well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Wonderful menu choices, amazing food, wine and service. Not far from Stafford, Rugely or Uttoxeter and very well worth the visit. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Le Coq also viewed

Stafford, Staffordshire
Acton Trussell, Stafford
 
Stafford, Staffordshire
 

Been to Bistro Le Coq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing