We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very overated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Essence of the Orient

Essence of the Orient
Ranked #105 of 234 Restaurants in Stafford
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stafford
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very overated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Slow service, average food and very expensive. A friend really liked the look of this, so even though Chinese isn't my favourite we went - all of us were disappointed. Small portions, incredibly slow service and for a chinese very expensive.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tranmeregirlie1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    25
    17
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“the best chinese in a long while”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

this was the best chinese meal i have had in a long while,the welcome from the very engaging staff was a taste of things to come the meal was tasty ,hot and the staff made every effort to accomodate the wishes of the group i was with in providing us with a sharing menu that we could all dip into, I will return to eat here on my next visit and would recommend a visit to any chinese food lover

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank D-J-L527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We went to Essence of the orient on a Thursday night, it was a little quiet in there but that didnt let it down. The food was of a great standard and well cooked. The duck main course was delicious!! The staff are polite and helpful and the owners always make the effort to chat to their customers. A great night out as always!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tastydining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Good Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We visit here often and have never been disappointed with the food which is always of a high standard. Staff are friendly and efficient, the owners themselves work in the restaurant and are always very wellcoming. Would recommend a visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I have visited the Essence of the Orient a number of times over the years and always had a good meal. We always end up with a banquet as they look so lovey and we love the duck and pancakes. The service is always exceptional and you are never rushed through your courses. They do 'business' lunches which are very reasonable too. I would advise booking as it is generally busy, it is more expensive than other chinese resturants in the area but they are 'eat as much as you can' canteen style eateries, where as at the Essence you will recieve freshly cooked food and great service.
The car park at Sainsburys is adjacent to the resturant which is pay as you go but is big so no issues for parking.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sassyknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essence of the Orient also viewed

Stafford, Staffordshire
 
Stafford, Staffordshire
 

Been to Essence of the Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing