We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Restaurant”

Essence of the Orient
Ranked #96 of 238 Restaurants in Stafford
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Good Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We visit here often and have never been disappointed with the food which is always of a high standard. Staff are friendly and efficient, the owners themselves work in the restaurant and are always very wellcoming. Would recommend a visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    25
    17
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I have visited the Essence of the Orient a number of times over the years and always had a good meal. We always end up with a banquet as they look so lovey and we love the duck and pancakes. The service is always exceptional and you are never rushed through your courses. They do 'business' lunches which are very reasonable too. I would advise booking as it is generally busy, it is more expensive than other chinese resturants in the area but they are 'eat as much as you can' canteen style eateries, where as at the Essence you will recieve freshly cooked food and great service.
The car park at Sainsburys is adjacent to the resturant which is pay as you go but is big so no issues for parking.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sassyknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Good food and service however in desperate need of a pick of paint. The whole restaurant looks tired and in need of upgrading.

Staff are very attentive and coupled with the quality of the food make up for its failings however would rush back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank postcard_from
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Always had a good meal here, staff are very friendly and always willing to help should you need anything.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Chinese Meals with Smiles thrown in for Free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

My wife and I visited this restuarant on the 10th March (after we eventually found somewhere to park, namely Sainsbury's Car Park, adjacent to the resturant). We had their 'Buffet A' and the content of the meal was excellent at £15.00 per head. The restuarant was very busy and obviously a popular venue for loc als. The atmosphere was lively and very friendly and the staff were full of smiles and helpful efficiency throughout our meal. A very enjoyable experience. We have no hesitation in recommending this to you all.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essence of the Orient also viewed

Stafford, Staffordshire
 
Stafford, Staffordshire
 
Stafford, Staffordshire
Stafford, Staffordshire
 

Been to Essence of the Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing