We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and grubby”
Review of Vine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vine Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tired and grubby”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Marstons need to sort their act out with this establishment, very tired and dated, the receptionist was the breakfast chef, and the coffee is horrendous at breakfast time. The room above me had creaky floor boards and every step could be heard. For the price they charge I would try the Swan, also in the town centre.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    51
    48
    35
    28
See reviews for
31
67
15
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I am giving 2/5 partly because I blame myself for not reading reviews here first, before booking for a meal. At first, I was confused which entrance door to use, then upon entering, I had no idea where to go. I was looking around & people sitting at the tables could see I was confused. I found the bar but still no staff. Finally got served & ordered drinks while I tried to suss out for signage, then I asked the women at the bar who to see or where to be seated & she disappeared for a while, I noticed she had a rag in her hand later on (was cleaning & preparing our table, even though the place was near empty). For our party of 7, the staff decided to seat us awkwardly with a round table & rectangular table, formed a weird L-shape.
No of us had never been to The Vine before, so we were waiting & waiting for someone to take our order & no-one did. My partner noticed people were placing food orders at the bar, when he got our drinks. We were not told we had to do this, or there is no signage anywhere. Digging around our handbags, we found a notepad & pen, for everyone wrote their order on the pad. You couldn't have a open tab for the meal which made it awkward asking everyone for money, my partner ended up paying for everyone.
On the menu it clearly stated 'we have suggested the accompaniments which work best, but if you’d prefer something else instead you can choose from the following;new potatoes, mashed potatoes, jacket potato, chips, rice or garlic bread." - This is NOT the case, I didn't want the garlic bread with my main but was told I had to & couldn't change it. My partner ordered beef ribs with a creamy peppercorn sauce, but it was smothered in gravy. Anyways, after we finished eating we assumed the staff would clear our tables, as they were full of empty pint glasses & our plates, but no, they did not. Staff cleared the table besides us while they were still sitting there, even though they started eating their meal as we finished ours. We were going to have dessert but I was actually fed up with the staff & the place in general, we decided to grab a cake from Tesco's and eat it at home with freshly brewed coffee.
For the similar price we could of eaten elsewhere in town. I would personally never visit again, the staff are non existent & have no people skills.

Room Tip: All food & drink orders must be paid at the bar immediately, no open tab. Make sure you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzziee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stafford hotels

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have stayed a few times, and it suits us down to the ground, lovely caring staff, food/drinks are of good choice and quality, rooms are good.
We always try to book at the Vine before anywhere else.

Room Tip: Further away from the stairs the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidders5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Having been in The Vine Hotel a few times, I thought I should write a review. As a place for a drink, it's a good choice. Even on a busy Saturday after the Xmas lights went on in 2012, it was fairly quiet, as the pub is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the pedestrianised streets in town. For an evening drink, The Vine is enjoyable and I've also popped in solo quite late in the evening for a hot chocolate whilst waiting for my last bus home [when Arriva ran them!!].

My last visit to The Vine was late on a Sunday lunch time, a celebratory drink with friends, then my OH and I decided to stay to sample the Sunday carvery. The price was reasonable and the aromas from the dining/kitchen area enticing! We were some of the last diners and were shown a table by a friendly waitress, informed of the roasts available and perused the menu, which we could also choose from. We opted for the roast, which arrived quite promptly, with vegetables already on the plate, so this wasn't a traditional carvery. The vegetables were nice enough, but the meat very average. However, the meal filled us up. There were offers on the desserts, which all sounded delicious, but neither of us had any room for more food! Ah well, another time and perhaps we'll try some meals from the menu then. [A few years ago, I'd enjoyed a Moroccan dish] Service was good and a friendly chat was possible with the waitress.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DizDiz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at the Vine hotel whilst visiting the classic motorcycle show in Stafford. Rooms were well appointed, comfortable and clean. Staff were very welcoming and accommodating, we were made to feel right at home. We ate in the hotel on the first night, good variety of food, perfectly cooked and presented well, excellent value as well with two main courses being offered for just £10. We really enjoyed our stay in Stafford and the Vine hotel and it's excellent staff played a large part in that. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at the Vine for the V Festival and was very impressed with the service that we received during our stay. Upon arrival, we were checked in by a very friendly member of the bar staff team and were directed to our room for the weekend. We were very impressed by the quality and cleanliness of the room that we were given - it was perfect for what we needed. There was a complimentary bottle of water located in the room which was appreciated, especially when coming in late at night from the V Festival.
Breakfast was basic but very nice - the waiting staff were approachable and friendly.
The location was perfect, bang in the centre of Stafford and was handy for our pub tour of Stafford on the Friday night - we were very impressed with Stafford as a town and would certainly return in the future.
The Vine isn't budget accommodation but it was the cheapest that we could find during the V Festival weekend so we were willing to pay!!
We would certainly recommend this place and would have no hesitation to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Visit to Stafford Town centre after an absence of 30 odd years - the Vine was ideal for us as we wanted to be based in centre of town and be able to walk everywhere. Could not fault this hotel as we had everything we could have wanted. Found staff very helpful, our room was fine, and meals in hotel were good. Would happily come and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stafford hotels
0.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stafford
560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
1.2 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
3.7 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
837 reviews
3.5 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vine Hotel

Property: Vine Hotel
Address: 7 Salter Street, Stafford ST16 2JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vine Hotel carries the accolade of being the oldest pub in Stafford. Located in the centre of the town, tucked down one of the many narrow side streets, The Vine offers a wealth of 'olde worlde' character to its guests. The hotel is ideally situated within walking distance of all the main attractions that Stafford offers, including the Gateway Theatre, Ancient High House and the Shire Hall Gallery. We offer secure parking for our hotel guests, just call in at reception and we will lift the barrier for you. Our pub has a traditional feel, with cosy corners, and classic pub food is served all day. A wide range of drinks are available from the bar. At the Vine Hotel, we pride ourselves on our friendly service and you are assured of a great stay whether for business or pleasure. Hotel accommodation includes our fantastic breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vine Hotel Stafford, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing