We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Going to Alton Towers and wanted to stay overnight nearby to get to the park early. The receptionist was very friendly, offering lots of advice on local amenities and getting us extra towels and drinking glasses for the room. It was a hot night so we were given two fans but air-con would be better as room temps cannot be controlled in the room itself. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were just right(you had a choice of soft or firm pillow or both) I had a bath which was great and each of the family had a shower which they said was superb. We didn't find any traffic noise and we were facing the main road with the windows open! We didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on that. Location about 34-45 mins drive from Alton Towers which was not too bad. Very good value for the money we paid and I would stay again. My only criticism would be to add more sockets to the room near the bed side tables to charge I-pads/phones,etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    165
    52
    15
    14
See reviews for
194
120
25
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Zarza, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed here 2 weeks ago and the main issue was being on the ground floor the windows are restricted to opening just a few inches. As we were going through a hot spell the rooms were unbearably hot and there is no air conditioning installed. They give you a fan if you don't mind a tinny noise all night with not much effect. They did tell us when we were leaving instead of the heavy duvet they offer sheets which would have been good to know at the beginning of our stay. However I have been told it is getting an upgrade which will include air conditioning and our stay was refunded by the manager.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We were heading up to Alton Towers for two days, so wanted to travel up the night before and stay close to the resort. I managed to secure a £29 stay for a family room at this hotel, which is approximately 20 miles from Alton Towers.

We were greeted on arrival by a friendly and helpful lady. It was a very hot night and like other Premier Inns, the room temperature doesn't seem to be controllable from the room. However the receptionist quickly mentioned that if we needed them, fans and sheets were available.

The room was still spacious even though there was a double bed and two single beds. Beds comfy, although pillows were a little hard. The Bathroom was clean with a shower over the bath. The only negatives about the room was not enough sockets to charge things over night and again like other Premier Inns no safe.

Breakfast was served in the Brewers Fayre next door and again staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was your typical Premier Inn Breakfast but just what was needed before along day at Alton Towers.

All is was a good stay considering what I paid plus the cost of breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 3008robs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Had to be near the university as we had an early start teaching Good sized rooms nicely laid out bathrooms . Rooms were cool as there was a heat wave but the staff had opened windows and closed curtains. r3eception staff were really friendly and helpful. A good stay

Room Tip: Little noise from the motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed one night and was surprised how good it was for a budget hotel no motorway noise or internal noise from other areas of the hotel breakfast in the nearby brewers fare was also good as much as you want buffet. Although I would say dinner there was pretty uneventful in terms of quality
Staff very friendly and helpfully without being over bearing
Would use the premier inn spitfire again

Room Tip: Good hotel for stopover on journey down south
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

used this premier inn as an overnight base to attend at a nearby event. comfortable bed and room. if you want food or drink just pop next door to the harvester pub. staff in both places very polite and helpful. no negative reports for either place

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravellingred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here for two nights . We used it as a base for 2 days at Alton towers. It took approx 40 mins in the car to get from this this premmier in to Alton towers. No negative comments to write. Didn't hear the motorway traffic as we thought we might. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tilly1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stafford hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stafford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vine Hotel
Vine Hotel
#10 of 11 in Stafford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel
Address: 1 Spitfire Close, Stafford ST16 1GX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Stafford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#6 Business Hotel in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short drive to the town centre and the Staffordshire County Showground, or 40 minutes to Alton Towers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing