We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant ran out of food ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on the 6 oct , car very ran out of meat at six o'clock after we had driven up from london me and my wife and two children were looking forward to a nice carvery only to find they had no meat ,not very good ,the other main menu was still available but a basket of scampi just didn't do it in place of a roast that we had all be looking forward to after a four hour drive

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Jayjay3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 532 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Good choice in Premier Inn. Very convenient as an over-night stop on a long motorway journey. Less than a minute from the motorway junction and no noise. Nice quiet location.
Very comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Restaurant was good and great with the kids.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front - facing the Arnold Clark outlet offer the quieter night's sleep.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artifex1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Staff were not that friendly but the building is semi modern and therefore the rooms are of a good standard.
Its a standard Premier Inn with Freeview TV, Double Bed
Does the job for budget hotel.
Good if driving only. Plenty of parking, Free Parking

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 976Paulm80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This Premier Inn is one of 2 within spitting distance of each other and the A34 situated not far away from Junction 14 of the M6. It's called the Spitfire and the one opposite is called the Hurricane. Related to nearby famous aircraft manoeuvres perhaps? We stayed in the Spitfire version. Having recently stayed at a very good Premier Inn in Edinburgh, and one in the Portsmouth area not too many moons ago we were now quietly confident of another quality stay at a budget price. We were not disappointed as again our room (cloned of Edinburgh and Portsmouth) was very good. Clean, a comfortable large bed, in a spacy minimal room, on this occasion the Food/Restaurant was not part of the Inn itself, which I must say I prefer for atmosphere, but literally a close next door neighbour within a Brewer's Fayre called The Redhill. Breakfast was good but did run out of various items from the help yourself counter quickly and often. I think a shortage of staff was apparent but the staff did their best and were very kind and helpful/chatty. A good nights sleep was had so really I have to give this a very good. Not as attractive as the Edinburgh or Portsmouth versions but still did it's job well. Well done again Premier Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Friend and I stayed at this hotel while we were visiting Alton Towers. Perfect for a stopover, a bit further away from the Towers than I expected but it was pretty easy to find. Free car parking which is always. Lady on reception when we arrived late evening on Friday 6th was very helpful. Didnt catch her name unfortunately but we had a few noisy neighbours which she and the night porter sorted out for us very quickly. I still feel bad for bringing it up to them but they were very friendly about it all. The on site restaurant was okay, not great. The general atmosphere there seemed a bit muddled with queues out the door of people waiting to be seated. I just got the impression I was in the way rather than a guest or customer.
Overall, not a bad stay and for £39.00 it was pretty good value and I would definitely stay again if I was to return to Stafford.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chill3892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We Booked Two rooms at this Hotel for a short break which included two days at Alton Towers. The Premier Inn rooms was booked online months before we were due to travel. Found it real easy after comming off motor way plenty free parking and brewsters pub next door for meals. We had also downloaded street maps ( before we left) with directions to get us from hotel to Alton Towers also to a macdonalds for the kids which isnt too far from the hotel. The pub has a play area which has a charge for the kids to play in it. Thankfully it has a little garden for sitting out with drinks. The rooms as you would expect from premier inn were spotless and the beds fresh and clean. The only down side was the heat and we only had a little fan in the room the window only opened so far simply un bearable. I also was quite put off by the bars on the windows of our rooms a fire hazzard i thought we have stayed in many premier rooms but never had bars at our windows?. The only other down side was my older daughter had her own room ten doors away from ours and she was kept awake at night by the lorrys that were comming and going. However the all you can eat breakfast is excellant and so is the staff who served it really helpful. It may seem slightly expensive but it is always the highlight of staying here my daughters and grandaughter really look forward to it. I always recommend staying at premier inn. I would rather visit places in England and stay here at the premiers than travel abroad. Also costs a lot less if you pre book online weeks before you plan to go. In all had a good visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank care_bear_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This Premier Inn is absolutely fine, apart from, the TV's need updating and they should monitor the use of the car-park by overnight lorries. Each lorry takes up a minimum of 5 spaces at a time and they leave very early in the morning... Clean and tidy, showers are great, friendly staff. Rooms get warm in hot weather which makes you open the windows, which makes the lorries leaving early mornings very annoying.
About 40 minute trip to Alton Towers but pleasant country drive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stafford
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Stafford Central Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#5 of 11 in Stafford
601 reviews
3.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
511 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel

Address: 1 Spitfire Close, Stafford ST16 1GX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Stafford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#6 Business Hotel in Stafford
Price Range: $61 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short drive to the town centre and the Staffordshire County Showground, or 40 minutes to Alton Towers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing